Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Guide: Building a Stage1 using Gentoo and System Rescue CD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
altaran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using the regular stage 3 gave me some errors, probably due to already installed software.

I did some more research and found relatively up to date stage 1 i686 archives under http://www.fn-clan.de/downloads/gentoo/stage1/

Problem is that I run into a circular dependency issue when I try to emerge python 2.7.1-r1, which I find sort of strange since I did not put any USE flags in my make.conf yet...
/dev-lang/python-2.7.1-r1 -> /dev-util/pkgconfig-0.26 -> /dev-libs/glib-2.28.8 -> /dev-lang/python-2.7.1-r1

Has anyone experienced this before or does anyone have an idea how to resolve this?

Edit:
Problem solved by installing a lower version of pkfconfig that does not require glib. Then emerged Gtk-doc-am, then glib, which emerged Python as a dependency, and finally the newest version of pkgconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xylex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive gotten through most of this, much more then I thought I would actually.
This is my first time compiling a linux distro. Its mostly a challenge given to me by a friend.

My issue is comming from running /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh
It looked like it went through most of the compile and emerge.
Except it failed on sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1

Code:

...
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I..  -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I..$
libtool: compile:  x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I.. -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I.. -DDEPENDS_ON_LIBICONV=1 -DD$
libtool: compile:  x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I.. -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I.. -DDEPENDS_ON_LIBICONV=1 -DD$
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=link x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99  -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe  -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -o libglib_rpl.la  glib/libglib_rpl_la-ghash.lo g$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-ar cru .libs/libglib_rpl.a glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-ghash.o glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-glist.o glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-gmessages.o glib/.libs$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-ranlib .libs/libglib_rpl.a
libtool: link: ( cd ".libs" && rm -f "libglib_rpl.la" && ln -s "../libglib_rpl.la" "libglib_rpl.la" )
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=link x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99  -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe  -release 0.18.1     -lc    -L/usr/lib64 -lxml2 -L/usr/lib64 -ldl -L/usr/l$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -shared  .libs/set-mode-acl.o .libs/copy-acl.o .libs/file-has-acl.o .libs/areadlink.o .libs/gl_array_list.o .libs/backupfile.o .$
/usr/bin: file not recognized: Is a directory

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [libgettextlib.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools/gnulib-lib'
make[3]: *** [all] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools/gnulib-lib'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
emake failed
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m ERROR: sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1 failed (compile phase):
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   emake failed
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m Call stack:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m     ebuild.sh, line   56:  Called src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2959:  Called _eapi2_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m     ebuild.sh, line  669:  Called die
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The specific snippet of code:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m                emake || die "emake failed"
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1',
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/temp/build.log'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/temp/environment'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1'


I tried googling it and didnt get a whole lot back. Now im asking you guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rayzer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xylex wrote:
Ive gotten through most of this, much more then I thought I would actually.
This is my first time compiling a linux distro. Its mostly a challenge given to me by a friend.

My issue is comming from running /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh
It looked like it went through most of the compile and emerge.
Except it failed on sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1

Code:

...
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I..  -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I..$
libtool: compile:  x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I.. -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I.. -DDEPENDS_ON_LIBICONV=1 -DD$
libtool: compile:  x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -DEXEEXT=\"\" -I. -I.. -I../intl -I../intl -I.. -I.. -DDEPENDS_ON_LIBICONV=1 -DD$
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=link x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99  -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe  -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -o libglib_rpl.la  glib/libglib_rpl_la-ghash.lo g$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-ar cru .libs/libglib_rpl.a glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-ghash.o glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-glist.o glib/.libs/libglib_rpl_la-gmessages.o glib/.libs$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-ranlib .libs/libglib_rpl.a
libtool: link: ( cd ".libs" && rm -f "libglib_rpl.la" && ln -s "../libglib_rpl.la" "libglib_rpl.la" )
/bin/sh ../libtool  --tag=CC   --mode=link x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99  -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe  -release 0.18.1     -lc    -L/usr/lib64 -lxml2 -L/usr/lib64 -ldl -L/usr/l$
libtool: link: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -shared  .libs/set-mode-acl.o .libs/copy-acl.o .libs/file-has-acl.o .libs/areadlink.o .libs/gl_array_list.o .libs/backupfile.o .$
/usr/bin: file not recognized: Is a directory

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [libgettextlib.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools/gnulib-lib'
make[3]: *** [all] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools/gnulib-lib'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1/gettext-tools'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
emake failed
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m ERROR: sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1 failed (compile phase):
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   emake failed
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m Call stack:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m     ebuild.sh, line   56:  Called src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2959:  Called _eapi2_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m     ebuild.sh, line  669:  Called die
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The specific snippet of code:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m                emake || die "emake failed"
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1',
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/temp/build.log'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/temp/environment'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gettext-0.18.1.1-r1/work/gettext-0.18.1.1'


I tried googling it and didnt get a whole lot back. Now im asking you guys.


Excuse me, i know the thread is old, but i recently got this error while doing a stage1 install..
and posting the solution for future referenses
-

In the chroot enviroment just issue the following

Code:
unset path


and youre good to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*

This seems to work alright. I've been having issues with GCC 4.6 so I masked it until further notice.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*BuMp*

Still working great. Added a few more tweaks and removed the gcc 4.6 limitation. It seems to be compiling fine if you use -march=native on Pentium3 and other processors.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MustrumR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 66
Location: Right here

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is an even better way to install gentoo than stage1 - from a working install (like a LiveDVD).
1. Make partitions and mount the root at /mnt/gentoo
2. Download and extract portage at /mnt/gentoo
3. ln -s ../../portage/profiles/(profile name) /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.profile
4. Write /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
5. PORTDIR=/mnt/gentoo/usr/portage PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT=/mnt/gentoo emerge --sync
5. PORTDIR=/mnt/gentoo/usr/portage PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT=/mnt/gentoo emerge -u gcc # so you get the new gcc
6. gcc-config ... # to start using the new gcc
7. PORTDIR=/mnt/gentoo/usr/portage PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT=/mnt/gentoo ROOT=/mnt/gentoo emerge system
8. chroot and continue from step 7 of the handbook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 835
Location: PL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what if you were to use a prefix bootstrap script, then chroot into that system and switch its profile to non-prefix one, and update everything ?

do you think that might work?
_________________
~amd64
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yoshi314 wrote:
what if you were to use a prefix bootstrap script, then chroot into that system and switch its profile to non-prefix one, and update everything ?

Not sure. You'd be compiling on the environment of your boot CD, though. I'd rather chroot, then bootstrap.

That's why I prefer the SRCD. You can utilize the latest kernels instead of the older ones. This has some benefits along with support for newer devices.

MustrumR: That won't work with other architectures (ex. Utilizing a i486 package on a i586/i686 system). I've tried that and some programs throw a fit if you don't recompile binutils and glibc. That's why I put that there. Not to mention, the standard package is built with x86, not ~x86. This builds a ~x86 from the ground up so you have the latest packages.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's been awhile since I updated this.

I'm a bit curious on why they integrated linux-headers along with gentoo-sources into the latest stage3. Seems a bit bloated and unnecessary to me.. but oh well.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like they removed the gentoo-sources from the previous tarballs, so I'm removing those lines from the script.

This still works great. I'm currently using it on my WD MyBook Live 3TB drive and it works rather well (besides shifting to 2.6.32).
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cleaned up the script a little, but still works like a champ.

I'm currently using it on a VIA C3 processor-based system.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arek75
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this. For those interested, this also still works from a real stage1 tarball, assuming you can find or build one - I'm rebuilding system now from one a stage1. :)

--Arek75
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added some stuff to the script. It threw a fit updating udev, shadow, and openrc. So I had to update udev-init-scripts and procps first. I also updated GCC from 4.7.3-r1 to 4.8.3.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simba7

I have an AMD Geode LX800 and "need" to have a i586 gentoo based system, would like to try out your way (script) to achieve it.
Anyways, my ultimate goal is to create a 'hardened' i586 version. But since the hardened version is only available with the i686 tarballs, can I use the hardened i686 tarballs to create the hardened i586 equivalent?

BTW, I already have created/finished my i486 gentoo system (console only) on the AMD Geode, can I use this system to create the hardened i586 tarball/system? or I really need to follow and start with a SysRescueCD?

any tips/guidance will be appreciated, thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dab_s_bad wrote:
Simba7

I have an AMD Geode LX800 and "need" to have a i586 gentoo based system, would like to try out your way (script) to achieve it.
Anyways, my ultimate goal is to create a 'hardened' i586 version. But since the hardened version is only available with the i686 tarballs, can I use the hardened i686 tarballs to create the hardened i586 equivalent?

BTW, I already have created/finished my i486 gentoo system (console only) on the AMD Geode, can I use this system to create the hardened i586 tarball/system? or I really need to follow and start with a SysRescueCD?

any tips/guidance will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

You can probably build a hardened-i586 from the standard stage3-i486 install. It would take quite awhile to compile. You definitely want an external hard drive for swap and tmpfiles due to the possibility of your CF and USB drive not surviving the massive writes. I have portage and /var/tmp on an NFS server. I also have a small external USB hard drive for swap. This works perfectly for devices like the Raspberry Pi, ODROID-C1, and Cubieboard-1 (I have all three running Gentoo).

You could build it on a PC, just change the CHOSTS to i586 and march for the actual processor (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Safe_CFLAGS#Geode_LX).
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont worry on the storage, am using a laptop hdd now for it (120gb)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to add.

can I do it on my little i3 laptop with Gentoo and do your script and change CHOST to i586 then it will generate i586 tarball?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33924
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dab_s_bad

You can make a i586 hardened tarball from an i686 one. You need a i686 host to do it though.
Your i3 should do nicely. The process is just like a stage1 install, except you will do it in a directory.

On your i686 host, make a directory called /home/<me>/hardened-i586
Untar the hardened i686 tarball here.
Do the chroot preparation steps but do not chroot yet.
If the host is gentoo, bind mount /usr/portage at /home/<me>/hardened-i586//usr/portage because there is no point in getting another copy of the portage tree and more distfiles.
Take care to put the i586 /usr/portage/packages at say, /usr/portage/packages-i586, since you don't want to overwrite /usr/portage/packages for the host.

In make.conf (in the chroot) change the CHOST to be correct for a i586
Set CFLAGS for your Geode. You must not use -march=native
Set any USE flags to your taste to save rebuilds later.
run emerge --sync to ensure your tree is up to date.
Now you can get into the chroot.
Check make.conf - this is a good time to discover that you have edited make.conf on the host :)

Execute the script /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh
This will build the toolchain for your new CHOST. This is actually the stage1 from a stage1 install.
You need to run this in one go as it can't be resumed.
Select your compiler - it should have i586 in its name now.

Run
Code:
emerge -e @system
to rebuild all of the system set packages using your new CFLAGS.
This is the step that corresponds with stage2
Once that completes you have a hardened-i586 in the location where you started with a i686 tarball.

If you wish, you can build more packages now.
When you are done, exit the chroot, umount all the external things mounted inside /home/<me>/hardened-i586, then tar it up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is this a typo sir Neddy?, should it be double "//" or just single

If the host is gentoo, bind mount /usr/portage at /home/<me>/hardened-i586//usr/portage because there is no point in getting another
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33924
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dab_s_bad,

Its a poor copy/paste but *NIX won't mind. The // will be treated as a single /.
Be adventureous - test it for yourself. :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I will ^_^, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
If the host is gentoo, bind mount /usr/portage at /home/<me>/hardened-i586//usr/portage because there is no point in getting another copy of the portage tree and more distfiles.

One reason I have mine on an NFS share. I actually have my portage tree and distfiles on a 2TB WD MyBook Live, running Gentoo of course.

..now if I could only sync the entire distfiles directory to it, along with the attic ebuilds. That would be awesome.
_________________
Router(Nokia IP390,2GB RAM,40GB HDD,4xGE/4xFE ports,Gentoo) | MyDT(Xeon X3470@3.4GHz,32GB RAM,6x2TB R5,GTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(PnmIIX3@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't have access to my pc/lappy until Monday :(, therefore, I can't test for the moment...
it seems Neddy's way is very shorthand but in all cases, I'll try both ways with Simba7's and Neddy's (first with Neddy's then with Simba7 if the first fail)

thanks ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33924
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simba7,

You can do an anon CVS checkout of the tree. I think that gets you the attic too.
The ./files directory and so on for attic ebuilds are not there though, so patches will be missing.

You can also run a distfiles mirror if you have the bandwidth. I don't, so I use http-replicator, which effectivily makes me a distfiles morror of all the packages I use.
Thats useful as I don't need the rest of the distfiles anyway.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 3898
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simba7 wrote:
..now if I could only sync the entire distfiles directory to it, along with the attic ebuilds. That would be awesome.

Take a look at sftp (part of openssh); you can use an ssh-fs mount (I think it is).

Been years since I did it, but it's perfectly feasible, and convenient since you're running ssh anyway (or should be.)

The tricky part I recall is making the mount run as root on the main machine, and locking it down to a specific admin-user account to login. (Obviously you don't want the former without the latter.)

#openssh on IRC: chat.freenode.net can advise in more detail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum