Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Emerge Apache with PHP & MySQL support: is it possible ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dark_priest
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 227
Location: NL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:51 pm    Post subject: Emerge Apache with PHP & MySQL support: is it possible ? Reply with quote

title sais about all

it this possible, and if so, how?

something like : ?
Code:
 emerge -k apache --with-php --with-mysql


or something totally different?
_________________
[ Censored by unpopular demand]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GreyArea
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:22 pm    Post subject: Yes it should be possible... Reply with quote

Try this :-
Code:
USE="mysql" emerge mysql apache php mod_php


HTH
GreyArea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GreyArea
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:22 pm    Post subject: Yes it should be possible... Reply with quote

oops double post - sorry.

Last edited by GreyArea on Thu Sep 25, 2003 2:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

give a try to this :
Code:
USE=" apache2 mysql php mod_php tcltk innodb"
in your /etc/make.conf
#source /etc/make.conf
#emerge mysql apache mod_php

this should work fine and you should have innodb working, so u can use foreign keys
by the way, dont forget to modify your /etc/conf.d/apache2 and add
Code:
APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP4"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diezel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 600
Location: Karjaa, Finland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ptitman, when I try this I get a list of alot that I don't really want on my server. I use no GUI at all and it want's to emerge X11 base.
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] net-www/apache-2.0.47
[ebuild  N    ] x11-misc/ttmkfdir-3.0.9
[ebuild  N    ] x11-base/opengl-update-1.5
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/fontconfig-2.2.1
[ebuild  N    ] app-arch/unzip-5.50-r2
[ebuild  N    ] app-arch/cabextract-0.6
[ebuild  N    ] x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r2
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/lcms-1.09
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/libmng-1.0.4
[ebuild  N    ] x11-libs/qt-3.1.2-r4
[ebuild  N    ] app-crypt/mhash-0.8.18-r1
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/pdflib-4.0.3-r1
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libmcrypt-2.5.7
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libxml2-2.5.8
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libxslt-1.0.31
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/aspell-0.50.3
[ebuild  N    ] dev-perl/XML-Parser-2.31-r1
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/sablotron-0.97
[ebuild     U ] media-libs/freetype-1.3.1-r3 [2.1.4]
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/t1lib-1.3.1
[ebuild  N    ] net-libs/libwww-5.4.0-r1
[ebuild  N    ] dev-php/mod_php-4.3.2-r4



Why is this?
_________________
A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GreyArea
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try adding -X to your USE="..." in make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i do use a window manager on my machine, but i guess that if u add
Code:
USE=" -gtk -X -qt -kde -gnome apache2 mysql php mod_php tcltk innodb"
to ur use flag then u should be sorted :wink:

but the thing is that i def needed to have the apache2 mysql php mod_php turn on to be able to compile apache with php support.
the innodb statement allow u to have foreign key support with mysql which can be pretty handy when it comes to updating and deleting

check out the flag in the doc, http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml

wish it work lighter that way :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dark_priest
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 227
Location: NL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bu the time i read this i did my server from scratch and managed to get apache+php working, and i compiled the php module with mysql support... or so it sais...

but still people, thanks for all the help :)
if i screw up my server again, i'll know where to look
_________________
[ Censored by unpopular demand]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dark_priest
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 227
Location: NL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bu the time i read this i did my server from scratch and managed to get apache+php working, and i compiled the php module with mysql support... or so it sais...

but still people, thanks for all the help :)
if i screw up my server again, i'll know where to look
_________________
[ Censored by unpopular demand]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomapd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Sendai

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wonder why you guys emerge both php and mod_php.
AFAIK, only mod_php is required for apache + php combination and unless i want to use php command directly, i don't need to emerge php.
am i misunderstanding?

thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mpsii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 650
Location: Jackson, TN

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomapd wrote:
i wonder why you guys emerge both php and mod_php.
AFAIK, only mod_php is required for apache + php combination and unless i want to use php command directly, i don't need to emerge php.
am i misunderstanding?

thanks in advance.


I would also like to know the answer to this question.
_________________
-----------------------------------------
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kashani
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 2032
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomapd wrote:
i wonder why you guys emerge both php and mod_php.
AFAIK, only mod_php is required for apache + php combination and unless i want to use php command directly, i don't need to emerge php.
am i misunderstanding?

thanks in advance.


That's correct. The reason it's usually done is many web programmers don't know Perl or shell scripting so they write little script in PHP. Or at least that's been my expeierence.

kashani
_________________
Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum