Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mozilla-Firebird why can't it just scroll....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 9:08 am    Post subject: Mozilla-Firebird why can't it just scroll.... Reply with quote

I have just installed Mozilla-Firebird on my machine, 0.6, and I noticed something very stupid -

When I load up a website, I cannot use the mousewheel up/down to scroll the page up or down. Not all at, nada, zip, zilch.
Can't scroll by selecting the scroll bar and moving the mousewheel, can hover the mousewheel over the page, nothing.

When I load up the about:config page for Mozilla-Firebird, automagically, the scrolling goes back to what it should be in the first place (wtf!!) scrolling up and down the page as I move the mousewheel.

Note: This is not hitting the middle button, the mouse works fine (I can scroll in other apps it appears), and I am not worried if the thumb buttons go back/forward a page :p

Mozilla-Firebird has some wierd scrolling setup, I want to see if I can disable something, to get the 'normal' scrolling behaviour back, or whether I should just dump Firebird.

Any ideas ? Mouse is IntelliMouse Explorer USB v3.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
searcher
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 175
Location: NL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the wheel work in other applications? If so try re-emerging mozilla-firebird without gtk2 support:
Code:
# USE="-gtk2 gtk" emerge mozilla-firebird

I couldn't type in the window anymore after i did a certain "thing" (still not sure what it was). However, re-emerging without gtk2 support seemed to fix it for me. Not sure if it will work in your case, but you could give it a shot. Hang on to firebird though, for me personally it's the best browser around :)

good luck,
~searcher
_________________
You are unique ... just like everyone else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2003 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, stupid me I had configured the mouse incorrectly in XF86Config.

There is a bit of a misnomer regarding the correct settings for configuring the Intellimouse Explorers to work correctly in X.

Most people tell you to put the following

Code:
"Option" "Buttons" "7"
 "Option" "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"


That is what I was using, and I found it worked ok for the most part, but a few programs, like Mozilla, had issues with scrolling.

The 'more correct' way of doing it appears to be the following

Code:
"Option" "Buttons" "7"
 "Option" "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"


The reason for the ZAxisMapping needing to be "4 5" is based on the xmodmap code -

Code:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"


As per the tips & tricks post "Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Configuration"

It's crazy, on the one hand, we are telling XF86Config that we have 7 buttons, and that "6 7" is the mouse wheel, and in the xmodmap, we are telling it we have 7 buttons and "4 5" as the wheel.

"4 5" for the wheel has better support as the wheel and should be configured as such.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlCKB0Y
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 105
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2003 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ard Righ wrote:
Heh, stupid me I had configured the mouse incorrectly in XF86Config.

There is a bit of a misnomer regarding the correct settings for configuring the Intellimouse Explorers to work correctly in X.

Most people tell you to put the following

Code:
"Option" "Buttons" "7"
 "Option" "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"




Really? I have *NEVER* heard or seen that typed anywhere as the default way to use a scroll wheel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2003 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SlCKB0Y wrote:
Really? I have *NEVER* heard or seen that typed anywhere as the default way to use a scroll wheel.


All you have to do is search through these forums, and the thread I pointed out above, and you will see that everyone lists the ZAxisMapping as "6 7".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQLBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2003 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For every mouse I've ever had, including MS Explorer, it was 4 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OdinsDream
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 1057

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't 6 and 7 have something to do with the extra buttons on some Intellimice? Scrolling is definitely 4 5.
_________________
s/(?<!gnu\/)linux(?! kernel)/GNU\/Linux/gi

Don't blame me. I didn't vote for him.

http://john.simplykiwi.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2003 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*sigh* Can you not understand plain English ? I know the mouse if "4 5", I am saying that in the forums everyone is incorrectly listing it as "6 7".

There is no further need for the 'me too' posts; the point has already been made.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wishkah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 441
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got that mouse and the mousewheel always worked for me, here's that part of my config:

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "Auto"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"

    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


That doesn't work anymore, but I changed to 2.6.0test1-mm2 so that's a different story :wink: It worked like a charm with 2.4...
_________________
if only I could fill my heart with love...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum