Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quake3 freezes at sound initialisation?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:24 pm    Post subject: Quake3 freezes at sound initialisation? Reply with quote

Hello,

Recently, I emerged quake3, moved the correct pak file from game cd to the right location and ran the game once successfully as root. Then, I added /usr/games/bin/ to the normal user $PATH. However, now, Quake3 freezes whenever I try to run it as root or as normal user and shows the following code.
Code:

Q3 1.32b linux-i386 Nov 14 2002
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/root/.q3a/baseq3
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak8.pk3 (9 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak7.pk3 (4 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak6.pk3 (64 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak5.pk3 (7 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak4.pk3 (272 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak3.pk3 (4 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak2.pk3 (148 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak1.pk3 (26 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3/pak0.pk3 (3539 files)
/opt/quake3/baseq3
./quake3.x86/baseq3

----------------------
4073 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok

------- Input Initialization -------
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1: Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 4: 800 600
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.1
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 800x600
Using 4/4/4 Color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
GL_RENDERER: GeForce2 MX/PCI/SSE
Initializing OpenGL extensions
...ignoring GL_S3_s3tc
...ignoring GL_EXT_texture_env_add
...using GL_ARB_multitexture
...using GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
XF86 Gamma extension initialized

GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GeForce2 MX/PCI/SSE
GL_VERSION: 1.3.1 NVIDIA 31.23
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multitexture
GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_transpose_matrix
GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax
GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays
GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_point_parameters
GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp
GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3
GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object
GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_EXT_vertex_weighting GL
_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region GL_NV_blend_square
GL_NV_evaluators GL_NV_fence GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent
GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_texgen_emboss
GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle
GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2 GL_NV_vertex_program
GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_multitexture
GL_SGIS_texture_lod
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: 2048
GL_MAX_ACTIVE_TEXTURES_ARB: 2

PIXELFORMAT: color(32-bits) Z(24-bit) stencil(0-bits)
MODE: 4, 800 x 600 fullscreen hz:N/A
GAMMA: hardware w/ 0 overbright bits
CPU:
rendering primitives: single glDrawElements
texturemode: GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST
picmip: 1
texture bits: 32
multitexture: enabled
compiled vertex arrays: enabled
texenv add: disabled
compressed textures: disabled
Initializing Shaders
...loading 'scripts/lightningnew.shader'
...loading 'scripts/explode1.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gfx.shader'
...loading 'scripts/tim.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_button.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_floor.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_light.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_object.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_support.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_trim.shader'
...loading 'scripts/base_wall.shader'
...loading 'scripts/common.shader'
...loading 'scripts/ctf.shader'
...loading 'scripts/eerie.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gothic_block.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gothic_floor.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gothic_light.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gothic_trim.shader'
...loading 'scripts/gothic_wall.shader'
...loading 'scripts/hell.shader'
...loading 'scripts/liquid.shader'
...loading 'scripts/menu.shader'
...loading 'scripts/models.shader'
...loading 'scripts/organics.shader'
...loading 'scripts/sfx.shader'
...loading 'scripts/shrine.shader'
...loading 'scripts/skin.shader'
...loading 'scripts/sky.shader'
...loading 'scripts/test.shader'
----- finished R_Init -----

------- sound initialization -------


It's obvious that it's freezing on sound initialisation - I have tried typing "chmod o+rw /dev/dsp" as root but it has not helped. Also, it is looking for /root/.q3a/baseq3 at the start of the code. Is that what it should be doing?

Any suggestions are welcome.

Best wishes for the new year.
Narada.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running KDE? (i.e. is there a sound server planting its fat arse on the sound device?)

Try running
Code:
$ artsdsp quake3
or just
Code:
# killall artsd
and start it again after.

Hope I could help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2003 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same thing for me, cept it would segfault immediately at the sound init. i didnt emerge it either, i installed it from the loki cd-rom (found the tin in a bargain bin for 10 canadian dollars!).

if anyone can fix this, i'd be pleased!

edit: i dont run kde or artsd. i use flux w/ alsa.
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the OSS emulation modules installed with ALSA? Can you verify they are working correctly? (i.e. play normal sounds?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danman142
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I were you I would:
1. Make sure all the right modules are loaded including snd-pcm-oss and snd-mixer-oss
2. Try running this command:
echo "quake3.x86 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss

If any of that doesnt work, then you probably have something wrong with alsa itself or the initialization. One thing you need to be sure is that you add the alsasound script to the boot runlvl and not the default as that can cause small problems with initialization.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My problem was being caused by an experimental driver module for my soundcard in kernel 2.4.20. To resolve this problem I removed my sound card driver from the kernel and added them as modules. Now, whenever sound behaves strangely or crashes I unload both my sound modules and reload them via a script. This may be an idea for those who have not tried it although it will need a kernel recompile. HTH.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum