View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ats007spdou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 5:02 am    Post subject: Is Linux slower than Windows? Reply with quote

Here's the thing. I have dual boot, on one Win XP Home edition (Professional is much too overrated) and Suse Linux 9.0 (yes, I'm a newbie to Linux.)

My kernel is 2.4 (I need 2.4 for a specific project, I'll upgrade later on), I have 512 megs of ram and a 2.8 Ghz Intel CPU, so I figured that everything should run fine, right? Wrong!

Whenever I open something in Suse, it takes a split second longer for it to show up and redraw all of the elements in it. Then there is the factor of me going online. I use mozilla on both OSs. But whenever I'm in Windows, everything just runs faster, the pages get downloaded quicker, the functions (back, forward, stop, etc.) execute faster and when I click on a link and a new window shows up, it does it faster in Windows! Note: I'm currently connected to my university's LAN.

I'll be honest, I'd love to move on over to Linux and do everything and anything there, but at this rate, I might be stuck in Windows land for some time, if not forever :( .
sininevagun
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote