Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
All cpu's not used while emerging after linux26-headers?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
preacher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:06 pm    Post subject: All cpu's not used while emerging after linux26-headers? Reply with quote

I recently rebuilt my test/play-machine, a SGI 540 with four 500 mhz Xeon processors (which means that this SGI is an x86) to use linux26-headers and nptl.

So far what I've noticed is that the machine doesn't seem to utilize all processors while emerging anymore, even though I have MAKEOPTS="-j5"
Edit add: (This is after bootstrapping, emerge system, and rebooting using a smp-built kernel, not while.)

With the old install, using standard linux-headers and no nptl, emerging something set all cpu's off to 90-100% (quite a view, I might add ;)).
Now it seems to be content using one cpu at full, or perhaps two at around 40-60% each (this is according to top).

I've tried higher settings of MAKEOPTS, but it doesnt seem to make a difference.

Here are some statistics from emerging gthumb:

MAKEOPTS="-j5", helped by distcc-machine, 2.8Ghz Dell
real 6m5.656s
user 5m48.947s
sys 2m52.046s

MAKEOPTS="-j10", helped by distcc-machine, 2.8Ghz Dell

real 6m9.392s
user 5m53.670s
sys 2m50.008s

MAKEOPTS="-j5", no distcc
real 8m50.460s
user 12m42.717s
sys 2m54.164s

MAKEOPTS="-j8", no distcc

real 8m41.057s
user 12m42.538s
sys 2m53.247s

What could this be? Could it be totally unrelated to linux26-headers? It doesn't seem likely, since that's all I've changed with this install.

Since linux26-headers from what I understand handles threads better, should I go totally nuts with MAKEOPTS?

This is my current emerge --info:
Code:
Portage 2.0.50-r9 (default-x86-2004.2, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.3.20040420-r1, 2.6.7-gentoo-r13)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.7-gentoo-r13 i686 Pentium III (Katmai)
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16
distcc 2.13 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [enabled]
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -frename-registers -fprefetch-loop-arrays"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -frename-registers -fprefetch-loop-arrays"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs ccache distcc sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://ds.thn.htu.se/linux/gentoo http://trumpetti.atm.tut.fi/gentoo http://gentoo.mirror.sdv.fr"
MAKEOPTS="-j10"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.europe.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X avi berkdb bonobo crypt cups directfb divx esd evo fam fbdev foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome gpg gtk gtk2 icq imap imlib jpeg ldap libg++ libwww mad mikmod mmx motif mozilla moznocompose moznoirc moznomail mozsvg mp3 mpeg msn ncurses nls nptl oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl png python quicktime readline samba sdl slang smp spell sse ssl svga tcpd tiff truetype wmf x86 xine xml2 xv zlib"


Last edited by preacher on Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you boot the LiveCD with the SMP-enabled kernel?
Code:
# gentoo-smp
(iirc) at the LiveCD prompt
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
preacher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, my original post was not clear enough.
I've done with bootstrapping and emerging system, and have booted my Gentoo-system using an smp-enabled kernel (with max processors set to four, not eight which is the default).

The SGI 540 has a special boot-loader that makes it impossible to boot with the live-cd (or any other cd for that matter), so I had to install an old version of slackware and then chroot from there. This SGI may be x86, but it is NOT a PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seventhguardian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 261
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Not sure about this, but I read somwhere that nptl was ONLY for single cpu machines. I believe that excludes your machine..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPelerin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Check of your OS discovered all CPU's Reply with quote

After a fresh reboot, could you type the following command?


dmesg | egrep CPU
ACPI: Processor [CPU1] (supports C1)
ACPI: Processor [CPU2] (supports C1)

As you can see in my case, it show CPU discovered by the kernel
_________________
Olivier PELERIN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
preacher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:54 am    Post subject: Re: Check of your OS discovered all CPU's Reply with quote

Hi guys, sorry for the somewhat late reply.

seventhguardian wrote:
Hi!

Not sure about this, but I read somwhere that nptl was ONLY for single cpu machines. I believe that excludes your machine..


I have never read about anything like this. Could someone please confirm or deny?

OPelerin wrote:
After a fresh reboot, could you type the following command?


dmesg | egrep CPU
ACPI: Processor [CPU1] (supports C1)
ACPI: Processor [CPU2] (supports C1)

As you can see in my case, it show CPU discovered by the kernel


My result from the above command is:
Code:
sgi540 src # dmesg | egrep CPU
Bootup CPU #0 6:7 APIC version 17
CPU #1 6:7 APIC version 17
CPU #2 6:7 APIC version 17
CPU #3 6:7 APIC version 17
Initializing CPU#0
masked ExtINT on CPU#0
CPU 0 irqstacks, hard=c032f000 soft=c032b000
CPU:     After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU:     After vendor identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
CPU: L2 cache: 512K
CPU:     After all inits, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
CPU0: Intel Pentium III (Katmai) stepping 02
per-CPU timeslice cutoff: 1462.08 usecs.
masked ExtINT on CPU#0
CPU 1 irqstacks, hard=c0330000 soft=c032c000
Initializing CPU#1
masked ExtINT on CPU#1
CPU:     After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU:     After vendor identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
CPU: L2 cache: 512K
CPU:     After all inits, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
CPU1: Intel Pentium III (Katmai) stepping 02
CPU 2 irqstacks, hard=c0331000 soft=c032d000
Initializing CPU#2
masked ExtINT on CPU#2
CPU:     After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU:     After vendor identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
CPU: L2 cache: 512K
CPU:     After all inits, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
CPU2: Intel Pentium III (Katmai) stepping 02
CPU 3 irqstacks, hard=c0332000 soft=c032e000
Initializing CPU#3
masked ExtINT on CPU#3
CPU:     After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU:     After vendor identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
CPU: L2 cache: 512K
CPU:     After all inits, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
CPU3: Intel Pentium III (Katmai) stepping 02
..... CPU clock speed is 501.0076 MHz.
checking TSC synchronization across 4 CPUs:
BIOS BUG: CPU#0 improperly initialized, has -17096915 usecs TSC skew! FIXED.
BIOS BUG: CPU#1 improperly initialized, has 5698971 usecs TSC skew! FIXED.
BIOS BUG: CPU#2 improperly initialized, has 5698971 usecs TSC skew! FIXED.
BIOS BUG: CPU#3 improperly initialized, has 5698971 usecs TSC skew! FIXED.
Brought up 4 CPUs
CPU0:  online
CPU1:  online
CPU2:  online
CPU3:  online


It does not say the exact same thing as your post, but to me it atleast looks like the cpus were initialized properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPelerin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Kernel & NTPL Reply with quote

According to your ouput, your kernel detected all CPU's. Nevertherless that do not means the scheduler is using them. I got some extra questions. I'm not familiar with NPTL.


Have you installed your kernel & NPTL like explained in this site?

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gentoo_2004.2_for_linux_2.6_and_NPTL


Have you tried to revert back & remove NPTL?[/url]
_________________
Olivier PELERIN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum