Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot unmask custom ebuild
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PhadeRunner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:44 pm    Post subject: Cannot unmask custom ebuild Reply with quote

I'm constructing a set of ebuilds for UBH (Usenet Binary Harvester). This is a Perl program. I've written an ebuild for UBH itself and those Perl module dependencies which were not already in the Portage tree; these are listed here:

Code:
DEPEND=">=dev-perl/libnet-1.11-r1
        >=dev-perl/Set-IntSpan-1.07
        >=dev-perl/News-Newsrc-1.07.tar.gz
        >=dev-perl/IO-stringy-2.108-r1
        >=dev-perl/MIME-Base64-2.12-r2
        >=dev-perl/MailTools-1.51
        >=dev-perl/MIME-tools-5.411a-r2
        >=dev-perl/String-CRC32-1.2"


Set-IntSpan, News-Newsrc and String-CRC32 are all new ebuilds which work independently (these have been extensively tested).

The new ebuilds sit in a PORTAGE_OVERLAY directory.

The problem is that the new ebuild I have written is masked and I cannot work out why. None of the component packages are masked.

Is there any way I can find out why my new ebuild is masked?

I'll hold back from posting the whole lot unless someone asks more detail.

They'll go into bugzilla as soon as I've sorted this stuff out.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your ebuild have a KEYWORDS line? It must, or it will be masked.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhadeRunner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:57 pm    Post subject: I think I've solved the problem but I have a new one Reply with quote

DOH!!

Looking though, who can spot the glaring typo??

Code:
>=dev-perl/News-Newsrc-1.07.tar.gz


This line should, of course, read:

Code:
>=dev-perl/News-Newsrc-1.08


I've now edited the ebuild and rebuilt the digest. Problem now is that my old typo appears to be cached somewhere; now when I type:

Code:
emerge ./ubh-2.5.ebuild


I still get the message:

Code:
Calculating dependencies /
emerge: there are no masked or unmasked ebuilds to satisfy ">=dev-perl/News-Newsrc-1.07.tar.gz".

!!! Error calculating dependancies. Please correct.


This should have been corrected when I sorted out the above braino and saved, no??

Thanks all.

Phade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhadeRunner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rac wrote:
Does your ebuild have a KEYWORDS line? It must, or it will be masked.


Does now :wink:

Now suffering another problem, see above.

What does SLOT mean? Do I need one of those too?

Thanks for your help.

Phade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One good source for info on SLOTs is Package version management questions. Maybe "emerge regen" would fix your cached typo problem.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhadeRunner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it sorted now.

Couldn't emerge the package for a couple of reasons.

First, for some reason, even though I corrected the DEPEND typo in the ebuild file the errant line was cached in

Code:
/var/edb/cache/dep/net-news/ubh-2.5


The emerge was using this incorrect cached version instead of the new one.

After deleting the incorrect cache entry the package still wouldn't emerge. This was because there was another error in the file (empty src_compile()) section (since a Perl script of course doesn't compile I left it empty).

I presume what happened was this:


  1. Wrote ebuild with incorrect DEPEND line.
  2. Tried to emerge it but it failed. Error was cached.
  3. Edited the ebuild to correct it and added second error at same time.
  4. Tried to emerge it again but it wouldn't rebuild the cache as there was an error. Emerge depends on the cached copy which also has a problem.
  5. Emerge aborts. :(


Anyway, it's all working now. Look out for the new ebuilds.

Thanks for your help rac.

Cheers,

Phade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kutsuya
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 12:15 am    Post subject: unmerge bad emerge Reply with quote

PhadeRunner wrote:
Got it sorted now.

Couldn't emerge the package for a couple of reasons.

First, for some reason, even though I corrected the DEPEND typo in the ebuild file the errant line was cached in


Hi,

I'm curious if you tried to unmerge your ebuild. I do that to clean up some mistakes I've made. ;) Thanks for the heads up.

Regards,
--Kutsuya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum