error while loading shared libraries:
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
baxtor
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:20 pm    Post subject: error while loading shared libraries: Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to linux. I have been using gentoo for about 4 months now, and have been reading in the forums, man pages, and anything else I can get my hands on. I have learned a great deal about how linux works. However, I have stumbled across a problem that I cannot seem to solve.

When I built gentoo on my system I had some not-so-optimal CFLAGS in make.conf. After doing some researching, I realized that there was a whole world of flags out there that I was never aware of. So I decided to test them out. I compiled and tested a few ebuilds with them, including X, and used them to compile my kernel. After testing them out for a while, I decided it was time to rebuild my machine with them.

emerge -e system && emerge -e world

The last time I checked I was over 100 packages into the build process out of 139 (for system). I left it on over night. When I woke up the next day I checked my machine and it looked like it had stalled on a package. I left it alone for over about and hour, and it had stalled. I could not break it. I could switch consoles, (ctrl+alt+F2..etc) put in user id and password, but could not log in. My system was completely hung. (heh hung)

Soft reset.

Booted with some errors, such as not being able to load some moduals, and the typical filesystem not cleanly unmounted stuff. I was able to log in ok. I figured I had better restart the emerge, but when I tried I recieved this error.

Code:
python2.2: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file:  no such file or directory

me: umm...
brain: this is not good...