Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge system fails because autoconf needs perl
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andreasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:57 pm    Post subject: emerge system fails because autoconf needs perl Reply with quote

the emerge system fails, because autoconf can t be emerged, since perl is missing.

If I try to emerge perl manuelly it wants autoconf to be installed so it is a hen/egg problem.

How can I install perl now?

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Tip: Styles ko:nnen schnell zum markierten Text hinzugefu:gt Reply with quote

the solultion was (after looking into the ebuild file) putting -gdbm into the USE Array.

I think howewer that it should be mentioned in the installation document that building from stage2 will fail if you don t have that entry in the use array.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjholden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 826
Location: Augusta, GA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This must be a result of something very, very recently added to portage because I installed Gentoo successfully without this (Stage 1) a week ago and now it won't work using almost exactly the same stuff -- I've added a few USE flags and I've checked those for a possible incompatibility and as far as I know there are no incompatible USE flags.
I'll try this. It's bootstrapping again right now. This makes me sick - I've ton a lot of work by now trying to get Gentoo reinstalled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palsyboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 262
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Tip: Styles ko:nnen schnell zum markierten Text hinzugef Reply with quote

andreasw wrote:
the solultion was (after looking into the ebuild file) putting -gdbm into the USE Array.

My savior! :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ice_Berg_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not an isolated instance, I have the same problem, I'll try the solution, thanks much!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem - I suppose it is hardware related. With an AMD@1k3Hz it worked w/o problems, with a P4@2k8Hz the emrge failed (I think it depends on more than just the CPU...)
With the -gdbm flag it seems to work! Thanks a lot! :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjholden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 826
Location: Augusta, GA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-gdbm works! It's emerging the kernel now -- thanks andreasw!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sram
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:04 am    Post subject: worked for me also Reply with quote

i got same error...thanx buddy...u saved me :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjholden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 826
Location: Augusta, GA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm I just got Gentoo installed using this USE flag and I'm having some serious issues. The boot manager wasn't working properly at first, which probably doesn't have anything to do with this, and when I made the machine boot manually then it gave a few weird errors on startup services, but I think that's because I screwed up my networking. I'll have Gentoo installed by tomorrow (so I keep telling myself) and then I'll get back on what this does later on when you try installing KDE and sh!t.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knotanutt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt it's a hardware problem since emerge system failed in the exact same (and was fixed in the exact same) way for me while doing a U60 (sparc64 machine) install.
_________________
I am the lord of the definite integrals!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justabssplyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had this problem with my x86 install recently. First emerge system dies on autoconf, then if i restart emerge system it starts with perl and fails near the end of the build.

this is a recent problem, though, because i just did an install 2-3 weeks ago on a similar machine and had no difficulties.

has anyone filed a bug report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 182
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is due from libtool depending on autoconf and trying to install them before perl has been installed, autoconf depends on perl witch depends on libtool/db/gdbm/libperl/perl.

I have reported a bug for it so maybe it will be fixed soon on another note if you remove the depend from sys-devel/libtool it should compile fine
_________________
ftp://lila-project.ath.cx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shink
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 58
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this same problem today but was able to build successfully a week ago. This bug has popped up sometime this week - had to reinstall because my Deathstar hard drive finally died two days ago.

On a side note, I did get a nifty 200GB drive from Fry's for $90 no rebates :) This will be a rocking fileserver if I can ever get it built!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Dresden (GER)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snooper wrote:
if you remove the depend from sys-devel/libtool it should compile fine


Thanx for your solution but could you please say how to remove this dependence.
Unfortunately the work around with -gdbm doesn't work so I will try your way.

Regards
d42
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shink
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 58
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After it failed I did this (from memory, I might have errors, I'm a newbie too):


Install PERL without gdbm support

# USE="-gdbm" emerge perl

Install autoconf now that PERL is there

# emerge autoconf

Install gdbm (not sure what this is, database of some sort?)

# emerge gdbm

Then I reinstalled perl so it could use gdbm

# emerge unmerge perl
# emerge perl

Then finish the system

# emerge system


Last edited by Shink on Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my retarted laptop wrote:
Knoppix / # USE="-gdbm" emerge perl
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 14) sys-apps/help2man-1.29 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) help2man-1.29.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking help2man-1.29.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/help2man-1.29/work
>>> Source unpacked.
creating cache ./config.cache
checking for perl... no
configure: error: perl 5.005 required

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/help2man-1.29 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed

Knoppix / # USE="-gdbm" emerge system
Calculating system dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 67) sys-apps/help2man-1.29 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) help2man-1.29.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking help2man-1.29.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/help2man-1.29/work
>>> Source unpacked.
creating cache ./config.cache
checking for perl... no
configure: error: perl 5.005 required

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/help2man-1.29 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed

Knoppix / #




i have NO idea what to do. oh, and this is a stage 2 if it matters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timekeeper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrm... I ran onto this problem last night. I was able to get around it by emerging gdbm first, then perl, then I was able to go back to emerging system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, maybe i'm just a troublemaker, but that did not work for me eithor

Quote:
Knoppix / # emerge gdbm
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 16) sys-apps/help2man-1.29 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) help2man-1.29.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking help2man-1.29.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/help2man-1.29/work
>>> Source unpacked.
creating cache ./config.cache
checking for perl... no
configure: error: perl 5.005 required

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/help2man-1.29 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mixh20
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an FYI the gdbm package is explained here at its homepage http://www.gnu.org/software/gdbm/gdbm.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kojiro
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 245
Location: Rochester

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 3:36 am    Post subject: The Bug Report Reply with quote

Someone did post a bug report.
_________________
>>> Also, customizing emacs can be an exercise in black magic.
>> It's not black magic, it's Lisp.
>There is a difference? :P
Yes, black magic doesn't use parentheses.
--Linux Users' Group of Rochester mailing list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#emerge -O libperl;emerge -O perl

SEEMS to work. i'm sill testing, but i thought i would update you

i plan to "emerge -e system" after this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timekeeper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, I forgot to mention, I used --nodeps on the gdbm emerge, once that was build I got perl to emerge properly, then I remerged gdbm normally after the emerge system was done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
es
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:42 am    Post subject: HELP needed Reply with quote

Hello, unfortunatly I had the same problem during stage2 and didn't noticed this forum. Following the advices on #gentoo I emerged with USE='-ssl' and the perl installation started however I had the emerge stucked again and they adviced to USE='-ssl -gdbm' now the system has stucked again because of ssl:
checking OpenSSL header version... not found
configure: error: OpenSSL version header not found.
!!! ERROR: net-misc/openssh-3.8.1_p1-r1 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed

I made:
emerge --oneshot openssl
but after that emerge system still refuses to merge net-misc/openssh-3.8.1_p1-r1
(with the same error)
this is the only package left from stage 2 installation.

How can I revert this situation and have the ssl support back?
What is gdbm? Do I need it?
I hope I can find a way to solve this without having to restart from stage 1!!! :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kuhrscher
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem last night... I did the following and it workes for me:
Code:
emerge --nodeps gdbm
emerge system
emerge gdbm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mixh20
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also Shink.... Thanks for the workaround :)

I was getting rather confused 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum