Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] wpa_supplicant Deauthentication problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:32 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] wpa_supplicant Deauthentication problem Reply with quote

I just installed Gentoo to my old laptop Packard Bell Easynote MS2300.

Everything seems to work fine, except for the wireless connection with Qualcomm Atheros wireless card (driver ath9k).

While installing, I easily connected to Wi-Fi with 2 terminal commands like:

Code:
wpa_passphrase ssid passwd > /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


and

Code:
wpa_supplicant -B -i wlp5s0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


But once rebooted into the installed system, I got problems. Wpa_supplicant says it is initialized successfully, but Internet isn't working.

I looked into dmesg and found out that it automatically deauthenticated for Reason 2: "Previous authentication no longer valid" - right after authentification.

I use dhcpcd and it doesn't get any IP info (since, I believe, there is no connection).

I would appreciate any clues. Maybe, I lack some drivers. Maybe, I should enable simple wired Ethernet card? (I didn't do that since I don't use it.) I was trying to solve this for two days already and have no progress and couldn't find similar problem topics.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by bebyx on Sat Mar 28, 2020 5:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I unmerged netifrc.

The wpa_supplicant is already in init.d, but I also added dhcpcd as per this article.

I restart /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant - ok.

But when I restart /etc/init.d/dhcpcd it restart and then starts "Mounting network filesystems", which last like forever. Should I just try and wait for some time? Or is it an error?

When I try debugging mode with
Code:
dhcpcd -dB
, it says that wlp5s0 is waiting for carrier. so seems like the problem is with connection and dhcp just can't get proper info from Wifi router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bebyx,

look at the upper right corner of this page. There are four links. One reads: "View unanswered posts". You replied to your own thread and effectively decreased the visibility of your problem.

Quote:
Now I unmerged netifrc.

This was a bad idea. Did you even look what is in that package before removing it?

You are not providing any logs, thus it has to be a guesswork from our side ... I guess you have more than one network management service activated, these are conflicting with each other.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Quote:
Now I unmerged netifrc.

This was a bad idea. Did you even look what is in that package before removing it?

You are not providing any logs, thus it has to be a guesswork from our side ... I guess you have more than one network management service activated, these are conflicting with each other.


I also think so (regarding network management), that's why I unmerged netifrc and removed /etc/init.d/net, as per this advice. I was hoping it would fix the issue, but nothing changed.

The output of dmesg is:

https://i.imgur.com/qEl1780.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3686

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bebyx wrote:
Now I unmerged netifrc.

The wpa_supplicant is already in init.d, but I also added dhcpcd as per this article.

Then you also have correct settings in /etc/conf.d/wpa_supplicant, including the -M option??


bebyx wrote:
I restart /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant - ok.

But when I restart /etc/init.d/dhcpcd it restart and then starts "Mounting network filesystems",

Are you having any network file systems to be mounted? If not remove that initd from the runlevels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked into rc-config list and saw some netmount which starts by default. Is it a netifrc service? I made rc-update del netmount default, and deleted netmount in conf.d and init.d files. Still not working inet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Then you also have correct settings in /etc/conf.d/wpa_supplicant, including the -M option??



Yes, I do. It's
Code:
wpa_supplicant_args="-B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"


The wpa_supplicant.conf file has

Code:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=users
update_config=1
country=UA

network={
               ssid="myssid"
               #psk="mypsk"
               psk=numbers
               key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}


Maybe, I need to change something there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also removed net-online service from d folders and rc-config, but no result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3686

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is your chance to make friends with /etc/rc.conf
/etc/rc.conf:
# Set rc_interactive to "YES" and you'll be able to press the I key during
# boot so you can choose to start specific services. Set to "NO" to disable
# this feature. This feature is automatically disabled if rc_parallel is
# set to YES.
#rc_interactive="YES"

Uncomment it and do a reboot interactively and you should see where it's hanging
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
This is your chance to make friends with /etc/rc.conf
/etc/rc.conf:
# Set rc_interactive to "YES" and you'll be able to press the I key during
# boot so you can choose to start specific services. Set to "NO" to disable
# this feature. This feature is automatically disabled if rc_parallel is
# set to YES.
#rc_interactive="YES"

Uncomment it and do a reboot interactively and you should see where it's hanging


Thanks for a good tip, but unfortunately I couldn't detect anything suspicious except netmount which I skipped. Still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3686

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bebyx wrote:
Thanks for a good tip, but unfortunately I couldn't detect anything suspicious except netmount which I skipped. Still not working.

What exact error message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
bebyx wrote:
Thanks for a good tip, but unfortunately I couldn't detect anything suspicious except netmount which I skipped. Still not working.

What exact error message?


Dmesg shows the same deauthentification for Reason 2. Ip link shows No carrier and state DOWN mode DORMANT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3686

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please wgetpaste the full dmesg output

Is the ... then starts "Mounting network filesystems", error gone? Or still exists?

Have you worked through the wifi article?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Please wgetpaste the full dmesg output

Is the ... then starts "Mounting network filesystems", error gone? Or still exists?

Have you worked through the wifi article?


Mounting network filesystems doesn't show since I skip netmount service.

Do you think I could miss something in my kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added ath9k driver as module and added AES cipher options. Rebuilt, rebooted, nothing changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It finally worked!

I readded info to wpa_supplicant.conf according to this topic and it finally starts pinging.

Thanks to everyone who helped me with that. Finally will set my emvironment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3686

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bebyx wrote:
It finally worked!

I readded info to wpa_supplicant.conf according to this topic and it finally starts pinging.

Why edit that file manually while wpa_cli exists?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bebyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
bebyx wrote:
It finally worked!

I readded info to wpa_supplicant.conf according to this topic and it finally starts pinging.

Why edit that file manually while wpa_cli exists?

Because... I haven't got myself acquainted with wpa_cli. But thanks for the clue. That's just a matter of time. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum