HOWTO view jpeg 2000 {jp2} images.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dufeu
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:01 pm    Post subject: HOWTO view jpeg 2000 {jp2} images. Reply with quote

I'm going to commit a little bit of heresy because I'm going to tell you to install a package not yet supported in Gentoo Portage. In my defense, I will plead that 1} I'm not a programmer and haven't the least idea of how to create a custom ebuild and 2} it solves the question asked in the forum post here and 3} I've posted an ebuild request in gentoo bugzilla here.

Why do you care if you have the ability of viewing jpeg2000 images? Well, up to 3 weeks ago, I would have said you didn't need that capability. This is despite the fact that I've always included the USE flag 'jpeg2000'.

If you are an avid follower of space programs like the Mars Rovers, Cassini-Huygens etc, when you go to download pictures from the new Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter as posted at The HiRISE Operations Center (HiROC) at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory you will find all the high resolutions are in jpeg2000 format. Moreover, the images range in size from 150 megabytes to 1.2 gigabytes.

I don't care how big and fast your system is nor how many CPU cores you have stuffed in it, opening a 1.2 gigabyte compressed image is going to bring it to it's knees. You need an image viewer which will render only what is appearing on your screen at that moment. This is where OpenEV comes in.

From the project site: "OpenEV is a software library and application for viewing and analysing raster and vector geospatial data." There are binaries available and a CVS repository.