I wrote some docs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PrairieGeek
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 8:15 pm    Post subject: I wrote some docs Reply with quote

I am sonewhat new to gentoo and very new to sparc hardware. After about three weeks, I have finished installing gentoo on a sparc ultra5. I tried to document my install. In case anyone is interested, the howto is located at : http://www.usd.edu/~djennewe/GentooSparc/gentoo_sparc.html
Feel free to point out problems and to make suggestions. Learning gentoo has been ... educational.
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you much... although ive been with gentoo for a while im just beginning the journey to sparc-land and its nice to see what others are doing.
xming
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:11 am    Post subject: gentoo on sparc64 Reply with quote

here is my doc https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=26128, maybe we can merge our docs into a HOWTO.

I hope this will help somebody (sorry no X configuration, this is a server).

xming
rudholm
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:33 am    Post subject: missing iptables EPATH_SOURCES Reply with quote

Very nice docs, thank you.

I used them as a guide installing from the current ISO on an Ultra Enterprise 2/300. Everything seems to go smoothly until "emerge system" tries to emerge iptables-1.2.7a-r3. It fails because it seems to be missing the EPATCH _SOURCE file: /usr/portage/net-firewall/iptables/files/sparc64_limit_fix.patch.bz2.