Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot Splash (background picture ala SuSE) -- Support
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RickDB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 155
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 4:23 am    Post subject: Boot Splash (background picture ala SuSE) -- Support Reply with quote

[Mod Edit: This thread was split out of the original thread named "Boot Splash (background pic ala Suse) TIP of the YEAR!" -- This split was done because there was so much good information in the original thread we wanted to try and make all the information more accessible to everyone. Read my post in the original thread for more information. Thanks!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon]


It tried it with a new kernel and all but it can't seem to find initrd anywhere.
I tried /boot/initrd and /initrd and did put it in the kernel with all the other options( ramd disk etc..)
Because it only gives a little tux at the top now, i did do exactly as it said in te readme and tried both grub and lilo:
Code:

root@localhost rick # lilo -v
LILO version 22.3.3, Copyright (C) 1992-1998 Werner Almesberger
Development beyond version 21 Copyright (C) 1999-2002 John Coffman
Released 30-Aug-2002 and compiled at 12:39:27 on Dec 19 2002.

Reading boot sector from /dev/hda3
Using MENU secondary loader
Calling map_insert_data

Boot image: /boot/test
Mapping RAM disk /boot/initrd
Fatal: open /boot/initrd: No such file or directory
root@localhost rick #

And grub doesn't boot with the initrd settings.
So can someone tell me what i did wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slougi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Oulu, Finland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you have /boot mounted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RickDB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 155
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did have boot mounted(and i have tried unmounted), its really strange because it should work.
I will do a total new splash install and see what happends :)
Edit: still doesn't work it just doesn't make the initrd anywhere :(
Does anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kachaffeous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rick D was /boot mounted when you did this

Code:

 
root@Blazen boot # splash -s -f /usr/share/splash/bootsplash.cfg > /boot/initrd


If not unmount /boot then cd to /boot and your initrd will be there[/u]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That s so cool... At last a very cool way of booting linux (didn t like aurora from mdk which hid kernel bootup messages. The SuSE and now gentoo way is much better).

Only problem : I have a radeon R200 card, using the ATI closed source 2.5.1 drivers (don t know if this info is relevant). I boot with the bootsplash patch, using grub (kernel params added : vga=791 video=vesa:1024x768@70). Boot sequence is perfect, X and kdm start at 1280x1024@85 but when I CTRL+ALT+Fx back into a virtual console, screen is completly messed up, I can t use the consoles. Has anybody experienced the same problems ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pascall wrote:
but when I CTRL+ALT+Fx back into a virtual console, screen is completly messed up, I can t use the consoles. Has anybody experienced the same problems ?

Think about what's going on: you're using two drivers to run a single device -- the framebuffer, and the ATi driver in X. The ATi driver does a reset when it fires up to make sure X comes up cleanly, but when you switch between X and a tty, the framebuffer is in an inconsistent state. (There were a lot of crashes with the Riva framebuffer and the nVidia drivers, too -- Google will tell you all about 'em.) Run at your own risk. ;)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so delta407, you re telling me that I have to choose between the bootsplash screen and using the tty's ? Arghhhh it was too good to be true :(

No way to clean the buffer when switching to tty1-6 ?

Anyway thanks for your explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RickDB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 155
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kachaffeous wrote:
Rick D was /boot mounted when you did this

Code:

 
root@Blazen boot # splash -s -f /usr/share/splash/bootsplash.cfg > /boot/initrd


If not unmount /boot then cd to /boot and your initrd will be there[/u]


Forgot that line somehow :oops:
Gonna try that but it think it will work this time :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pascall wrote:
Ok so delta407, you re telling me that I have to choose between the bootsplash screen and using the tty's ?
I cannot say that with certainty. However, knowing of similar problems (X->tty->X fails with several framebuffer setups) suggests this to be the case.

pascall wrote:
No way to clean the buffer when switching to tty1-6 ?
I don't know; apparently SuSE can or does. Maybe it's a kernel patch that didn't get activated, maybe it's the drivers, or maybe it's your hardware.

pascall wrote:
Anyway thanks for your explanation.
You're welcome. ;)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RickDB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 155
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok it's working fine now(with lilo anyways) looks great btw only switching between tty's does work only the rest is in the old style(tty2 till tty 12)
But i tried alot of things with grub(even the one posted in this topic):

Grub.conf looks like this:

default 0
timeout 30
vga=789
splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/penguins.xpm.gz

title=gentoo linux 2.4.19r10
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/test2 root=/dev/hda3 hdd=ide-scsi vga=792
initrd=/initrd

I tried alot of thing but it does not show that cool splash image like lilo does :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey kachaffeous,

Was just wondering if you know a way of cleaning the buffer when switching bak from X ? My problem is that when I boot->X->tty, the console is completly scrambled.

I am using the ATI drivers. Do u know a way of cleaning the buffer cause I want to be able to still use my virtual consoles (for examples I often kill X when updating my system... Compiling is much faster that way...).

Anyway if someone has some insights to solve my problem, feel free to share.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GurliGebis
Developer
Developer


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an idea to solve the problem.

If it is possible to kill the tty process, and make it restart, maybe that would solve the problem.
_________________
Queen Rocks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 49
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a radeon, but I am sorta interested in the trouble...

Have you tried CTRL+ALT+F# versus CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+F#? I remember reading somewhere long ago it does something different. Can't really recall...

Try typing "reset" (no quotes) in the garbage terminal and see if you can't force it to clean up the screen.
_________________
--Josh

Current project machine: Alpha 433A (433mhz EV56)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Tiber,

Thanks for your time. I tried CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+Fx instead of CTRL+ALT+Fx, but it doesn t change anything.

Also typed reset in a garbage terminal, but it doesn t seem to clean the frame buffer.

I think problems comes from the ATI drivers, which seems to put the frame buffer in a non-clean state. On their site, they say that if you have trouble with the console, try removing vga=xxx... Then it corresponds to not using the frame buffer...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blunatic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Solingen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi!
first excuse my bad english please ...

does anyone know, how to configure the splash screen with a matrox g400 graphics card?
using the matroxfb device allows to use a resolution of 1024x786@70.
with the normal vesa "VESA VGA graphics console " there is no way to use any 1024er resolution only some 800x600 types work.
but when i used them an erros like this occured:
Quote:
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 100x37
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device

additionally a 800x600 resolution doesn't look good at an 15"lcd device...

is there a way to configure the splash-code to use the matroxfb?

i would appreciate every help..and i can read much better then write english..;-)

greetings from germany
david
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H-Pi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2002
Posts: 175
Location: Delft (NL)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heuh, vesa works fine, I can even reach 1280x1024 with it (@ 17"), check my grub conf some post higher
where do you get those errors? after loading you're bootloader or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blunatic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Solingen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do Jan 02, 2003 4:25 pm

With Matrox-specific stuff in my kernel-.config for the framebufferdevice i got with your options (posting Do Jan 02, 2003 4:25 pm) the message, that this vga mode isn't supported (directly when the kernel started by grub). any 1024x mode failed(791 e.g.). the 800x modes works fine
but the penguin (or anything else) appeared instead of the bootsplash and the error occured:
Quote:

Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 100x37
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device


with the matrox-stuff and my 1024x framebuffer-mode grub looks so:
Quote:

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda2 video=matrox:vesa:440
initrd=/boot/initrd

the splash-logo appears, but no splashscreen.
i read at some google-source that the mga-card doesn't support full vesa 2.0?! if this is the reasen, isn't it then possible to use the splash utility to get a splashscreen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craftyc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 443
Location: Behind You.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get any eye-candy. :( I have followed the howto to the letter, but it still doesn't work. I only get a picture of Tux in the top left corner.

Do I have to increase the size of the RAM disk in the kernel for this to work?
_________________
Postcount ++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heijs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 174
Location: Groningen

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you set
Code:
Console Drives -> Frame-buffer support -> Use splash screen instead of boot logo
in your kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craftyc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 443
Location: Behind You.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heijs wrote:
Did you set
Code:
Console Drives -> Frame-buffer support -> Use splash screen instead of boot logo
in your kernel?


Yes. I even commented out the option to have a picture of tux when booting. Still no go.
_________________
Postcount ++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idl
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Posts: 1728
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

craftyc, take look through dmesg - right near the start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craftyc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 443
Location: Behind You.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

port001 wrote:
craftyc, take look through dmesg - right near the start


I don't see any errors anywhere. Here is the output of dmesg if you can make more sense of it.

Code:
maarut@chandegra maarut $ dmesg
Linux version 2.4.19-gentoo-r10 (root@chandegra.kicks-ass.net) (gcc version 3.2.1 20021207 (Gentoo Linux 3.2.1-20021207)) #2 Mon Jan 6 18:10:15 GMT 2003
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 00000000000a0000 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000000fff0000 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 000000000fff0000 - 000000000fff3000 (ACPI NVS)
 BIOS-e820: 000000000fff3000 - 0000000010000000 (ACPI data)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000ffb00000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
255MB LOWMEM available.
Advanced speculative caching feature not present
On node 0 totalpages: 65520
zone(0): 4096 pages.
zone(1): 61424 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda6 hdc=ide-scsi vga=792 video=vesa:1024x768@70 initrd=/initrd
ide_setup: hdc=ide-scsi
Initializing CPU#0
Detected 1600.055 MHz processor.
Console: colour dummy device 80x25
Calibrating delay loop... 3191.60 BogoMIPS
Memory: 254152k/262080k available (1326k kernel code, 5500k reserved, 486k data, 96k init, 0k highmem)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
Inode cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Buffer-cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Page-cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
CPU: Before vendor init, caps: 3febfbff 00000000 00000000, vendor = 0
CPU: L1 I cache: 12K, L1 D cache: 8K
CPU: L2 cache: 256K
CPU: After vendor init, caps: 3febfbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU:     After generic, caps: 3febfbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU:             Common caps: 3febfbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.60GHz stepping 02
Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
Enabling unmasked SIMD FPU exception support... done.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
mtrr: v1.40 (20010327) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
mtrr: detected mtrr type: Intel
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfb120, last bus=2
PCI: Using configuration type 1
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
Unknown bridge resource 0: assuming transparent
Unknown bridge resource 2: assuming transparent
PCI: Using IRQ router PIIX [8086/2440] at 00:1f.0
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x07 (Driver version 1.16)
Starting kswapd
Journalled Block Device driver loaded
devfs: v1.12a (20020514) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
devfs: boot_options: 0x1
udf: registering filesystem
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd8000000, mapped to 0xd0800000, size 65536k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x32, linelength=4096, pages=1
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:b7a0
vesafb: scrolling: redraw
vesafb: directcolor: size=8:8:8:8, shift=24:16:8:0
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
Detected PS/2 Mouse Port.
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 6.31
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
ICH2: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev f9
ICH2: chipset revision 18
ICH2: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xf000-0xf007, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xf008-0xf00f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
hda: ST380020A, ATA DISK drive
hdb: IDE DVD-ROM 16X, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdc: SONY CD-RW CRX1611, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: 156301488 sectors (80026 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=9729/255/63
hdb: ATAPI 16X DVD-ROM drive, 512kB Cache
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
Partition check:
 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 < p5 p6 p7 p8 p9 >
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 4096K size 1024 blocksize
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 203M
agpgart: Detected Intel i845 chipset
agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xd0000000
SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
  Vendor: SONY      Model: CD-RW CRX1611     Rev: TYS7
  Type:   CD-ROM                             ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 40x/40x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
usb.c: registered new driver hub
usb-uhci.c: $Revision: 1.275 $ time 18:12:48 Jan  6 2003
usb-uhci.c: High bandwidth mode enabled
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:1f.2
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:1f.2 to 64
usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xd000, IRQ 11
usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:1f.4
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:1f.4 to 64
usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xd800, IRQ 11
usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
usb-uhci.c: v1.275:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
usb.c: registered new driver usb_mouse
usbmouse.c: v1.6:USB HID Boot Protocol mouse driver
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP
IP: routing cache hash table of 2048 buckets, 16Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 16384 bind 32768)
ip_conntrack version 2.1 (2047 buckets, 16376 max) - 304 bytes per conntrack
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
arp_tables: (C) 2002 David S. Miller
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Mounted devfs on /dev
Freeing unused kernel memory: 96k freed
hub.c: USB new device connect on bus1/2, assigned device number 2
input0: Logitech Trackball on usb1:2.0
Adding Swap: 409616k swap-space (priority -1)
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.17, 10 Jan 2002 on ide0(3,6), internal journal
8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.25
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 02:06.0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 Fast Ethernet at 0xd487c000, 00:10:dc:16:c0:9b, IRQ 11
eth0:  Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139B'
cmpci: version $Revision: 5.64 $ time 17:50:24 Jan  6 2003
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 02:07.0
cmpci: found CM8738 adapter at io 0xcc00 irq 11
cmpci: chip version = 055
0: nvidia: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 nvidia.o Kernel Module  1.0-4191  Mon Dec  9 11:49:01 PST 2002
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs warning: maximal mount count reached, running e2fsck is recommended
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.17, 10 Jan 2002 on ide0(3,1), internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.17, 10 Jan 2002 on ide0(3,7), internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.17, 10 Jan 2002 on ide0(3,9), internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
eth0: Setting 100mbps full-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 45e1.
/dev/vmmon: Module vmmon: registered with major=10 minor=165 tag=$Name: build-2230 $
/dev/vmmon: Module vmmon: initialized
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1319 (vmnet-bridge)
/dev/vmnet: hub 0 does not exist, allocating memory.
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 0 successfully opened
bridge-eth0: up
bridge-eth0: attached
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1360 (vmnet-natd)
/dev/vmnet: hub 8 does not exist, allocating memory.
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 8 successfully opened
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1634 (vmnet-netifup)
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 8 successfully opened
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1635 (vmnet-netifup)
/dev/vmnet: hub 1 does not exist, allocating memory.
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 1 successfully opened
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1657 (vmnet-dhcpd)
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 1 successfully opened
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 1656 (vmnet-dhcpd)
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 8 successfully opened

_________________
Postcount ++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idl
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Posts: 1728
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

craftyc, I think i see your problem.. you are using vga=792 I tried this out once and it worked, then decided it wasnt going to show my boot image and would just show the default display with tux in the top left corner. It runs fine with vga=791 and image quality seems fine.

Good Luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Back with my problem (see previous posts) lol. What I d like to know is if anyone using the ATI commercial drivers 2.5.1 for Radeon 8500 and up uses this boot patch and if yes what are the results.

Everything works smoothly for me, but after X starts, when I come back to one of my 6 virtual consoles (ALT+CTRL+Fx) the screen is completly scrambled... I suspect problem comes from the ATI drivers, but if someone has something to add, please share. If someone using the same drivers experience the same problem, I will post a bug report with the ATI driver feedback. But I d like to be sure before doing so...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pascall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 101
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlieg, what graphics card / driver are you using ?

EDIT : sorry I misspelled ur name... charlleg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum