View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
denstark
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:19 pm    Post subject: GRUB Read Error Reply with quote

Ok... heres the scoop. i am a super newb when it comes to linux. i had someone reccommend me to gentoo so i thought why not, ill give it a shot. i had had some previous expierence with redhat, but redhat is easy. so i followed the instructions on the gentoo linux install page (x86) EXACTLY. then after all that was done, i picked grub as my bootloader, because i had used it as my bootloader w/ redhat. i am not duel booting. then i unmounted my hard drive partitions, and then rebooted. i am brought to a screen which says "GRUB Read Error". i then got really mad :evil: So i put in the cd and mounted the hard drives, entered chroot, etc... and i reinstalled grub, same error. i then reentered the machine. i unmerged grub, and installed LILO. i got a similar error, it wouldnt boot. then i reinstalled the whole gentoo linux. then i reinstalled grub again... SAME ERROR. :( i searched the forums, and i saw this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=56825&highlight=grub+read+error i used Ifrits post and saw that i didnt copy my grub files. i then copied them, and SAME ERROR. lol i am really angry right now lol. please help if you can. here are my grub.conf file and fstab file:

fstab:

Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information
# $header4: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab, v 1.10 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# Needed; notail increases performance of ReisersFS (at the expence of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely/

# <fs>           <mountpoint>             <type>         <opts>  <dump/pass>