Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Doom 3 Linux Client is out!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rpdillon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:51 pm    Post subject: Doom 3 Linux Client is out!!! Reply with quote

Got it off id's ftp. I'm sure it'll be hitting big mirrors soon.

Got it running, but the installer didn't work.

I used:

./doom3-linux-1.1.1282.x86.run --tar xvf

to extract the files.

Then I copied all the paks from the CDs to the ./base directory.

Did an:

ln -s ./bin/Linux/amd64/doom.x86 ./doom

(No worries for you x86 folks, there's only one binary anyway, the amd64 directroy is symlinked to the x86 directory).

And lastly, fired it up with:

./doom

Works like a charm! =)

http://rpdillon.freeshell.org/linuxdoom.jpg

I'm sure we'll hit bandwidth limit exceeded, but whatever. =P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rawoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can also do :
Quote:
./doom3-linux-1.1.1282.x86.run --noexec --target .
cd bin/Linux/x86
ln -s glibc-2.1 glibc-2.0
cd -
./setup.sh


i mirrored it here since id's ftp is full =)))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cram
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 312
Location: Saskatoon, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sweet.

Since rpdillon's link seems to be busted, the address is ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/doom3/linux/*

strangely enough the ftp server told me I was user 77 out of 75 allowed and still let me grab it.
_________________
aaarggghhhh.
Good point Chewie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 454
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How does it perform compared to using it in winex? I am looking forward to getting home to try it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rawoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They still use OSS for sound =(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 138
Location: yes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like I have it all worked out, except this:

Code:

Initializing OpenGL display
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
DGA DirectVideo Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
Free86-VidModeExtension Activated at 640x480
Couldn't get a visual
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 105
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 38
BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 2
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 42
BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 4
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 43
BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Sys_Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL


Can anyone help here please? I'm using xorg 6.8.0 and an nVidia card
_________________
The more you depend on forces outside yourself, the more you are dominated by them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JBB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 51
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try

opengl-update xorg-x11
opengl-update nvidia

That seems to fix weird OpenGL problems sometimes so worth a try. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 138
Location: yes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That didn't help any. Thanks for the advice anyway. I'll try downgrading xorg to 6.7.x
_________________
The more you depend on forces outside yourself, the more you are dominated by them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ledskof
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 209
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a little warning, when I run setup.sh after copying my base files over, it zeroes the files that weren't in the archive.
_________________
Thie is my sig. The post is over. Now gtfo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 937
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raoul wrote:
you can also do :
Quote:
./doom3-linux-1.1.1282.x86.run --noexec --target .
cd bin/Linux/x86
ln -s glibc-2.1 glibc-2.0
cd -
./setup.sh


i mirrored it here since id's ftp is full =)))
Code:
15:44:30^root@HQ:~ > ./setup.sh
./setup.sh: line 191: /root/.setup22763: No such file or directory
That's what I get!
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bengi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 67
Location: East Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ticho wrote:
It looks like I have it all worked out, except this:

Code:

Initializing OpenGL display
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
DGA DirectVideo Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
Free86-VidModeExtension Activated at 640x480
Couldn't get a visual
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 105
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 38
BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 2
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 42
BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Fatal X Error:
  Major opcode of failed request: 4
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 43
BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Sys_Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL


Can anyone help here please? I'm using xorg 6.8.0 and an nVidia card



I'm getting the same as this too - anybody have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgant
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not getting it to work either.

I loaded everything into the /opt/doom directory and pointed everything to that during the script setup.

But I get this error:

Code:
------ Initializing File System ------
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/game00.pk4 with checksum 0x7dafc4d4
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/game01.pk4 with checksum 0x16cf3b8a
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak000.pk4 with checksum 0x28d208f1
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak001.pk4 with checksum 0x40244be0
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak002.pk4 with checksum 0xc51ecdcd
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak003.pk4 with checksum 0xcd79d028
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x765e4f8b
Loaded pk4 /opt/doom/base/pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x8ffc3621
Current search path:
/home/sgant/.doom3/base
/opt/doom/base
/opt/doom/base/pak005.pk4 (63 files)
/opt/doom/base/pak004.pk4 (5137 files)
/opt/doom/base/pak003.pk4 (4676 files)
/opt/doom/base/pak002.pk4 (6120 files)
/opt/doom/base/pak001.pk4 (8972 files)
/opt/doom/base/pak000.pk4 (2698 files)
/opt/doom/base/game01.pk4 (2 files)
/opt/doom/base/game00.pk4 (2 files)
game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
file system initialized.
--------------------------------------
----- Initializing Decls -----
------------------------------
------- Initializing renderSystem --------
using ARB renderSystem
renderSystem initialized.
--------------------------------------
5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
Couldn't open journal files
execing editor.cfg
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
----- Initializing Sound System ------
sound system initialized.
--------------------------------------
----- R_InitOpenGL -----
dlopen(libGL.so.1)
dlopen(libGL.so.1)
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Sys_Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL


Anyone else getting this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

24 bit colors enabled? doom3 needs them with xserver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saffron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:21 pm    Post subject: Yahoo!! Reply with quote

Yahoo!! God I have been waiting forEVER!!!! I hope my 2500+, GeForce 440 will do it justice.... now I gotta go out to buy my copy!!!


Saffron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bittorrent: http://zerowing.idsoftware.com:6969/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 138
Location: yes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bx wrote:
24 bit colors enabled? doom3 needs them with xserver


That was it, thanks a bunch! :)))
_________________
The more you depend on forces outside yourself, the more you are dominated by them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rawoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doom3 linux official wiki: http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/doom/FrontPage.
Not very useful though =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syscrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 541

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are some screenshots. They are taken with my Radeon 8500 at low details at 640*480 with the fglrx driver.

http://syscrash2k.hopto.org/stuff/doom3-linux/
_________________
Play ET? Come by #gentoo.et on freenode!
http://syscrash.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweezil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ingame, open the console: [~]
type
Code:
timedemo demo1

my results: 2148 frames rendered in 68.2 seconds = 31.5 fps
all settings on low
system specs:
AMD XP2000+
512 MB DDR266
GeForce3 MSI StarForce 822 ViVo 64MB DDR
KT400 chipset

I guess I need to upgrade my hardware :wink:

//edited: turned some stuff off in the advanced video settings


Last edited by dweezil on Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:03 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i hope for a full install, my cd drive isn't detected by kernel atm :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d4rk74m4
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syscrash2k wrote:
Here are some screenshots. They are taken with my Radeon 8500 at low details at 640*480 with the fglrx driver.

http://syscrash2k.hopto.org/stuff/doom3-linux/


eh? I'd heard they don't work with fglrx yet.. I'll go download it now (on dial-up.. meh.. hope it's not too big), and give it a try, although I'm going to have to revert xorg 6.7 so fglrx works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syscrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 541

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d4rk74m4 wrote:
syscrash2k wrote:
Here are some screenshots. They are taken with my Radeon 8500 at low details at 640*480 with the fglrx driver.

http://syscrash2k.hopto.org/stuff/doom3-linux/


eh? I'd heard they don't work with fglrx yet.. I'll go download it now (on dial-up.. meh.. hope it's not too big), and give it a try, although I'm going to have to revert xorg 6.7 so fglrx works.

According to the website, it has issues, when i walked through one hallway (it wasn't very graphically intensive) it went sub-1fps :( But at least it works :wink:
_________________
Play ET? Come by #gentoo.et on freenode!
http://syscrash.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andysan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Location: Berlin - Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No success with amd64, seems to be a problem with the nvidia emulation libs :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gaz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried it this morning, lots of graphical issues for me :(

ATi need to get some decent linux drivers out NOW for xorg 6.8.0 and doom3.. and while they are at it.. some 64bit drivers too..

I can't run xorg 6.8.0, the dev guys stated its a problem with ATi's binary drivers...

I can't use my 64-bit chip to play games in linux because ATi havent released 64-bit drivers yet...

I can't play doom3 properly in linux because ATi's drivers suck for linux..

next card will be an nvidia one .. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
analpain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yes my next one will also be a nvidia card. ATI SUX ASS!!! Excuse my language. :P Im trying to run D3 and i get this error, wichs says nothing.

GL_NUM_INPUT_INTERPOLATOR_COMPONENTS_ATI: 3
FPROG_FAST_PATH
signal caught: Segmentation fault
si_code 1
Trying to exit gracefully..
Shutting down sound hardware
----------- OSS Sound Shutdown -----------
unmap dma sound buffer
close sound device
------------------------------------------
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 1 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum