Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Howto: VIA MII 1000 Hardware MPEG decoding from 2 ebuilds
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Howto: VIA MII 1000 Hardware MPEG decoding from 2 ebuilds Reply with quote

UPDATE: This method worked for me, and gets you back on official ebuilds!

Purpose: This is a quick how-to on getting hardware mpeg decoding working on a VIA Epia MII 1000 motherboard through the use of two special ebuilds. I wrote this after spending a long time trying unsuccessfully to get MythTV to use the cle266 for hardware decoding. This howto is meant to be used in conjunction with other howtos, especially the ones at epiawiki.org.

Ebuilds: The two ebuilds you'll need are a special kernel patched for VIA AGP and DRI v 2.0.0 support (this may become unnecessary once the 2.6.11 mm-sources become stable and ivtv drivers compile properly against them, but for now... these ebuilds are totally getting overlayed. Aw yeah!) and a special ebuild for xorg-x11 that includes Unichrome XvMC support (this will become unecessary once the unichrome drivers make it into an xorg release -- they're currently in the CVS tree. Unfortunately, they haven't ripened yet, so shaking the tree isn't going to work).

/usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/epia-dev-sources:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-243896-highlight-cle266.html

/usr/local/portage/x11-base/xorg-unichrome/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild

http://check.homelinux.com/cle266/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild

If you don't know how to use portage overlays, read this howto:

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Installing_3rd_Party_Ebuilds

Switch Xorgs: Hey, you're going to run into a conflict between xorg-x11 and xorg-unichrome. You're all "what do I do?" I'll tell you what:

Code:

# cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /root
# quickpkg xorg-x11
# emerge -C xorg-x11
# emerge -b xorg-unichrome
# mv /root/xorg.conf /etc/X11


and then make sure you've got the following in your xorg.conf:

Code:

 LoadModule "dri"

...

 Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
 EndSection


Can you taste the boo-ya sauce yet? Isn't it salty?

Kernel: Okay, so now you have your epia kernel sources installed. It's time to configure and compile a new kernel! Excitement! So first change your symlink to point to the new sources.

No matter what you do, make sure that you enable AGP & the Via AGP module, and DRI and the Via Unichrome driver under DRI. Everything else is up to you, playa.

My totally awesome kernel config can be found here: http://check.homelinux.com/cle266/epia-dev-sources-2.6.9.config so if you want, you can just
Code:

curl -O http://check.homelinux.com/cle266/epia-dev-sources-2.6.9.config
cp epia-dev-sources-2.6.9.config /usr/src/linux/.config
cd /usr/src/linux
make && make modules_install


...and then set up grub or lilo or whatever. Are we rocking yet?

Then add "via" to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file so that it loads on boot. I bet coldplug would take care of this, too.

Once you've installed these packages, you're done.

Restart X:When you start up X again, you should have a line in /var/log/X. that reads something like:
Code:

(II) VIA(0): [XvMC] Initialized XvMC extension, baby.

...it might not say "baby" though. If you don't have that line, please post any XvMC lines in the log file and I'd be happy to troubleshoot.

Emerging MythTV: Make sure that "cle266" is in your USE flags, and then emerge mythtv. I've had great success with version 0.17. Hardware decoding dropped CPU usage from about 80% to about 20-30% at the same time that it made the picture look better. Also, /dev/video0 is now my capture card, as opposed to /dev/video3, as described with the via_v4l_drv method on epiawiki.org.

Good luck,
Dan

Edits:
Feb 19, 2005: Fixed dir location of xorg-unichrome overlay.
Feb 23, 2005: Added X.org, kernel info and some lame humor.
July 19, 2005: Change methods pretty much completely.


Last edited by Danathan on Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:04 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having an issue. When I do "ebuild xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild digest" I get this error.

mythtv xorg-unichrome # ebuild xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild digest
!!! aux_get(): ebuild path for 'portage/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29' not specified:
!!! None
!!! aux_get(): ebuild path for 'portage/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29' not specified:
!!! None
doebuild(): aux_get() error reading portage/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29; aborting.

I'm in the dir /usr/portage/xorg-unichrome. Could that be the problem? I was a gentoo newbie when I installed this and probably just stuck my portage dir there instead of /usr/local because it sounded good. Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gibbo592
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi joey

You have to make a folder for your ebuilds i.e

#mkdir -p /usr/local/portage

Make sure you have the following in your /etc/make.conf

#PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage

Check out http://linuxreviews.org/gentoo/ebuilds/ebuilds.html

hopefully that will help.................:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, when I'm in the dir /usr/portage/xorg-unichrome/xorg-unichrome, It does the digest. But when I do emerge xorg-unichrome -p, it says no package exists. What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the mkdir, but it still didn't work. I have my /etc/make.conf set up, and did everything it said on the wiki, but I still get the same errors, even when I made the dir /usr/local/portage/xorg-unichrome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoeyJoeJo wrote:
I tried the mkdir, but it still didn't work. I have my /etc/make.conf set up, and did everything it said on the wiki, but I still get the same errors, even when I made the dir /usr/local/portage/xorg-unichrome.


Ooops! My bad. It's b/c my instructions are slightly wrong. The actual location for the file is:

Code:

/usr/local/portage/x11-base/xorg-unichrome/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild


(You need the x11-base category directory in /usr/local/portage)

Will edit above... Thanks for catching this, and sorry the problem exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey sweet, I think I've just about got it. When I try to emerge I get this.

mythtv xorg-unichrome # emerge xorg-unichrome -p

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[blocks B ] x11-base/xorg-x11 (from pkg x11-base/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29)
[ebuild U ] x11-base/opengl-update-2.0_pre5 [1.8.2]
[ebuild N ] x11-base/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29

Is that bad, or should I just ignore it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoeyJoeJo wrote:
Hey sweet, I think I've just about got it. When I try to emerge I get this.

mythtv xorg-unichrome # emerge xorg-unichrome -p

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[blocks B ] x11-base/xorg-x11 (from pkg x11-base/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29)
[ebuild U ] x11-base/opengl-update-2.0_pre5 [1.8.2]
[ebuild N ] x11-base/xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29

Is that bad, or should I just ignore it?


Good question! So the deal is that you're switching the package that provides virtual/x11 from xorg-x11 to xorg-unichrome.

Here's what to do:

Code:

# cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /root
# quickpkg xorg-x11
# emerge -C xorg-x11
# emerge -b xorg-unichrome
# mv /root/xorg.conf /etc/X11


Basically, you have to remove your current xorg-x11 in order to do the new emerge. Using quickpkg beforehand will ensure that you can easily restore your current xorg-x11 from a binary package, if need be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright! Barring any unforseen compile errors, all should be well. Thanks so much for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I've got another question. I've got xorg-unichrome compiled, but now how do I emerge mythtv .17? I can only get .16. Also, when I start X, I get this messege in my log. How do I make it work? Do I need to change my xorg.conf?

Code:

mythtv root # cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep DRI
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DRI
(WW) VIA(0): [XvMC] Cannot use XvMC without DRI!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

If you send me your entire Xorg.0.log as a PM, I'd be happy to troubleshoot it. Check for this stuff first:

Code:

# lsmod


shoud list "via" as one of the modules.

Also, you should have this stanza in your xorg.conf:

Code:

 Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
 EndSection


Let me know!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That could be my problem. It doesn't show that the via module is loaded, but my X log says it found it. Now for a sort of dumb question, is the via module included in xorg, or do I have to go get it from somewhere? If I do have to get it from somewhere, can you point me to a tutorial?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoeyJoeJo wrote:
That could be my problem. It doesn't show that the via module is loaded, but my X log says it found it. Now for a sort of dumb question, is the via module included in xorg, or do I have to go get it from somewhere? If I do have to get it from somewhere, can you point me to a tutorial?


Hi, try this:

Code:

# modprobe via


... and then restart X. That will load the kernel module; there is a separate DRI/DRM module inside X, as I understand it.

To load that automatically at boot, add "via" to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It says it's not found. But it seems like X still finds it, but maybe I'm wrong. I have driver "via" in my config. I'll link to my X log.

http://mason.gmu.edu/~bwallen/Xorg.0.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoeyJoeJo wrote:
It says it's not found. But it seems like X still finds it, but maybe I'm wrong. I have driver "via" in my config. I'll link to my X log.

http://mason.gmu.edu/~bwallen/Xorg.0.log


Mr. Shabadoo:

I think you might be missing a couple of things in your kernel config. Here's my /usr/src/linux/.config: http://check.homelinux.com/cle266/epia-dev-sources-2.6.9.config

I think the important things for our purposes are:

Code:

Device Drivers -->
     Character Devices -->
           <*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
                  <*>   VIA chipset support
            [*] Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
                  <M>   Via unichrome video cards


Can you let me know if you have that stuff enabled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Via Unichrome Video Cards wasn't enabled. I'll recompile and post the results. Thanks for being so much of a help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoeyJoeJo wrote:
Via Unichrome Video Cards wasn't enabled. I'll recompile and post the results. Thanks for being so much of a help.


No problem. Please let me know how it turns out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyJoeJo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Fairfax, Va

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that was it. My cpu usage is now pretty low. Thanks again for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Joey! I added a bunch of the stuff that we talked about to main post up top.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kev82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this error when trying to build the digest:
Code:

epia xorg-unichrome # ebuild xorg-unichrome-6.8.0-r29.ebuild digest
>>> Generating digest file...
<<< eurofonts-X11.tar.bz2
<<< xfsft-encodings-0.1.tar.bz2
<<< gentoo-cursors-tad-0.3.1.tar.bz2
<<< gemini-koi8-u.tar.bz2
<<< xorg-x11-6.8.0-files-0.7.tar.bz2
<<< xorg-x11-6.8.0-patches-0.2.11.3.tar.bz2
<<< unichrome-X-r29.tar.gz
<<< XFree86-4.4-libviaXvMC-0.13.3-patch.bz2
<<< X11R6.8.0-src1.tar.gz
<<< X11R6.8.0-src2.tar.gz
<<< X11R6.8.0-src3.tar.gz
<<< X11R6.8.0-src4.tar.gz
<<< X11R6.8.0-src5.tar.gz
<<< X11R6.8.0-src6.tar.gz
!!! We have a source URI, but no file...
!!! File: /usr/portage/distfiles/X11R6.8.0-src6.tar.gz


This bars me from emerging xorg, anyone know how I can fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd try a couple of things... it looks like the problem is that the file hasn't been downloaded properly, so it can't compute the md5 sum of the file... so, I'd try:

Code:

# ls -al /usr/portage/distfiles/X11R6.8.0-src6.tar.gz
-rw-rw-r--  1 root portage 3181068 Feb 13 16:20 /usr/portage/distfiles/X11R6.8.0-src6.tar.gz


Is that file present? Is it the right size? If not, I'd try running the ebuild ... digest command again; it should download it properly and compute the md5sum. If it can't retrieve the file, it should give you some kind of an error.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kev82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have -doc in my useflags, as soon as I did USE="doc" emerge --fetchonly xorg-unichrome and then rebuilt the digest it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldBob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Brandon, Manitoba

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:10 am    Post subject: Strange Error... drmAddMap failed? Reply with quote

I'm getting this strange error. I've scoured the, um, Information Superhighway or whatever the kids are calling it nowadays, to no avail.

A bit of a background: I've attempted to get my cle266 working for some time, but it's never worked. I've tried several things mentioned on this forum and they rarely worked. One *did* work until I broke it by recompiling my kernel modules, so I gave Danathan's solution a shot, if just to avoid all the hoop-jumping.

Keep in mind I was getting this message before the upgrade as well. It's a problem with my settings or something.

Since I can't seem to attach a text file to the email (Can someone point me to the forum-howto?) here are some URLS:
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~richard/Xorg.0.log
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~richard/xorg.conf

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Please tell me if you need more information.

Thanks all for reading!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danathan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 2:32 am    Post subject: Re: Strange Error... drmAddMap failed? Reply with quote

OldBob wrote:

A bit of a background: I've attempted to get my cle266 working for some time, but it's never worked. I've tried several things mentioned on this forum and they rarely worked. One *did* work until I broke it by recompiling my kernel modules, so I gave Danathan's solution a shot, if just to avoid all the hoop-jumping.

Keep in mind I was getting this message before the upgrade as well. It's a problem with my settings or something.

Since I can't seem to attach a text file to the email (Can someone point me to the forum-howto?) here are some URLS:
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~richard/Xorg.0.log
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~richard/xorg.conf


Hi OldBob,

Welcome to the Gentoo forums! Hope I can help you out. I looked through my Xorg.0.log, and the only thing I saw that was really different was that I have a couple of lines about AGP support. Can you verify that you've got the following line in your kernel config:

Code:
CONFIG_AGP_VIA=y


Also, if you're got it as a module, please make sure that it's loaded. Let me know what you find!

Thanks,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldBob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Brandon, Manitoba

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:28 am    Post subject: Re: Strange Error... drmAddMap failed? Reply with quote

Danathan wrote:


Hi OldBob,

Welcome to the Gentoo forums! Hope I can help you out. I looked through my Xorg.0.log, and the only thing I saw that was really different was that I have a couple of lines about AGP support. Can you verify that you've got the following line in your kernel config:

Code:
CONFIG_AGP_VIA=y


Also, if you're got it as a module, please make sure that it's loaded. Let me know what you find!

Thanks,
Dan


Thank you! It's a pleasure to be here. I'm not in front of that compooper right now, but I'm certain that is compiled in. I mooched your config file, added a few more usb drivers and compiled it. I did pull a few things out, but, unless someone snuck some acid into my coffee, I sure didn't didn't pull anything named 'via' out. :)

I'll double check tommorow.

I've been using Slackware Linux for the last five years, so I'm used to './configure; make; make install' I'm still getting my head around Gentoo's ebuild system. Once I do, I know I'm going to love it! For now, I'm only enamoured with it. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum