Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMD Zen/Ryzen thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 881
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
Care to add yourself to this survey: Gentoo & Ryzen config & stability questionair (public) also: the auto-updating sheet of the results
Just trying to help pull together the pieces of info to help


Will do once I've seen whether this next change works. The last entry looks interesting, GCC 6 with native on almost the same board as me reports no problems. The main difference is they're using the beta BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.6. I was going to try that next before I fixed the freezes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5847
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If possible that would be good, more datapoints the better (even adding a new entry with updates)

when I was on gcc-6.x there were some odd emerge affects (not segfaults as others have mentioned) more it would just stop (not quit stop, stop completely no /var/log/messages or dmesg entries...). Gcc-7.x has been smooth for me so there could be a gcc related bug (there is at least one confirmed issue with gcc-6.x and equally some recent ryzen compiles were VERY inefficient)

Personally I suspect timing ... the zen fabric has been shown to be very dependant on RAM speed & this was shown in windows with game benchmarking improving with RAM clock. BIOS's at the moment have been very conservative with RAM timings & equally AGESA has restricted maximum speeds...

Also NEddy suspected some rail stability and a recent AMD bug report did suggest disabling LLC on those motherboards that support it to help improve Vcore & such stability
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3367
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my two Gentoo AM4/Ryzen installs I was having serious problems for days- FWIW: details are at: ( https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1064308.html ).

Anyway, after openssl-1.1.0f was masked, and openssl-1.0.2k was replaced with openssl-1.0.2l , I was able to resolve my issues. It definitely was an interesting ordeal.
(Many thanks to Lars Wendler (Polynomial-C) https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git/commit/?id=d631ecbcf12b5b2e5ac0efcfd24c51c1d0890ec1 )

Now I finally have two Gentoo nice full Kde,Xfce4, and Lxde ~amd64 Ryzen desktops both compiled with gcc-7.1.0-r1 on kernel-4.12.0-rc2, and currently with:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-fma4 -mno-tbm -mno-xop -mno-lwp"
MAKEOPTS="-j9"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 mmxext aes avx avx2"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu fbdev"
ALSA_CARDS="snd_hda_intel"
RUBY_TARGETS="ruby21 ruby22 ruby23 ruby24"
PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4"


Both initial installs were done with CFLAGS="-march=k8 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe", and then at first I was on gcc-5.4 and tried -march=bdver4 with the -mno-fma4 -mno-tbm -mno-xop -mno-lwp flags.

Had some success, got a reasonable desktop, but then had the openssl mess take me over, and for a while defeat me soundly. Finally at the same time the openssl fix occurred I decided to go with gcc-7 -march=native, and I'm not sorry. I did have to patch qtwebengine-5.7.1-r1 with 2 patches placed in /etc/patches/dev-qt/, which worked well. (Many thanks to Mark Wright on https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=617896 )

The kdemultimedia dep libmp4v2-2.0.0 needs a gcc-7 patch also, but other than those 2 problems gcc-7 is doing nicely. Might be a few more random packages needing a patch with gcc-7 on some systems

EDIT: Forgot to mention- While I can run my ram trouble-free at 3200mhz when using other distros on this box, I did have to drop down to 2400 when doing these long installs and rebuilds/updating, or it would lock up after a few hours. At 2400, it hasn't happened again.. At only 65 watts on the R7 1700 cpu, I'm wondering if it isn't actually the ram overheating a little bit at 3200.

The G.Skill Flare ram is: Timing 14-14-14-34 Cas Latency 14 Voltage 1.35V by default
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.32, gcc-10.2.0, kernel-5.8.12-gentoo, 5.9.0-rc7 USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maffblaster
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 65
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chewi wrote:
I've recently joined this club.


Welcome to the cool kids club.
_________________
Lets make Gentoo better together.
Wiki: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Maffblaster
Blog: http://dev.gentoo.org/~maffblaster/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 881
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maffblaster wrote:
Chewi wrote:
I've recently joined this club.


Welcome to the cool kids club.


Pfft, I was already in that club. :P

Building the kernel with bdver4 didn't pan out as I had a freeze overnight. I've left it with that but updated to the Gigabyte beta BIOS F6f with AGESA 1.0.0.6. If that doesn't work, I'll try GCC 7. If it still plays up, I'll have to start trying different march options to try and narrow down exactly which extension is breaking it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1817
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added a tip for Ryzen users to the Safe CFLAGS wiki page. That also includes the link to the questionair. Hopefully more people fill it.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1725
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, first a little bragging about my good luck.

I'm running a stable Ryzen 1600 @3.8GHz, 1.4V core (I tried 4.0 and 3.9 and neither lived for very long) and @2933 (cas 17) DDR4 with a GTX1080. Emerges are rock stable and even with all the cuda cores blazing, the GPU at 80 C everything runs fine.

I think the difference is in the DRAM I bought. I suspect AMD has more issues with their DDR4 timing than they yet know. When I heard about the DDR4 issues I bought the memory that was most prized by PCMR / buildapc. I'm running these insane Galax DDR4-3600 Memory modules with default timings, but multiplied up to 2933. I haven't tried any higher because no one has gotten it to run higher, right? And most importantly, I'm working on this beast and stability is more important than speed.

The funny thing is: I'm running gcc 4.9.4 with -O2 -pipe. I've been advised by Neddy to go to 5.3, but I'm lazy and I haven't done it yet.

The one thing I really want to work is CPU temps. I got the it87 kernel module compiled, installed and running, but I can't get lm_sensors to work with it and the thread that said how to do it has been deleted. Can someone give me a pointer?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 881
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RayDude wrote:
I think the difference is in the DRAM I bought. I suspect AMD has more issues with their DDR4 timing than they yet know. When I heard about the DDR4 issues I bought the memory that was most prized by PCMR / buildapc. I'm running these insane Galax DDR4-3600 Memory modules with default timings, but multiplied up to 2933. I haven't tried any higher because no one has gotten it to run higher, right? And most importantly, I'm working on this beast and stability is more important than speed.


Maybe but my RAM was in the official compatibility list. You should be able to get more than 2933 now if you use an AGESA 1.0.0.6 BIOS. I only use 2667.

RayDude wrote:
The funny thing is: I'm running gcc 4.9.4 with -O2 -pipe. I've been advised by Neddy to go to 5.3, but I'm lazy and I haven't done it yet.


That version is probably okay if you're not using -march.

RayDude wrote:
The one thing I really want to work is CPU temps. I got the it87 kernel module compiled, installed and running, but I can't get lm_sensors to work with it and the thread that said how to do it has been deleted. Can someone give me a pointer?


You need it87 from git. It's not clear which temperature is which though and I never seem to get anything above about 50C on an air-cooled 1600X, which seems a little too good to be true.

I've now booted into Fedora 26 Alpha on a USB stick and chrooted into Gentoo. It's been for 12 hours so far. I'll give it another 12 hours before trying this kernel on my Gentoo system directly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1725
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 4:33 pm    Post subject: my kernel config Reply with quote

Thanks. I have the it87 module installed and running, maybe I have to reboot to get the KDE thermal monitor to see it?

I used the kernel configuration from the sysrescue cd (5.0.0) to get my system stable. I couldn't boot on more than one CPU until I used it.

Here's the config I'm using: https://pastebin.com/Utf7qnn3

Yes, its bloated, but when I tried to change it, I lost stability. So clearly there are some intel drivers in there that are making things work better.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7447

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:03 pm    Post subject: Re: my kernel config Reply with quote

RayDude wrote:
I used the kernel configuration from the sysrescue cd (5.0.0) to get my system stable. I couldn't boot on more than one CPU until I used it.

That's quiet a different story than your previous post :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1725
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:32 pm    Post subject: Re: my kernel config Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
RayDude wrote:
I used the kernel configuration from the sysrescue cd (5.0.0) to get my system stable. I couldn't boot on more than one CPU until I used it.

That's quiet a different story than your previous post :)


You're right. My bad. I completely forgot about it. It's one of those cases where you're panicking, thinking: "was it a bad idea to go bleeding edge?"

I was trying to boot various linuxen to see if I could find anything stable. When I booted sysrescue and it worked, I grabbed it's config, used it and then tried to tweak it. That was a bad idea. I stuck with it and then forgot how much trouble I had while I was playing with the new toy.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3367
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My asrock-fatal1ty-x370-gaming-k4 along with some others is reviewed here: http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/8135/asrock-fatal1ty-x370-gaming-k4-motherboard-review/index4.html

On page 4 I saw in the circuit analysis the sensors chip is the nuvoton nct6779D, which has support in kermel 4.11.x and the 4.12-rc's. I enabled kernel support as a module, loaded it, and fired up my beloved Gkrellm , and sensors are back in my AM4 systems. :D

If you need sensors, it's probably worth looking at the other board's tweaktown's circuit analysis page for which chip your AM4 board uses. nct6779d works as good as it87 does on some AM3/AM3+ boards. For example, the msi krait has the nuvoTon NCT6795D, which probably will be compatible. The GIGABYTE AX370-Gaming 5 has ITE IT8792E, which I suppose is it87.
From make xconfig:
Quote:
Nuvoton NCT6775F and compatibles (SENSORS_NCT6775)

CONFIG_SENSORS_NCT6775:

If you say yes here you get support for the hardware monitoring
functionality of the Nuvoton NCT6106D, NCT6775F, NCT6776F, NCT6779D,
NCT6791D, NCT6792D, NCT6793D, and compatible Super-I/O chips. This
driver replaces the w83627ehf driver for NCT6775F and NCT6776F.

This driver can also be built as a module. If so, the module
will be called nct6775.

Symbol: SENSORS_NCT6775 [=m]
Type : tristate
Prompt: Nuvoton NCT6775F and compatibles
Location:
-> Device Drivers
-> Hardware Monitoring support (HWMON [=y])
Defined at drivers/hwmon/Kconfig:1194
Depends on: HWMON [=y] && !PPC
Selects: HWMON_VID [=m]

_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.32, gcc-10.2.0, kernel-5.8.12-gentoo, 5.9.0-rc7 USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 451

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We all want to buy new Ryzen, question is which one :D

I found interesting benchamrks here:
https://www.xda-developers.com/xda-takes-on-ryzen-in-depth-look-of-amds-new-processors-on-the-linux-side/

Seems Ryzen 5 1600X is performing very well, in worst case just 20% slower than ryzen 7 1700X ( in john the ripper, c-ray, compile test).
Considering its 50% cheaper than 7 1700X, it's probably best offer now (Amd cut prices for ryzen 7 few days ago, so mb it not so good offer now), any thoughts ?
Maybe in next 3 years there will be next nice cheap ryzen for AM4 and now not worth to buy Ryzen 7 now, jsut Ryzen 5 1600X now?
_________________
Sent from Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46339
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x,

mir3x wrote:
We all want to buy new Ryzen, question is which one :D

Threadripper :)

More seriously, early adopters pay a premium for top end hardware.
If you can repurpose a lower spec CPU is a year or two, buy it now and upgrade later.
Buy the RAM for the CPU you plan to upgrade to, unless that will be repurposed with the CPU.
e.g. my bits get passed down the family, which is a good excuse to upgrade too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7447

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I must say i'm a bit surprise myself by ryzen, amd is plague with heat, but the 1600 is given at only 65W TDP?
And amd usually are cheaper, in france the ryzen 7 1800X is at 554€ while intel 7700K is at 409€
It's only france or do amd really have gone crazy? (i'm assuming the 7700K is better there, not only by the prize, but i could be wrong)
You can confirm lower tdp and way cooler cpu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1817
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Threadripper :)

More seriously, early adopters pay a premium for top end hardware.
... The two reasons at the moment why I still roll with FX-8350. I really look forward to Threadripper.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 451

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It's only france or do amd really have gone crazy? (i'm assuming the 7700K is better there, not only by the prize, but i could be wrong)
You can confirm lower tdp and way cooler cpu?


Ryzen 5 1600 has 65 TDP,
1600X has 95 TDP and costs about 230 EU

hers compare i7700K vs 1600X
http://hwbench.com/cpus/amd-ryzen-5-1600x-vs-intel-core-i7-7700k
_________________
Sent from Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 4124
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
hers compare i7700K vs 1600X
http://hwbench.com/cpus/amd-ryzen-5-1600x-vs-intel-core-i7-7700k


Ah! But does i7 segfault or crash mysteriously? Yes, there are always teething troubles, but AMD really botched this launch and seems oblivious to problems.

I haven't owned an Intel since my first computer, a 486DX-100, but I've pretty much given up on AMD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6719

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a wise man once wrote, "never buy version 1 of anything". Maybe now people are beginning to understand that. Intel gets away with it because their high end desktop chips are just neutered Xeons from existing product lines - they get alpha tested on Ruby/Nodejs fans (the cloud).

I'll stick with my Phenom II for at least a few months more. Paid for 3 cores and been running stable with 4 for eight years now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7447

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
hers compare i7700K vs 1600X
http://hwbench.com/cpus/amd-ryzen-5-1600x-vs-intel-core-i7-7700k

thank you, however
Max Case Temp: unknown for the 1600X

You guys with ryzen see a cooler cpu than what amd is use to? (my intel cpu is at 41°C doing nothing, and goes to 65°C when compiling)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46339
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
... but AMD really botched this launch and seems oblivious to problems ...


I'm far more cynical. I don't think AMD know how to fix it yet. Maybe its not even all CPU problems.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6719

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD seems to believe they've already fixed it, but the growing crowd of angry paying customers suggests otherwise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tinea_pedis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assrock Taichi X370, 2.30 UEFI, 1700x at stock everything, 2x8G g.skill ripjaws v at 2133MHz. SMT disabled.
Migrated from FX-8350, on which everything was compiled with march=bdver2. Compiled gcc-4.8.5 with generic profile (no march, with -j8), and again to be safe and then everything@world.
Have not experienced segfaults before or after recompiling world. Kernel compile for 52 hours (forgot how many loops), no segfaults.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46339
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tinea_pedis,

gcc builds itself three times anyway.
First, with whatever random compiler you have installed, it need not be gcc. Just the C and C++ parts that it needs to build itself.
Next, it uses that gcc compiler to build its own C and C++ again.
Then it uses the gcc built with gcc to build it C and C++ parts and compares the output with the compiler it used to build this pass.
They should be identical. The build fails if they are not.
Lastly it builds the other languages.
Its the third build that gets installed on your system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tinea_pedis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This I learned not too long ago, but old habits die hard.. But this is lesser of many stupid practicies I've done in the past (in regards to gentoo, linux in general and hp-ux in the 90's).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Page 17 of 22

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum