Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] cdrom_pc_intr: The drive appears confused
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:16 pm    Post subject: [solved] cdrom_pc_intr: The drive appears confused Reply with quote

I am having issues with my IDE DVD burner.

At first I get these messages in my dmesg:
Code:

hdf: cdrom_pc_intr: The drive appears confused (ireason = 0x01). Trying to recover by ending request.

However, at that point everything works fine (I can burn, read disc, etc). But then, sometimes immediately, sometimes after a while I start getting the following message, at rate of about 5 a second:
Code:

hdf: status error: status=0x58 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdf: drive not ready for command


That happens on its own, even when the drive is empty and I am not touching it. Funny thing is, sometimes KDE detects an audio CD in the drive when it is in fact empty. That seems to be one of the triggers, but the drive can start failing for other unknown reasons as well.

I think I tried everything suggested for this problem on the forums: changed DMA, checked cable, played with cable-select/master-slave, played with BIOS (native/legacy business), disabled ACPI. Nothing seems to help. I tried updating to several kernels, including 2.6.19.1 but the problem remains.

I have the following hardware:
Intel P965/G965
LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1693S, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM (shares the IDE channel with a hard drive)
JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI
Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family)

Any ideas?


Last edited by no_hope on Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to get the drive on a separate channel to see if it clears up? I've seen this behavior on my system, but only when I set enhanced mode to PATA+SATA in the bios, but it appears you've already been down that road.
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanas3712
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue, and I wonder if it's causing some video issues also as I have these strange random skips in games now.. but I don't know for sure and of course none of this occurs in windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didymos wrote:
Is there any way to get the drive on a separate channel to see if it clears up?

Just tried it. Didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if KDE/hald is causing my troubles. Whenever the drive stops working an "Audio CD" appears in "Storage Media" even though the drive is empty. Perhaps something is trying to access the drive while there is nothing in it, and that breaks things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vladgrigorescu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:30 pm    Post subject: Update? Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem. Has anyone found a solution yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanas3712
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope nope.. jmicron fun for a bit longer methinks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandwidthjunkie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been having these problems too, my machine locks every few minutes for a second as the CD drive resets (even though it's empty). Since I never use my cd drive I just unplugged it and that has sorted the problem out temporarily. However I found this on linuxquestions
Quote:
For my JBM368 [jmicron] controller there seem to be several modules.

One set includes ata_generic and pata_jmicron, and the other is simply libata (as far as I know). From what I've read, pata_jmicron provides "basic" support and libata provides full support. I've done `sudo modprobe -r pata_jmicron` and `sudo modprobe -r ata_generic` and it seems to have curbed the error output. I am not sure if it was because those drivers were conflicting, or whether those drivers were just plain unstable as all get out. My only problem now is removing them from my kernel. I reboot and they're back in lsmod. How do I permanently unload those modules?

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?t=514483

I am going to give this a go today and see if it solves the problem.

My GA-P965-S3 board and core2duo chip have been nothing but trouble, but this seems to be the last hurdle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the two jmicron drivers from the kernel (using libata instead) and it didn't help. Running 2.6.20-rc5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandwidthjunkie wrote:
My GA-P965-S3 board and core2duo chip have been nothing but trouble, but this seems to be the last hurdle.


Did you get sky2 to work properly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandwidthjunkie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no_hope wrote:
bandwidthjunkie wrote:
My GA-P965-S3 board and core2duo chip have been nothing but trouble, but this seems to be the last hurdle.


Did you get sky2 to work properly?


I am currently running 2.6.18-r(6 or maybe 5) and yes sky2 works perfectly; I compiled it as a module and I can up/down load at full speed on my office network without any glitches. I listen to internet radio all day and it never cuts out. I am using the amd64 distro. I did try the kerneloftruth live cd (much newer kernel) and it messes up on sky2.

I did some stuff with the ata config in the kernel; now all of my hd partitions have moved from hda to sda and my cd drive is no longer recognised (ie it doesn't appear in udev).

I nevre use my cd drive and if I want to burn something I can always boot over into my XP partition. So I think that I will wait until this problem is finally sorted out so that both jmicron and sky2 work fine. I can't waste any more days trying to get this to work. Need to get on with some real work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem appears to have gone away with linux-2.6.20-rc7. I had to enable JMicron PATA support since it looks like libata doesn't support it anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vladgrigorescu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:25 am    Post subject: Changelog Reply with quote

From the Changelog:

Code:
commit 3e9e4c8606127592cda22159cc2440ea48963ae4
Author: Alan Cox <alan@redhat.com>
Date:   Sat Jan 27 13:46:45 2007 +0100

    ide/generic: Jmicron has its own drivers now
   
    Drop ide-generic support for Jmicron identifiers as we now trust Jmicron.c for
    this with drivers/ide.  The code check remains for the all-generic-ide case.
   
    Signed-off-by: Alan Cox <alan@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
    Signed-off-by: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>

commit 99abaf51e25f7d4ac2081e5cdc1f01baa0543514
Author: ethanhsiao@jmicron.com <ethanhsiao@jmicron.com>
Date:   Tue Jan 30 14:36:13 2007 -0800

    [PATCH] jmicron: 40/80pin primary detection
   
    jmicron module detects all JMB36x as JMB361 and PATA0 has wrong pin status
    of XICBLID.
   
    Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
    Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
    Cc: Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@ru.mvista.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>


I'm still waiting for rc7 of mm-sources to come out to test it, but I'm hopeful...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timbo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 231
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK well seems my brand spanking Core Duo2 E6320 / Gigabyte GA965GM - DS2 is having this problem, works for a while after booting but then all hell breaks loose... oodles of

Code:
hde: status error: status=0x58 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hde: drive not ready for command


and then KDE thinks there's an audio CD in the drive when I know there's not...

Any solutions... my main HDD is plugged into the SATA port.

Regards
Tim
_________________
Linux User: 303160
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBaaadBob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Swampscott, MA USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

timbo wrote:
OK well seems my brand spanking Core Duo2 E6320 / Gigabyte GA965GM - DS2 is having this problem, works for a while after booting but then all hell breaks loose [...] my main HDD is plugged into the SATA port.

Ditto with a MSI P965 Platinum with a Core 2 Duo E6600 with a TDK DVDRW840G all by itself on /dev/hde and the hard drive on an ahci sata.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timbo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 231
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ended up fixing this by having a full scsi system no ATA/IDE:

Code:

#
# ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support
#
# CONFIG_IDE is not set


And alls well since then...

Regards
Tim
8)
_________________
Linux User: 303160
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBaaadBob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Swampscott, MA USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed my problem as described here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c3l5o
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem... The details are here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-567623-highlight-hald+jmicron.html

Sorry for creating another thread but I didn't find this one through search...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum