Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo problem, URGENT
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
karan

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 10:09 pm    Post subject: gentoo problem, URGENT Reply with quote

hello, my name is karan
I downloaded and installed gentoo, emerge rysnc, bootstrapped, and pretty much did the whole shabang, I couldn't get grub to work, so i did a emerge lilo, and have started to use that. The problem now is, im still booting from the kernel that was loaded with the install cd, im rather new at linux ( i've used it for about 6 months, im 13 years of age ) Im really into it, but I can NEVER really compile a successful kernel of mine, perhaps someone could taech me some stuff about it :roll:

I really want to get gentoo working b4 sunday ( when my vacation finishes ) and was wondering if there is a stock kernel, where i don't have to do anything except type make dep ; make ; make modules etc etc

Any help would be greatly appreciated
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why don't you just try it again? If you fail, post your error(s) and we can probably help.
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote