Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo 1.4 with USB Speedtouch Modem installation guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zebulon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 12:49 pm    Post subject: Gentoo 1.4 with USB Speedtouch Modem installation guide Reply with quote

I searched for "speedtouch" in this forums and found a lot of messages, but none explaning how to connect with a USB speedtouch modem right after boot.

I guess I'm not the first one to achieve this. It took me about 30 min to figure it out and since nobody seemed to have posted a guide, i'll explain it here.

What you need :
- a Gentoo LiveCD (pretty obvious I know)
- a floppy with "mgmt.o" on it (the alcatel modem driver)

What you need to do :
- boot from the cd and when you get the boot prompt
- modprobe floppy (to mount the floppy)
- modprobe ppp_generic
- modprobe ppp_async
- modprobe n_hdlc (a line will be output, it's normal)
- modprobe ppp_synctty
(all those are for the pppd deamon to work)
- mkdir /mnt/floppy
- mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy (don't forget to put the floppy in its drive :) )
- cp /mnt/floppy/mgmt.o /home/
- edit /etc/conf.d/speedtouch and change the path for the mgmt.o file (/home/mgmt.o) and don't forget to uncomment this line
- edit /etc/ppp/peers/adsl.sample and put your connection ID (fti/*****@fti) at the indicated place and save the file under "adsl"
- edit /etc/ppp/pap-secrets and put this line in : 'your_connection_ID' * 'your_connection_pass' *
- edit /etc/ppp/chap-secrets and put the exact same line as above
- run /etc/init.d/speedtouch start

and that's it ..... !! oh ! I almost forgot ........
- dance with joy !!

I hope it helps some people.....
I don't anderstand why those steps aren't explaned in the install guide. The support for the modem is implemented so explanations should be given.

Note : if you get the little bulk_msg error (which absolutly doesn't stop your modem from working) you can edit /etc/init.d/speedtouch and add the "-s" option to the modem_run line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THis should be in Documents, Tips & Tricks, I'll PM a mod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18733

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For now I'm going to make it sticky here in Installing. I think most people trying to Install Gentoo would look to this forum first, and there have been quite a few Speedtouch oriented threads.
_________________
Magna Carta (1215) | Spectral evidence no longer permissible (c. 1792) | Cancel culture, deplatforming (c. 2016)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laurentbon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 15
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 11:39 am    Post subject: If you have a usb floppy drive Reply with quote

Just to add to this excellent post that sorted me out, if you have a usb floppy drive rather than a regular one, replace:
Code:
#modprobe floppy
with
Code:
#modprobe usb-storage
and
Code:
#mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
with
Code:
#mount -t vfat /dev/sda /mnt/floppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this how-to written for the green Alcatel Speedtouch USB ADSL modem?I.e. this one: [img:3f78c56767]http://www.kpn.com/common/graphics/products/mxstreamusbmodems.gif[/img:3f78c56767]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fifo wrote:
Yes.


Cool,have you tried it yourself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bosko wrote:
Cool,have you tried it yourself?


Yes, and it works great. There's a few things I did differently from the above:

    You don't need the "modprobe ppp_async" line.

    I also found you don't need to add the password, etc., to pap-secrets, only to chap-secrets.

    You might also have to modify the pty line in /etc/ppp/peers/adsl to change the vpi & vci values (I think the defaults are for the French network).

    As in the note at the bottom, I changed the modem_run line in /etc/init.d/speedtouch to
    Code:
    ( ps -e | grep -q modem_run) || $MODEM_RUN -v $VERBOSE -m -s -f $MICROCODE

    to make the bulk_msg error go away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post,I think that I'll manage to get my modem to work now.

Btw,I only have to modify use pap-secrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay,the modem worked fine during install,but after the installation I couldn't get the modem to work with this how-to,so I resorted to the how-to that I always used under Red Hat (and worked fine); http://home.planet.nl/~andje000/linux.html
When I do a "modprobe n_hdlc" it says that it can't find the module n_hdlc.How can I compile that module (what kernel configuration options do I need)?
When I try to make my internet connection anyways I get the error that it can't find my USB modem.Does this have anything to do with the n_hdlc problem?If not,what options do I need to set in my kernel configuration to make it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to get things working by essentially following the howto. The kernel options you need are
Code:

Network device support  --->
<*> PPP (point-to-point protocol) support
<*>   PPP support for sync tty ports

Character devices  --->
[*] Non-standard serial port support
<*>   HDLC line discipline support

USB support  --->
<*> Support for USB
---
[*]   Preliminary USB device filesystem
---
<*>   *HCI support

You can compile some of these as modules if you want, but then you may need to do more to make sure they're loaded when needed, so I like to just compile them in directly.

Then do "emerge speedtouch" and setup the configurations files as above. You should be able to start & stop the connection manually by using "/etc/init.d/speedtouch start" & "... stop". If you want the connection to start automatically on booting, then just do "rc-update add speedtouch default".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks alot for you reply,but unfortunaly it still doesn't work.I recompiled the kernel with those options and rebooted,but when I try to make my internet connection I get the error that the usb modem cant be found.
Emerge speedtouch ofcourse doesn't work because I have no internet connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What command exactly is it that gives you the error?

If you haven't installed the speedtouch package, you can boot from the livecd, setup your internet connection and chroot into the system as you did for the install, and then run the emerge. You should also copy mgmt.o to somewhere on your disk (I've put it in /root). Then you can reboot, setup the configuration files, and it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr/local/bin/modem_run -f /adsl/mgmt/mgmt.o -m gives the error that the modem was not found and that /proc/bus/usb doesn't exist.

Well,I have speedtouch and mgmt.o but I believe that the problem is that the modem isnt recognized.So far this how-to has always worked (under Red Hat): http://home.planet.nl/~andje000/linux.html ,but now I get the error that the modem cant be found.

How do I chroot into my system?Was that mkdir /mnt/gentoo; mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo; chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash;env-update;source /etc/profile ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You shouldn't need to run the modem_run command yourself. What happens if you just do "/etc/init.d/speedtouch start" instead? This should mount the usb filesystem that it's complaining about, do the modem_run, and then bring up the connection.

BTW, I think you've got the chroot procedure right, but you shouldn't need it if you've already emerged speedtouch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keyed
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 135
Location: Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the USB modem lights on? Once the USB filesystem is mounted and n_hdlc and uhci is either compiled in or modprobed, it should work if the password and isp information is filled out correctly. My works fine.
_________________
Windows is not a virus: Viruses are well supported by their authors, are running on most systems, their program code is fast, compact and efficient and they tend to become more sophisticated as they mature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fifo wrote:
You shouldn't need to run the modem_run command yourself. What happens if you just do "/etc/init.d/speedtouch start" instead? This should mount the usb filesystem that it's complaining about, do the modem_run, and then bring up the connection.

BTW, I think you've got the chroot procedure right, but you shouldn't need it if you've already emerged speedtouch.


/etc/init.d/speedtouch doesn't exist,but I will try booting the cd,chrooting,emerging speedtouch etc.,which will probably install it.

I meant the speedtouch package from that how-to (i.e. speedtouch-21062001.tar.gz).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay,I setup my connection,chrooted and emerged speedtouch.I configured pap-secrets,adsl,speedtouch and resolv.conf.I can run /etc/init.d/speedtouch start now,but I get the same error; /proc/bus/usb doesn't exist.

I really have no idea what is wrong :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do a reboot and try it without using the livecd.

If it still gives the error, what happens if you try to mount it manually like this
Code:
# mount none /proc/bus/usb -t usbdevfs
? Make sure you've selected the "/proc file system support" and "USB device filesystem" options in your kernel config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No,it doesn't work.

I can't mount it,I get an error saying that "/proc/bus/usb" doesn't.I also couldn't create it with mkdir.

/proc file system support is on,but I am not sure about USB device filesystem,in which catagory in menuconfig is it (I didn't see it)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
USB support  --->
[*]   Preliminary USB device filesystem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes,I have that option turned on.Doesn't work,eventhough I have everything turned on that you mentioned (all built in,no modules).

I wonder why it works with the cd,but not with my installation :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I don't know what to suggest--you need to be able to mount /proc/bus/usb to use the modem. If you had it working in redhat, could you compare the kernel configs for differences? You could also try the other UHCI option from the one you've currently selected (under USB support) but I don't know if it'll make any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled all the USB stuff as modules (because I read in another thread that it might fix this problem) and modprobe usbcore works fine,but modprobe usb-uhci gives an error that the device can't be found.UHCI is selected as module,but why doesnt modprobe usb-uhci not work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcsjr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using 1.4RC3 by chance? I had things working under RC2 then had to start over, so I tried RC3. The manual modem/PPP startup worked fine but I could not get it to load the modem and PPP together when booting from the new kernel. One or the other would start but never both and most of the problems centered around not seeing the modem. So I went back to RC2 and had no problems getting the Speedtouch working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum