Desperate About Fuzzy Fonts
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
vbenares
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 10:03 pm    Post subject: Desperate About Fuzzy Fonts Reply with quote

I am new to linux, and I would really like it to work for me, but one issue is a killer. Why do I have "fuzzy" fonts? How do I get rid of them?

I am using gnome. The fonts in gnome, openoffice, firebird, and fuzzy enough to make me scream. I hooked the monitor up to a windows box, and the windows fonts look much better. There must be some way to fix this.

I have put enough time into getting gentoo up, and initial issues resolved that I am quite willing to spend hours getting the fonts right, if that's what it takes.
devon
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you want to look into setting up Anti-Aliasing (AA) for your fonts. :) I personally use KDE and when I did that, my fonts looked a lot better. I would do a forum search.
searcher
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or you may want to look into disabling the AA for fonts below a certain size. Over-antialiasing causes fonts to go blurry. Follow the advice and search the forum. There are loads of topics about this.

~searcher
vbenares
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried some of the things mentioned in various posts. What a rat's nest of advice! The installation instructions tell newbies like me to use xft. Some posts say that that is obsolete. A good deal of the advice given seems obsolete, but I'm too new to know for sure. If there is a consensus on how to get reasonable looking fonts, I missed it.