View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
charles17 Advocate

Joined: 02 Mar 2008 Posts: 3686
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
michi-monster wrote: | I have the same error and can not find a solution. The information in the thread I have read. Unfortunately no further. Can someone help me? |
Are you using the complete graph? Code: | $ emerge -uDUavt --with-bdeps=y --complete-graph @world | This should resolve them all. Rebuilds caused by dev-libs/icu are normal and should work without problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
michi-monster Apprentice

Joined: 16 Aug 2016 Posts: 175 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
I try it. But i get an other error
Code: | talled)
^^^^^
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5= required by (dev-scheme/guile-1.8.8-r3:12/8::gentoo, nstalled)
^^^^^
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5= required by (app-text/hunspell-1.3.3:0/0::gentoo, insalled)
^^^^^
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5[cxx,gpm,unicode,abi_x86_64(-)] required by (sys-libs/nurses-5.9-r99:5/5::gentoo, installed)
^^^^
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5= required by (dev-lang/ruby-2.0.0_p648:2.0/2.0::gentoo installed)
^^^^^
>=sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3:0/5=[abi_x86_64(-)] required by (sys-devel/llvm-37.1-r3:0/3.7.1::gentoo, installed)
^^^^^
>=sys-libs/ncurses-5.2:0/5= required by (dev-lang/python-3.4.5:3.4/3.4m::getoo, installed)
^^^^^
>=sys-libs/ncurses-5.2-r2:0/5= required by (sys-apps/texinfo-6.1:0/0::gento, installed)
^^^^^
>=sys-libs/ncurses-5.7-r7:0/5= required by (sys-process/psmisc-22.21-r3:0/0:gentoo, installed)
^^^^^
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5= required by (sys-apps/openrc-0.22.4:0/0::gentoo, instlled)
^^^^^
!!! The following update(s) have been skipped due to unsatisfied dependencies
!!! triggered by backtracking:
sys-libs/ncurses:5
Nothing to merge; quitting.
localhost ~ # |
_________________ www.edv-bildung.de |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
charles17 Advocate

Joined: 02 Mar 2008 Posts: 3686
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Then try Code: | # emerge -1avt ncurses:0/6 | The "-1" option means "do not register in @world" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
michi-monster Apprentice

Joined: 16 Aug 2016 Posts: 175 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The same
Code: | localhost ~ # emerge -1avt ncurses:0/6
* IMPORTANT: 20 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news read to view new items.
These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild rR ] sys-process/procps-3.3.11-r3:0/5::gentoo USE="kill ncurses nls systemd unicode -modern-top (-selinux) -static-libs {-test}" 0 KiB
[ebuild U ] sys-libs/ncurses-6.0-r1:0/6::gentoo [5.9-r5:0/5::gentoo] USE="cxx gpm unicode -ada -debug -doc -minimal -profile -static-libs {-test%} -threads% -tinfo -trace" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 3059 KiB
Total: 2 packages (1 upgrade, 1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 3059 KiB
!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:
sys-libs/ncurses:0
(sys-libs/ncurses-6.0-r1:0/6::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
sys-libs/ncurses:0/6 (Argument)
(sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r5:0/5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
sys-libs/ncurses:0/5= required by (sys-devel/gettext-0.19.7:0/0::gentoo, installed)
^^^^^
(and 24 more with the same problem)
NOTE: Use the '--verbose-conflicts' option to display parents omitted above
It may be possible to solve this problem by using package.mask to
prevent one of those packages from being selected. However, it is also
possible that conflicting dependencies exist such that they are
impossible to satisfy simultaneously. If such a conflict exists in
the dependencies of two different packages, then those packages can
not be installed simultaneously. You may want to try a larger value of
the --backtrack option, such as --backtrack=30, in order to see if
that will solve this conflict automatically.
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man
page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook. |
_________________ www.edv-bildung.de |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Polynomial-C Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003 Posts: 1432 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, here comes a last resort solution. Please try the other solutions suggested in this thread FIRST!
The dangerous step in this help is step 2. Enabling preserve-libs (step 1) won't do any harm to a Gentoo installation.
- Make sure you have preserve-libs enabled. (See our Wiki article about preserve-libs). If you don't want to enable it or don't know if it's really enabled, don't proceed! Otherwise you can break your whole Gentoo installation.
- Now run
Code: | emerge -uDav --with-bdeps=y --ignore-built-slot-operator-deps=y @world |
- After that don't forget to run
Code: | emerge -av @preserved-rebuild |
Now your system should be up-to-date again.
Really, this is nothing but a last resort solution. Please try any other possible solution first!
[edit]Added an explanation about preserve-libs[/edit] _________________ The manual said "Requires Windows10 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...
my portage overlay
Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Last edited by Polynomial-C on Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:47 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
altrent n00b

Joined: 03 Mar 2004 Posts: 55
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same issue here. Not feeling brave enough to enable preserve-libs, so I just masked ncurses until this gets resolved...
Code: |
$ cat /etc/portage/package.mask/miscellaneous
=sys-libs/ncurses-6.0-r1:0/6::gentoo
=sys-libs/ncurses-6.0:5/6::gentoo
=sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r101:5::gentoo
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
charles17 Advocate

Joined: 02 Mar 2008 Posts: 3686
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
michi-monster wrote: | The same |
Sorry. Just checked again. What I really did was the other slot: Code: | # emerge --oneshot --tree --verbose --ask ncurses:5/6 | Then it gave me this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jonfr Veteran

Joined: 20 Jul 2003 Posts: 1008 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
charles17 wrote: | michi-monster wrote: | The same |
Sorry. Just checked again. What I really did was the other slot: Code: | # emerge --oneshot --tree --verbose --ask ncurses:5/6 | Then it gave me this. |
I got the same thing and a lot of broken thing. I'm currently running a 'emerge world -e' to fix everything that might be broken. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
luispa Guru

Joined: 17 Mar 2006 Posts: 359 Location: España
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Had same issue, did what @charles17 mentioned and fixed the problem.
Code: | ~ # emerge --oneshot --tree --verbose --ask ncurses:5/6
|
Then,
Code: | ~ # emerge -DuvN system world
|
Thanks
Luis |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
linuxale n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2006 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In my case I had to remove the old version and the reinstall with:
Code: |
emerge --oneshot --tree --verbose --ask ncurses:5/6
|
No otherway to get it updated!
Does anybody know if this bug is tracked?
Cheers
Alessandro[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jamtat Apprentice

Joined: 09 Aug 2003 Posts: 162
|
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm confronting this issue as well but can't claim I understand it very well. So let me ask: would I be correct in assuming that there is at stake here, ultimately, some issue that the Gentoo devs need to sort?
I initially just used the --exclude ncurses switch suggested earlier, which allowed me to update other parts of the system. But of course that seems to just defer the problem to a later point. Rather than flailing around with some of the other suggested solutions in this thread--which seem not to work in all instances in any case--I decided the best course of action at the moment would be to adopt the masking suggested in this thread by altrent. Of course that approach presumes that the slot conflict problem results from some high-level brokeness that the devs will be fixing at some point--after which, I would undo the mask and upgrade ncurses along with the rest of the system. Anyway, the key question in all this is whether my assumption that the slot conflict is an issue the devs will be needing to sort, is a more or less correct one. Input on that, anyone? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
solamour l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 736 Location: San Diego, CA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I do "emerge -vDu world", I'm not able to proceed due to the following.
Code: | ...
[blocks B ] <sys-libs/ncurses-6:0 ("<sys-libs/ncurses-6:0" is blocking sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r101)
...
(sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r101:5/5::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
sys-libs/ncurses required by @selected
sys-libs/ncurses:5/5 required by (net-misc/dropbox-17.3.28:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
|
I've read every single post in this thread, but it's still not clear to me what I need to do to fix the problem. Would using "--emptytree" option help?
__
sol
Last edited by solamour on Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:09 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
solamour ... try to update ncurses to the 0/6 slot (6.0-r1)
Code: | # emerge --oneshot --ask sys-libs/ncurses:0/6 |
If this fails then, as Polynomial-C suggested, try adding '--ignore-built-slot-operator-deps=y'.
Once ncurses is updated you can run 'emerge --ask @preserved-rebuild', and '--update @world'.
HTH & best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
solamour l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 736 Location: San Diego, CA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
khayyam wrote: | try to update ncurses to the 0/6 slot (6.0-r1)
Code: | # emerge --oneshot --ask sys-libs/ncurses:0/6 |
If this fails then, as Polynomial-C suggested, try adding '--ignore-built-slot-operator-deps=y'.
Once ncurses is updated you can run 'emerge --ask @preserved-rebuild', and '--update @world'. |
After updating ncurses, "emerge @preserved-rebuild" and "emerge -vu @world" went through OK. Another "emerge -vu @world" shows nothing to update. But "emerge -vDu @world" still shows "ncurses blocked" message and stops. Would it be worthwhile to try "--emptytree"?
__
sol |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
solamour wrote: | After updating ncurses, "emerge @preserved-rebuild" and "emerge -vu @world" went through OK. Another "emerge -vu @world" shows nothing to update. But "emerge -vDu @world" still shows "ncurses blocked" message and stops. Would it be worthwhile to try "--emptytree"? |
solamour ... the exact error is generally preferable, I suspect you have something depending on another slot, or you need to do a '--depclean'. Please try the following:
Code: | # emerge --depclean --ask |
... if ncurses is selected then select 'yes', and then run 'emerge @preserved-rebuild' again.
HTH & best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
solamour l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 736 Location: San Diego, CA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried many different suggestions discussed here, but I kept getting "ncurses blocked" error message and couldn't proceed. I almost tried "--emptytree" as a last ditch effort (it's a big deal for me, because due to underpowered machine I have, it would take at least a week and a half to finish), but then I decided to check all the files in "/etc/portage/" once more.
Darned, there were a few packages with "~x86" in "/etc/portage/package.keywords", mostly old experimental ones that either became available since then (so I don't need "~x86" anymore, even though the stable version might not be the latest) or I just no longer need them at all. I commented out all "~x86" packages and removed them, and "ncurses blocked" message is gone. Thanks everyone for taking time to help.
__
sol |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|