View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2023 10:26 pm Post subject: KDE Dolphin can't copy or move files [solved] |
|
|
Apparently some users (myself included) have been unable to move or copy files between folders with dolphin. A file manager not being capable of managing files is a bit of an issue when trying to get work done. Pcmanfm-qt works fine, CLU mv, cp, etc works fine.
The error message in dolphin is:
"The file or folder Message recipient disconnected from message bus without replying does not exist."
There appears to be a bug filed with KDE, on which there has been no action since July:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=472591
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=463136
There is also a Gentoo bug:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/911175
Rebuilding the kernel with FUSE_FS seemed to help the previous poster, but my kernel has fuse module set.
[Edit: module is no good, you must recompile with fuse compiled in to end the pain]
This is incredibly frustrating.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
JS
Last edited by jesnow on Thu Aug 31, 2023 11:14 pm; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Goverp Advocate


Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2234
|
Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2023 8:50 am Post subject: Re: KDE Dolphin critical move/copy issue |
|
|
jesnow wrote: | ...
There appears to be a bug filed with KDE, on which there has been no action since July:
... |
I get the feeling the KDE support people are overwhelmed with bug reports. If that's the case, the way to get progress is to send patches that fix the bugs, not just reports. I reported a bug in dolphin (or more accurately kioslaves, which did the work involved) some years ago. After two or three years, I got a "does it still happen? if you don't update the report we'll mark it fixed" automated email.
I tried reading kioslaves - IMHO hideous code, full of flags to control special case behaviour - it screamed that it should be rewritten in a proper Object Oriented style using a lot of inheritance of common behaviour, but the chance of someone rewriting such a core component is low. I may be misjudging it - I didn't spend long looking. I certainly wasn't up to coding a patch to fix my problem! _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2023 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My other machines don't have this condition, so it's clearly a problem for which there is a cause and a solution. Probably yes KDE has an issue. It appears to be something with dbus. I don't know what dbus is supposed to look like but it seems to be putting up many more daemons on this machine than on my home machine.
Code: |
jesnow@vanaert ~ $ ps ax | grep dbus
2475 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
3239 ? S 0:00 dbus-launch --autolaunch f602801a453dfa82f0b47d61637e825a --binary-syntax --close-stderr
3240 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog-only --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
4128 ? S 0:00 dbus-launch --autolaunch=f602801a453dfa82f0b47d61637e825a --binary-syntax --close-stderr
4129 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog-only --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
4140 ? S 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --config-file=/usr/share/defaults/at-spi2/accessibility.conf --nofork --print-address 11 --address=unix:path=/run/user/1000/at-spi/bus_0
4151 ? S 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/startplasma-x11
4152 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
4322 ? Sl 0:00 /usr/bin/gmenudbusmenuproxy
4487 ? S 0:00 /usr/bin/python3.11 /usr/libexec/calculate/cl-dbus-core.py
4985 pts/1 S+ 0:00 grep --colour=auto dbus
|
This is from my home machine (which does not have the issue):
Code: |
jesnow@bartali ~ $ ps ax | grep dbus
486 ? S 0:03 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --config-file=/usr/share/defaults/at-spi2/accessibility.conf --nofork --print-address 11 --address=unix:path=/tmp/runtime-jesnow/at-spi/bus_0
1394 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
2582 tty1 S 0:00 dbus-launch --exit-with-session startplasma-x11
2583 ? Ss 0:05 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
2702 tty1 Sl 0:14 /usr/bin/gmenudbusmenuproxy
25440 pts/7 S+ 0:00 grep --colour=auto dbus
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2023 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Update: Trying to find another file manager to use until I can get dolphin working.
Command line : Works, all normal. cp, mv, etc. --> This is not a permissions issue
pcmanfm-qt : Works, no errors, just not the greatest file manager
Konqueror : Fails, same error. Maybe no surprise, I will file a separate bug with KDE |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2023 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm getting no help from the Gentoo community. This is new and disappointing to me.
I really hope that someone can step in to help because I'm out of answers.
Cheers,
Jon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pietinger Moderator

Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5614 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2023 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jesnow wrote: | I'm getting no help from the Gentoo community. [...]
I really hope that someone can step in to help because I'm out of answers. |
I had the same problem because of a missing FUSE in kernel. Before I have got the info I installed MidnightCommander (mc) as alternative. After enabeling FUSE I had no problems anymore.
I am sure, if someone whould know what causes your problem you would have got an answer; so, I assume that we are also out of ideas. Because you have a working dolphin/kde it would be possible to compare both installations ... much work, I know ... but at the moment I dont see other chances.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2023 5:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks! Fuse isn't missing in my kernel.
Code: |
vanaert New Folder (1) # zgrep -i fuse /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_FUSE_FS=m
CONFIG_FUSE_DAX=y
|
What would fuse even be relevant to dbus? that makes no sense. But things sometimes just are. In any event I have fuse in the kernel.
I compared between the working one and the broken one everything I could think of that might be relevant. Both kde and dbus are reltaively opaque, so it's not even clear what there is to compare.
pietinger wrote: | jesnow wrote: | I'm getting no help from the Gentoo community. [...]
I really hope that someone can step in to help because I'm out of answers. |
I had the same problem because of a missing FUSE in kernel. Before I have got the info I installed MidnightCommander (mc) as alternative. After enabeling FUSE I had no problems anymore.
I am sure, if someone whould know what causes your problem you would have got an answer; so, I assume that we are also out of ideas. Because you have a working dolphin/kde it would be possible to compare both installations ... much work, I know ... but at the moment I dont see other chances. :( |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Spanik Veteran

Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 1062 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2023 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same thing and it did go away after including FUSE into my kernel as suggested here. And the " ps ax | grep dbus" returns identically the same as what your machine does where it works.
Are both machines on the same versions of kernel, dbus, kde, dolphin? _________________ Expert in non-working solutions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pietinger Moderator

Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5614 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2023 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jesnow wrote: | I compared between the working one and the broken one everything I could think of that might be relevant. Both kde and dbus are reltaively opaque, so it's not even clear what there is to compare. |
The last thing I would like to ask is, do you have FUSE also as <M>odule in your kernel where it works ? (If it would make a difference if static <*> or as <M>odule I cannot explain why; you see this is last hope) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 5:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is a module where it is broken and static where it works, so maybe. I will try it when I get back to that desk. If so that's a real bug, to have local file transfers depend on static fuse to succeed. But it is a known issue.
Cheers,
Jon. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 11:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That worked. For the record for anybody googling that error message:
KDE and dbus throw a *ton* of error messages when CONFIG_FUSE_FS is not compiled static.
You can monitor those error messages with
$ dbus-monitor "type=error"
and after the initial
Code: | signal time=1693523133.616185 sender=org.freedesktop.DBus -> destination=:1.59 serial=2 path=/org/freedesktop/DBus; interface=org.freedesktop.DBus; member=NameAcquired
string ":1.59"
signal time=1693523133.616246 sender=org.freedesktop.DBus -> destination=:1.59 serial=4 path=/org/freedesktop/DBus; interface=org.freedesktop.DBus; member=NameLost
string ":1.59" |
You then get cascading errors form the moment you open dolphin. It doesn't actually fail until you try to drag and drop files though, and then you get a stupid error message in dolphin as reported above.
Thanks to all who helped.
Cheers,
Jon. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Spanik Veteran

Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 1062 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2023 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for that extra bit of info.
I didn't experience it as I have the habit of compiling everything that I know I'm sure of I'll need as static. _________________ Expert in non-working solutions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Goverp Advocate


Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2234
|
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2023 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
If FUSE is needed at all, does this implicate NTFS partitions, or is KDE doing something weird? _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesnow l33t

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 899
|
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2023 11:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I first noticed it with NFS mounts, but that doesn't use FUSE. But then realized that the behavior was the same on ext4. I'm not using ntfs at all.
No, it's a weakness of either dbus or KDE.
Cheers,
Jon.
Goverp wrote: | If FUSE is needed at all, does this implicate NTFS partitions, or is KDE doing something weird? |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Spanik Veteran

Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 1062 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2023 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Goverp wrote: | If FUSE is needed at all, does this implicate NTFS partitions, or is KDE doing something weird? |
I don't see the relation with NTFS, my HD/SSD partitions are XFS. So I take it that this is Dolphin or KDE. Didn't try with another graphical filemanager. Moving and copying files in a terminal continued to work. _________________ Expert in non-working solutions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pietinger Moderator

Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5614 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2023 7:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jesnow wrote: | That worked. For the record for anybody googling that error message:
KDE and dbus throw a *ton* of error messages when CONFIG_FUSE_FS is not compiled static. |
Jon, we had a KDE Update; there was also an update of "kio-fuse" ... it would be interesting to know if this causes a change if FUSE has to be configured statically or modular in the kernel. (I cant test in the moment; no time). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|