Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
QT emerge segmentation fault
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaNope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: QT emerge segmentation fault Reply with quote

Hi folks

I had the listboxeditor.cpp segfault problem and moved

/usr/qt/3 to /usr/qt/3.old

now emerge qt segfaults with

Code:

g++ -c -pipe -fno-exceptions -w -O2 -D_REENTRANT  -DQT_INTERNAL_NETWORK -DQT_INTERNAL_XML -DQT_TABLET_SUPPORT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_SHARED -I/var/tmp/portage/qt-3.3.3/work/qt-x11-free-3.3.3/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../../include -I/usr/X11R6/include -I.moc/release-shared-mt/ -o .obj/release-shared-mt/mainwindow.o mainwindow.cpp
/var/tmp/portage/qt-3.3.3/work/qt-x11-free-3.3.3/bin/uic -L /var/tmp/portage/qt-3.3.3/work/qt-x11-free-3.3.3/plugins topicchooser.ui -i topicchooser.h -o topicchooser.cpp
make[2]: *** [topicchooser.cpp] Segmentation fault
make[2]: *** Deleting file `topicchooser.cpp'
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/qt-3.3.3/work/qt-x11-free-3.3.3/tools/assistant'
make[1]: *** [sub-assistant] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/qt-3.3.3/work/qt-x11-free-3.3.3/tools'
make: *** [sub-tools] Error 2

!!! ERROR: x11-libs/qt-3.3.3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 125, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


It is not a ram problem and not a swap problem!

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

DaNope

P.S.:
Code:

bash-2.05b# emerge info
Portage 2.0.50-r9 (default-ppc-2004.1, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.3.20040420-r1, 2.6.7-gentoo-r11)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.7-gentoo-r11 ppc 745/755
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="ppc"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mcpu=750 -fno-strict-aliasing"
CHOST="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/ /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mcpu=750 -fno-strict-aliasing"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="ccache"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://mir.zyrianes.net/gentoo/"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X aalib alsa arts crypt cscope cups dga directfb divx4linux dri dvd encode esd foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome-libs gpm gtk gtk2 imlib java jpeg jpg kde libwww mitshm motif mpeg nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam perl pic png ppc prelink python qt readline scanner sdl slang slp ssl tcltk tcpd tetex tiff truetype v4l v4l2 xml xml2 xmms xv xvid zlib"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshualk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Same problem here Reply with quote

I'm actually having the exact same problem. I'm thinking of reinstalling with the new 2004.2 LiveCD.

Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
osguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same issue with QT segfaulting on 2004.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silian87
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 2318
Location: Treviso, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mcpu=750 -fno-strict-aliasing"


-O3 8O Is too much! O3 is unstable on ppc, use O2

Perhaps try to use gcc 3.2 instead of gcc 3.3 (only for qt). (are you using gcc 3.3? )
_________________
Musica che ascolto: http://www.last.fm/user/silian87/

Silian87 FAQs: http://marentax.homelinux.org/~silian87/silian87-faq.txt

GTalk: silian87@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshualk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:57 pm    Post subject: Duplicate Reply with quote

This is a duplicate post. Sorry.

Last edited by joshualk on Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshualk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:58 pm    Post subject: Use GCC 3.2 Reply with quote

Using GCC 3.2.3 was the solution for me. When I downgraded, Qt compiled beautifully. I'm now on my way to KDE 3.3. :)

Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cayenne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 945
Location: New Orleans

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:47 pm    Post subject: Changing compilers? Reply with quote

silian87 wrote:

Perhaps try to use gcc 3.2 instead of gcc 3.3 (only for qt). (are you using gcc 3.3? )


Pardon a noob question here. But, with regards to the gcc downgrade suggestion. Would if first emerge gcc3.2...it down grades from 3.3. Then, emerge qt, then emerge -u gcc3.3?

Or, is there a way to have both versions on your system, and change a setting somewhere to switch between them?

Thanks in advance,

cayenne :roll:
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cayenne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 945
Location: New Orleans

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:07 pm    Post subject: Anyone? Reply with quote

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
:-)

I've seen some say if I dropped down to gcc 3.23, I can compile qt, then upgrade back to 3.3.0.

I'm still confused if I have to emerge/unmerge back and forth or if both can be on my system same time and I do something at command line to change them.

Also, what about going UP in gcc versions? With the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc" emerge -p gcc it shows that it would give me gcc-3.4.1-r2. Would this work on ppc? I thought I'd seen a blurb on another post that the 2004.2 livecd had gcc-3.3.4.

What looks like the best choice to get pt compiled? I'm trying to emerge kde...and this is a stopping point. I don't see much in my searches on how to best remedy this...

TIA,

cayenne
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
osguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mounted the packages CD, installed the QT binary, and am off and running with my kde emerge again.

I was feeling impatient, and didn't feel like installing 3.2.3 to make QT happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum