Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which Sound module
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 7:46 pm    Post subject: Which Sound module Reply with quote

I can not figure out which option to select in my kernel to get my VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50) to work. I am using gentoo-dev-sources ver.2.6 thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Which Sound module Reply with quote

waldosr wrote:
I can not figure out which option to select in my kernel to get my VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50) to work. I am using gentoo-dev-sources ver.2.6 thank you


snd-via82xx
here is the changes in alsa.conf

Code:

# ALSA config
        alias char-major-116 snd
        alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
        # module options should go here

        # OSS/Free portion
        alias char-major-14 soundcore
        alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
       
        # card #1
        alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
        alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
        alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
        alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
        alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss

_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which emerge should i use alsa-drivers? And will that configure into my bootup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

waldosr wrote:
which emerge should i use alsa-drivers? And will that configure into my bootup?


you dont need to emerge alsa-drivers
just build kernel (ALSA) portion as modules
than load the module thru /etc/modules.d/autoload/kernel-2.6

there is a Howto from Gentoo Docs section, how to install ALSA (specialy on VIA)

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml

after this (very detailed) described steps, u will have sound WAV and MIDI :)
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok will try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was doing alright until I got to this part:
Code:

bash-2.05b# modules-update
bash-2.05b# rc-update add alsasound boot
 * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/alsasound not found; aborting.
bash-2.05b#


Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok got up to the amixer part but it is telling me this. (I am trying to unmute my card) Can someone tell me how to use this program?
Code:

bash-2.05b# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory
bash-2.05b#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

bash-2.05b# alsamixer

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory
bash-2.05b#

This is what I get when I try to run alsamixer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:28 am    Post subject: ALSA Configuratio Reply with quote

U're not do it, as I said:
1st u must recompile the kernel source with alsa part as modules - is it done allready
than:

Code:
emerge alsa-driver


if u want OSS compatibility
do and:

Code:
emerge alsa-oss


finaly install alsa-utils to have amixer and other tools

Code:
emerge alsa-utils


and configuration for ALSA is detailted described in Gentoo DOCS, better doccumentation u will not found everywhere, just read the following link:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml#doc_chap3
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to get through all the steps without a problem. I still don't have sound. Some basic questions. Which module should I load in the kernel. Should I build as a module or built into the kernel(* or M)? What should I put in my alsa file? I think the answers to these questions would really help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

waldosr wrote:
I managed to get through all the steps without a problem. I still don't have sound. Some basic questions. Which module should I load in the kernel. Should I build as a module or built into the kernel(* or M)? What should I put in my alsa file? I think the answers to these questions would really help me.


my suggestion is to built everything by modules
than
in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.x (where X is your kernel version)

simply add
snd-via82xx


than open /etc/modules.d/alsa

and add this lines


[code]
alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
[code]

save the changes
and type /etc/init.d/alsasound restart

(some times is better first to stop than to start services)

check also in /etc/conf.d/alsa for the next line

SAVE_ON_STOP="yes" (this line is to save mixer levels)
[/code]
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On boot it failed to load the snd-via82xx module during auto load. Suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in other way:

emerge hotplug
rc-update add hotplug default
than run it

/etc/init.d/hotplug start

it must load the driver for u
(this works only if case, if u build your kernel drivers as modules, not built in
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

? Don't get this. I didn't see an option for snd-via82xx.

Code:

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/hotplug start
 * Starting input hotplugging...                                          [ ok ]
 * Starting pci hotplugging...
... can't load module snd-via82xx
missing kernel or user mode driver snd-via82xx                            [ ok ]
 * Starting usb hotplugging...                                            [ ok ]
bash-2.05b#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is cos u're not built ALSA as modules in your kernel
go to /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
and under Device...
Sound
ALSA
Built the core as built-in
everything else ISA, PCI, USB as modules (M)
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still get the same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what do u have in /etc/make.conf

do u have emerged alsa-oss alsa-tools alsa-utils ?
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I unmerged all of those. remerged them. Checked my files. And now I get this:
Code:

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound stop
 * ERROR:  "alsasound" has not yet been started.
bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * ALSA Detected...
 * Restoring Mixer Levels
/usr/sbin/alsactl: set_controls:986: snd_ctl_open error: No such file or directory                                                                        [ ok ]
bash-2.05b#

Here is my make.conf like you asked:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
#Netselect is currently unable to handle ipv6, changing to Deep Test
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp:///ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/ http://mirror.datapipe.net/gentoo"
USE="kde"
USE="alsa"
USE="oss"
ALSA_CARDS="via82xx"

And I can't get amixer to work again.
Code:

bash-2.05b# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory
bash-2.05b#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graybeard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Location: a blue state

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

waldosr wrote:

Here is my make.conf like you asked:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
#Netselect is currently unable to handle ipv6, changing to Deep Test
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp:///ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/ http://mirror.datapipe.net/gentoo"
USE="kde"
USE="alsa"
USE="oss"
ALSA_CARDS="via82xx"



To the best of my very limited knowledge, you should put all of your USE variables on one line in make.conf. Otherwise the sequential statements will just replace each other and only the last one will have any effect. Better yet, use ufed to set your USE variables.

Code:

emerge -p ufed
emerge ufed


Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

graybeard wrote:
waldosr wrote:

Here is my make.conf like you asked:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
#Netselect is currently unable to handle ipv6, changing to Deep Test
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp:///ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/ http://mirror.datapipe.net/gentoo"
USE="kde"
USE="alsa"
USE="oss"
ALSA_CARDS="via82xx"



To the best of my very limited knowledge, you should put all of your USE variables on one line in make.conf. Otherwise the sequential statements will just replace each other and only the last one will have any effect. Better yet, use ufed to set your USE variables.

Code:

emerge -p ufed
emerge ufed


Hope that helps.


for the first time i see USE declaration like yours, and why u suggest ufed to other and not use it for yourslef :twisted:

instead of this scared USEs
USE="declaration1"
USE="declaration2"
USE="-declaration3"

use this one

USE="-declaration3 declratation2 declaration1"

always put -declars first, ex -kde -qt gtk gtk2 gnome
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graybeard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Location: a blue state

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do.

I don't understand what you are saying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I looked all over in ufed for something that has to do with my sound card. No luck. So I went ahead and use it.
make.conf:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
#Netselect is currently unable to handle ipv6, changing to Deep Test
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp:///ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/ http://mirror.datapipe.net/gentoo"

USE="3dfx amd audiofile c cdr cdrom codecs dillo divx4linux dvd sndfile \
     -apm -gnome"

Then I remerged exactly the way the gentoo alsa guide says to. Everything worked out well.
Then:
Code:

bash-2.05b# modules-update
bash-2.05b# rc-update add alsasound boot
 * alsasound added to runlevel boot
 * Caching service dependencies...
 * rc-update complete.
bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * ALSA Detected...
 * Restoring Mixer Levels
/usr/sbin/alsactl: set_controls:986: snd_ctl_open error: No such file or directory                                                                        [ ok ]
bash-2.05b# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory
bash-2.05b#bash-2.05b# modules-update
bash-2.05b# rc-update add alsasound boot
 * alsasound added to runlevel boot
 * Caching service dependencies...
 * rc-update complete.
bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * ALSA Detected...
 * Restoring Mixer Levels
/usr/sbin/alsactl: set_controls:986: snd_ctl_open error: No such file or directory                                                                        [ ok ]
bash-2.05b# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory
bash-2.05b#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ep98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about kernel configuration ?
Are u built the kernel manual, or with Genkernel ?

if u're genkernel fan, just re-built it with --menuconfig all

than go to devices/sound/ALSA and be sure, to have the ALSA core Built-in, and all others ISA, PCI, Generic, USB to be built as modules [M]
_________________
If u cant give advice, dont send the helpless to the HOWTO's way or Google.com way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I am manually building my kernel(gentoo-dev-sources 2.6). I there a step that I am missing in the alsa guide. It tells me to skip over the middle section if I have the 2.6 kernel. Am I not doing some step that is required?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcbounce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 86
Location: South Korea

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: check this Reply with quote

I have the same problem.

The answer is so simple. The error message about amixer not being able to run happens in all applications linked to the alsa-lib - including my xine DVD player program, where I first saw this message.

To fix - create the alsa device nodes. I'm installing UDEV to do it, but it shouldn't be too hard to do it. Why doesn't gentoo have a post-install script to create the device nodes?

Oh and i'm not using devfsd - because I'm running selinux. Why? That's what the doco's reconmend. Why's that? I don't know.

Luke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum