Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Slow browsing with *some* pages in linux only
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Slow browsing with *some* pages in linux only Reply with quote

Hey.. up until a few weeks ago, browsing was fine in linux but now, some pages take ages to load... downloading information a bytes a second. I know it's not the ISP at fault as I can browse these pages at full speed with other machines on the network and with windows too. I believe the problem may have started after an emerge world a while back.

At first, I thought that it was only a mozilla problem (was sure konqueror was fine) but now it seems that konqueror suffers the same problem. Thankfully, it's only very few websites - namely forum based sites (Speedguide.net linuxquestions.org).

My MTU is set to 1500 (which is right for a cable connection). I'm not receiving any collisions or errors and downloading files usually run at full speed of my downstream.

Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this kind of problem?

Thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bombs14
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you playing music while surfing sites? I know of one case where if you use an older version of flash/shockwave and you go onto one of those flash/shockwave sites while listening to music, it will seem to be stuck until your music stops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wish the problem was that simple... :(

The pages eventually load... but it takes quite a long time, unfortunately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?

Any kind of suggestion is appreciated. It's really starting to get to me. And the computer won't like me when it gets to me. :evil:

Is there any kind of file in linux which could cause slower browsing speeds? Anything? I feel silly for causing this to happen in the first place and I'm almost certain that it may have originated from an etc-update. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 532
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure your /etc/resolv.conf has proper entries for nameservers.

I have similar problems with Konqueror, however Mozilla and Mozilla-Firefox are very fast.

I found temporary workaround by installing privoxy (emerge privoxy) and setting it up.

Even in passthru mode, it still has a positive effect, this thread has some info as well: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=211449&start=25

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm, it's just frustrating that I didn't have this problem until a few weeks ago :(

Is there anything else that could be causing this problem? I have a second gentoo box right next to me with mozilla which doesn't have this problem (although it hasn't been updated in quite a while).

Do you know of any particular global config in gentoo which could be causing these slow-down issues with browsing? My resolv.conf file is fine. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kernel are you using?

I've got exactly the same problem, with gentoo-dev-2.6.8-r1, I've just rebooted under gentoo-dev-2.6.7-r13 and it's working properly again.

.... need more test results.... any takers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeez - I hope that's it. I'm running 2.6.8-r1.. I'll test as soon as I get back home. I just have to run out. I'll test and update this thread. Watch this space. :)


Oh and thanks for the heads-up, hope you're right :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just gone to gentoo-dev-2.6.8-r3 and it's still the same. Last emerge sync has also provided kdelibs-3.2.3-r2 (from r1) and kdenetwork-3.2.3-r1 (from 3.2.3), still to merge

I'm going to try these next....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can now confirm that the problem definately lies with the kernel. I dropped back to the 2.6.7-r13 version and the problem is gone.

Again, thanks and now, what course of action? A bug report perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerged the updated kdelibs and kdenetwork - still the same...

Submitted a bug : https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=61966
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link - I'll keep tabs on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done a packet capture under 2.6.8 and am confused....

local system is 192.168.1.107, remote is 212.250.5.117
Code:

  9.016523 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 HTTP GET /ServiceStatus/ HTTP/1.1
  9.033419 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 TCP  www > 32827 [ACK] Seq=1 Ack=450 Win=15935 Len=0 TSV=1384836945 TSER=4294934690
  9.055614 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP HTTP/1.1 200 OK
  9.055651 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=222 Win=6912 Len=0 TSV=4294934729 TSER=1384836947
  9.071004 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP Continuation
  9.071059 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=1449 Win=9856 Len=0 TSV=4294934744 TSER=1384836947
  9.082433 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP Continuation
  9.082490 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=2897 Win=12800 Len=0 TSV=4294934756 TSER=1384836947
  9.093560 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP Continuation
  9.099489 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=4345 Win=15616 Len=0 TSV=4294934773 TSER=1384836947
 14.437571 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP Continuation
 14.441839 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=4467 Win=15616 Len=0 TSV=4294940116 TSER=1384836947
 18.932214 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 TCP  www > 32826 [FIN, ACK] Seq=350 Ack=454 Win=16384 Len=0 TSV=1384837935 TSER=4294934631
 18.971866 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32826 > www [ACK] Seq=454 Ack=351 Win=8064 Len=0 TSV=4294944647 TSER=1384837935
 19.905862 212.250.5.117 192.168.1.107 HTTP Continuation
 19.905991 192.168.1.107 212.250.5.117 TCP  32827 > www [ACK] Seq=450 Ack=4589 Win=15616 Len=0 TSV=4294945581 TSER=1384836947


You can see from the timestamps in column 1 there are approx 4 second delay in the data stream. But they seem to be delays in the target server sending the next packet after the previous has been acknowledged, so why does the local kernel version affect the response time of the remote server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 943

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been seaching the lkml and found some similar issues with 2.6.8. Have you tried the following?
Code:
echo "0" >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_window_scaling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/me googles a bit....

You mean this

Works for me... thanks Devon.

Sounds a bit like it's a problem when behind certain firewalls, I'm behind a linksys, what about you breakerfall?

Question is, tcp_window_scaling was 1 in 2.6.7 and that worked fine, so why the different behaviour in 2.6.8?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark Clegg wrote:
/me googles a bit....

You mean this

Works for me... thanks Devon.

Sounds a bit like it's a problem when behind certain firewalls, I'm behind a linksys, what about you breakerfall?

Question is, tcp_window_scaling was 1 in 2.6.7 and that worked fine, so why the different behaviour in 2.6.8?


Ah, so this is a viable fix?
And yes, I'm also behind a linksys router/firewall. It's still a rather strange problem and I don't understand how the fault could lie with the firewall when it was fine in previous kernel versions. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran into these symptoms last night between 12:00-2:00am. Not sure if I emerged something that caused it, but I had been using the same kernel, 2.6.7-r11, for a long time including today. Most hosts would take 30-60 seconds to finally load in Konqueror. Checking mail took 30-60 seconds when it used to be instantaneous. Called my ISP and confirmed that there wasn't something wrong on their end.

Just updated to 2.6.7-r13. Same problem. Tried the tcp_window_scaling trick (setting it to '0'). No help.

This sucks big time. I have a dozen or so boxes I administer at work, and I hope I don't see this creep into them. I am reluctant to update to 2.6.8 since I ran into scads of problems mainly with SATA disks and CD writers. No thanks as those are important to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, I am behind a Netgear web router and switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 532
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gcasillo wrote:
Also, I am behind a Netgear web router and switch.


Have you checked it with mozilla or mozilla-firefox?

I found this somewhere, you could see if it helps:
Code:
sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0
sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_timestamps=0
sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_sack=0


I had to use privoxy to solve the problem for konqueror until it gets fixed, or I find a fix.:(

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I stated in that bug report, I can browse with the lynx text-only browser just fine. However, when I try to browse with Konqueror or even Firefox, I experience the problem. I will try that sysctl trick when I return home later.

Ah, I should also note (and will in the bug report too) that I also had a box running 2.6.7-r11 and kde-3.2.3 todya. No problems whatsoever browsing any sites. But as soon as I updated that box to kde-3.3.0 tonight, BAM, delayed web browsing.

I suspect the problem is in kdenetwork-3.3.0 or perhaps kdelibs-3.3.0, but I'm no code tracer.

...and yet, on my laptop (from which I type this), I am running 2.6.7-r13 and kde-3.3.0 and having no problems whatsoever...

What a wreck of a Monday it's been. :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
breakerfall
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that we have 2 different problems here.

Your issues may lie with kde whilst mine / Mark Glegg's seems to lie with the latest kernel releases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 532
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I HAVE SOLVED IT WHOOHOO

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=62330

If your not using ipv6, kdelibs still tries to do ipv6 lookups first before trying ipv4 lookups.

--with-ipv6-lookup does not appear to be supported in the configure of kdelibs, so for kdelibs having USE="-ipv6" did not do anything.

however adding KDE_NO_IPV6=1
to
/etc/env.d/99kde-env

will fix it, and now sites that would not load, load fast.

Remember, google and grep are your friends. 8)

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are definately two different issues here. the IPV6 fix does not fix my problem (and probably breakerfalls), I tried that earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mozilla is working for me. Konqueror is not. Additionally, I can't check mail without this long ass delay.

The KDE_NO_IPV6=1 did nothing for me. You may be on to the root of the problem though, thumper. Thanks for offering the tip.

Looks like 3.3.1 should be a pretty quick release, because this is a showstopper. Or do they go the Linux route and call it 3.3.0.1? :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here ... I get very slow updates in firefox with the nitro6 2.5.8.1 kernel, where as 2.6.7ck doesn't give this problem.

I don't have any KDE apps installed at all, with no libs ..... ?!
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum