Help! sound issue with arts alsa xmms, etc
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Whistlingtony
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 12:32 am    Post subject: Help! sound issue with arts alsa xmms, etc Reply with quote

Hookay. So, this is my first time with Gentoo, and although I've used linux on just about everything else in the house, this is my first time using it as a desktop.

So, i'm not a total newb, but this.. Gui thing.. is new to me.

So, here's my problem:

I followed the Gentoo Linux ALSA Guide. System sounds work fine, kaboodle can play my little test mp3. However, XMMS and mpg123 freeze up when they try to play an mp3. I did a bit of digging, emerged alsa-xmms, made sure xmms preferences was set to output to Alsa, etc etc. Oddly enough, the damn things work when i'm using Enlightenment. So, I figured it was a sound daemon quirk that I did not understand.

I had heard mixed things about Arts (i'm using KDE btw) and it is my understanding that XMMS doesn't need the thing around to work. So, a handy ps -aux gave me the PID of arts, and I killed the sucker. Hot Damn, XMMS and mpg123 work now!! Then I play my test mp3 using kaboodle again, and it starts up Arts, and I swear a little bit.

So, here's the questions:

Help! give me the executive summary on sound in linux.
Do I need Arts? I thought I needed it to mix sounds IE: multiple noises same time kinda thing.
If I can do without it, how do I kill Arts? should I use another sound daemon?
what functionality am i giving up without a sound daemon?

Ok, many thanks! So far, so good. Here's to a windows free house! (looks at Half Life 2 and cries)

~WhistlingTony
krusty_ar
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 12:49 am    Post subject: Re: Help! sound issue with arts alsa xmms, etc Reply with quote