Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox Information / Customizing / Hacking / Screenshots
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Firefox Information / Customizing / Hacking / Screenshots Reply with quote

I'm hoping this post is going to create a central respository of information on Firefox. If you reply to this post, please follow the format which is outlined below.

Firstly though, here are a few helpful links:
Firefox Extensions @ Texturizer
Firefox Themes @ Texturizer
Mozilla Update (Themes / Extensions)

Customizing Mozilla
Firefox Tips & Tricks

A few more customizing sites...
http://www.geocities.com/pratiksolanki/
http://www.mozilla.org/unix/customizing.html#prefs
http://farrokhi.net/blog/archives/000235.html

If you have any links for me to add to this list, just put them in your post :)

Okay, now thats out of the way, here is a sample outline for you to use when posting!

Note: This isnt actually *my* information, it is just example information. I will be posting mine below.

First up, post your Firefox version.

Firefox 0.9.1

Secondly, post information on any theme(s) you are using:

Themes
GTK: Industrial
Firefox: Default

Thirdly, list your extensions, preferably with URLs.

Extensions
Cute Menus
Tabbrowser Extensions

Next up, post your userChrome.css, userContent.css, user.js, and any other files you have hacked up in a code block.

userChrome.css
Code:
/* Your userChrome.css here */


userContent.css
Code:
/* Your userContent.css here */


user.js
Code:
// Your user.js here


Finally, post your screenshot and then any questions / requests you may have.

A good URL to use in your screenshot is either the Firefox start page or the Gentoo homepage

Here is my screenshot

Request
How do I enable feature X in Firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's my Firefox stuff :)

Firefox 0.9.1

Themes
GTK: Industrial
Firefox: Default

Extensions
Cute Menus
Add Bookmark Here
Focus Last Selected Tab
Needlesearch Toolbar
Tabbrowser Preferences Lite
MiniT
UndoCloseTab
Tab X
keyconfig
undoclosetab
mozImage
Show Failed URL
Compact Menu

userChrome.css
Code:
/* Remove the close button on the tab bar */
.tabs-closebutton {
      display: none !important;
}

/* Always show Style Sheet Switcher icon in status bar */
#page-theme-button {
      display: -moz-box !important;
      list-style-image: url(chrome://browser/skin/page-themes.png);
      padding: 0px 3px;
}

/* Display the Tab bar at the bottom */
#content > tabbox {
      -moz-box-direction: reverse;
}

/* Shrink tab titles by 10% */
.tabbrowser-tabs .tab-text {
      font-size: 90%;
}

/* Disable the drop down arrow  - Location bar */
.autocomplete-history-dropmarker {
      display: none !important;
}
/* Disable the drop down arrow - Forward / Back buttons */
.toolbarbutton-menubutton-dropmarker {
      display: none !important;
}

/* Disable icons for greyed menu items - Cute Menus */
menuitem[disabled=true] > hbox > image {
      visibility: hidden !important;
}


userContent.css
Code:
/* Hilight links which will try to open in a new window */
/* This gives a red background on the link, and also the "crosshair" moise pointer on hover */
:link:hover[target="_blank"], :visited:hover[target="_blank"],
:link:hover[target="_new"],   :visited:hover[target="_new"] {
  color: white !important;
   background: red !important;
   cursor: crosshair;
}


user.js
Code:
// Font Stuff
// TrueType
user_pref ("font.FreeType2.enable", true);
user_pref ("font.freetype2.shared-library", "libfreetype.so.6");
// if libfreetype was built without hinting compiled in
// it is best to leave hinting off
user_pref ("font.FreeType2.autohinted", true);

user_pref ("font.FreeType2.unhinted", true);
// below a certian pixel size anti-aliased fonts produce poor results
user_pref ("font.antialias.min",        0);
user_pref ("font.embedded_bitmaps.max", 1000000);
user_pref ("font.scale.tt_bitmap.dark_text.min", 0);
user_pref ("font.scale.tt_bitmap.dark_text.gain", "0.0");
// sample user_pref s for TrueType font dirs
user_pref ("font.directory.truetype.1", "/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera");
user_pref ("font.directory.truetype.2", "/usr/share/fonts/TTF");
user_pref ("font.directory.truetype.3", "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts");
user_pref ("font.directory.truetype.4", "/usr/share/fonts/freetype");
user_pref ("font.directory.truetype.5", "/usr/share/fonts/ttf");
user_pref ("font.FreeType2.printing", true);


// Instead of annoying error dialog messages, display pages
user_pref("browser.xul.error_pages.enabled", true);


// More DOM/JavaScript options 
// Make sure all pop-up windows are resizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.resizable", true);
// Make sure all pop-up windows are minimizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.minimizable", true); 
// Always display the menu in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.menubar", true); 
// Always display the Navigation Toolbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.location", true);
// Always display the scrollbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.scrollbars", true);

// Put an end to blinking text!
user_pref("browser.blink_allowed", false);

// This one makes a huge difference. Last value in milliseconds (default is 250)
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

// Enable pipelining:
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 100);


Finally, you can find my screenshot here

Requests
Does anyone know of something similar to Galeon's MyPortal page for Firefox?

Is it possible to move menu items to another menu? (I want to move Help -> About into the Tools menu, since I use Compact Menu (see above) to hide the Help menu.

Can you hide the drop down arrow on the "Back" and "Forward" buttons? Like I have done for the Location bar... FIXED.
Figured out and added to my userChrome.css, above.

Is there any way to make middle click in the "content" area load the URL from the clipboard (which it does now), but still allowing middle click on a tab to close the tab?

nagash.


Last edited by nagash- on Mon Jul 05, 2004 1:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

90 views -- doesnt anyone have *something* to add? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i *really* like the compactmenu button. my only gripe with it is that now i need two clicks to get at my bookmarks. is there an extension out there to just fold out the bookmarks from some button?
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there just a bookmarks button which you can add to a toolbar. Or does that load in the sidebar? I cant remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
Isn't there just a bookmarks button which you can add to a toolbar. Or does that load in the sidebar? I cant remember.


yes, there is. but that loads (as you so correctly suspect) the bloody sidebar. grmbl.
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamagurka wrote:
i *really* like the compactmenu button. my only gripe with it is that now i need two clicks to get at my bookmarks. is there an extension out there to just fold out the bookmarks from some button?


x2!

I have everything in a single line across the top so I love compact menu. I wish I could just put the 5 menu items I actually used in 1 dropdown. It's even worse with cluttered menus now that they moved preferences under edit which I used to remove completely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gtk theme: none
firefox theme: none
extensions: mouse gestures


snapshot:
http://ikaro.dk/tmp/2004-07-05-19-26_1600x1200.png
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heres a tip for anyone serious about hacking their userChrome.css:

Browse to [url]chrome://browser/content/browser.xul[/url], fire up the DOM Inspector (Tools -> DOM Inspector) and get to work. You can find all the CSS properties of your toolbars and stuff with it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
Heres a tip for anyone serious about hacking their userChrome.css:

Browse to [url]chrome://browser/content/browser.xul[/url], fire up the DOM Inspector (Tools -> DOM Inspector) and get to work. You can find all the CSS properties of your toolbars and stuff with it. :)


How do you save the changes that you make with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just need a little CSS know how. Put the changes you make into userChrome.css (in your chrome directory, usually ~/.mozilla/firefox/default.xxx/chrome

For example, to completely get rid of the location bar you would do something like

Code:
#urlbar-container {
display: none !important;
}


If you know CSS its very easy, if you dont it still isnt too hard, just take a look at my userChrome.css posted above and I'm sure you can figure it out.

The !important tells firefox to use this style rule over any other rule specified by itself / a web page, or whatever.

Another example, changing font of tabs:
Code:
tab {
font-family: aquafont, Bitstream Vera Sans, Serif !important;
font-size: 0.9em !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
}


Dont quote me on those examples as I'm at work so dont have time to test them, but off the top of my head they are right.


Last edited by nagash- on Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heres another tip, if you already have too many extensions and dont feel like bloating up your browser too much, you can still get rid of menus (instead of using Compact Menus extension) like this..

Code:

/* Remove the Go and Help menus
   (These are just examples. Try changing "Go" to "Edit" or "Bookmarks") */
menu[label="Go"], menu[label="Help"] {
   display: none !important;
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anfpunk wrote:
kamagurka wrote:
i *really* like the compactmenu button. my only gripe with it is that now i need two clicks to get at my bookmarks. is there an extension out there to just fold out the bookmarks from some button?


x2!

I have everything in a single line across the top so I love compact menu. I wish I could just put the 5 menu items I actually used in 1 dropdown. It's even worse with cluttered menus now that they moved preferences under edit which I used to remove completely.


Hm, you could always just create a folder called "Bookmarks" or similar in the Bookmarks Toolbar Folder, and just put all your bookmarks in that instead.

Then it works like this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
You just need a little CSS know how. Put the changes you make into userChrome.css (in your chrome directory, usually ~/.mozilla/firefox/default.xxx/chrome

For example, to completely get rid of the location bar you would do something like

Code:
#urlbar-container {
display: none !important;
}


If you know CSS its very easy, if you dont it still isnt too hard, just take a look at my userChrome.css posted above and I'm sure you can figure it out.

The !important tells firefox to use this style rule over any other rule specified by itself / a web page, or whatever.

Another example, changing font of tabs:
[code]tab {
font-family: aquafont, Bitstream Vera Sans, Serif !important;
font-size: 0.9em !important;
font-weight: bold !important;

Dont quote me on those examples as I'm at work so dont have time to test them, but off the top of my head they are right.


Thanks for the help. I dont think I'll be able to get it setup how I want though. Basically I want the menu shown in this example to only have these options in this order.

title = "Menu"
Bookmarks menu
Save Page As
Preferences
Downloads
Extensions
Themes

No other menu items would be available. With the DOM inspector I could figure out the keys and how to begin to make the changes. Not sure how'd I write it out.

www.anfpunk.net/i/comp/firefox.png[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmm, I don't think you can really move menu items about and stuff using just CSS. I wouldnt mind doing it myself, havent looked into it much tho.

My guess is it'll require an extension tho. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I've got it. I customized my menu for you anfpunk :)

How does this look?

Thats in Windows tho, when I get home I'll keep playing (Bookmarks doesnt work properly yet) in Linux, and let you know how to do it when I'm done :)

I wouldnt be surprised if it kills at least a few extensions tho (and quite possibly your browser) :)


Last edited by nagash- on Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
Okay, I've got it. I customized my menu for you anfpunk :)

How does this look?

Thats in Windows tho, when I get home I'll keep playing (Bookmarks doesnt work properly yet) in Linux, and let you know how to do it when I'm done :)


That is perfect! Did you use css for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, definately not. I extracted browser.jar (/usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/chrome/browser.jar I think) and then hacked up browser.xul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
No, definately not. I extracted browser.jar (/usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/chrome/browser.jar I think) and then hacked up browser.xul


Haha, I'll mess around with some stuff. I was messing with the source of Skipstone trying to get it setup with only 1 menu item and it kept crashing on me. Referenced too many places.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anfpunk wrote:
nagash- wrote:
No, definately not. I extracted browser.jar (/usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/chrome/browser.jar I think) and then hacked up browser.xul


Haha, I'll mess around with some stuff. I was messing with the source of Skipstone trying to get it setup with only 1 menu item and it kept crashing on me. Referenced too many places.


The parts you want to edit is everything between

Code:
<menubar id="main-menubar" statusbar="statusbar-display" style="border:0px;padding:0px;margin:0px;-moz-appearance:none">

and
Code:
</menubar>


Heres what I did (I dont know if Windows and Linux are the same)

Code:
<menubar id="main-menubar" statusbar="statusbar-display"
      style="border:0px;padding:0px;margin:0px;-moz-appearance:none">
      <menu label="Menu">
      <menupopup>

      <menu id="bookmarks-menu" label="&bookmarksMenu.label;" accesskey="&bookmarksMenu.accesskey;"
                  datasources="rdf:bookmarks rdf:files rdf:localsearch"
                  ref="NC:BookmarksRoot" flags="dont-test-empty"
                  template='bookmarks-template'
                  onpopupshowing="BookmarksMenu.showOpenInTabsMenuItem(event.target)"
                  onpopuphidden="BookmarksMenu.hideOpenInTabsMenuItem(event.target)"
                  oncommand="BookmarksMenu.loadBookmark(event, event.target, this.database)"
                  onclick="BookmarksMenu.loadBookmarkMiddleClick(event, this.database)"
                  ondraggesture="nsDragAndDrop.startDrag(event, BookmarksMenuDNDObserver)"
                  ondragdrop="nsDragAndDrop.drop(event, BookmarksMenuDNDObserver); event.preventBubble()"
                  ondragenter="nsDragAndDrop.dragEnter(event, BookmarksMenuDNDObserver); event.preventBubble()"
                  ondragexit="nsDragAndDrop.dragExit(event, BookmarksMenuDNDObserver); event.preventBubble()"
                  ondragover="nsDragAndDrop.dragOver(event, BookmarksMenuDNDObserver); event.preventBubble()">
              <menupopup contextmenu='bookmarks-context-menu'>
                <menuitem key="addBookmarkAsKb"
                          label="&addCurPageAsCmd.label;"
                          accesskey="&addCurPageAsCmd.accesskey;"
                          command="Browser:AddBookmarkAs"/>
                <menuitem key="manBookmarkKb"
                          label="&manBookmarksCmd.label;"
                          accesskey="&manBookmarksCmd.accesskey;"   
                          oncommand="toOpenWindowByType('bookmarks:manager', 'chrome://browser/content/bookmarks/bookmarksManager.xul');"/>
                <menuseparator/>
              </menupopup>
      </menu>

      <menuitem label="&savePageCmd.label;" accesskey="&savePageCmd.accesskey;" key="key_savePage" command="Browser:SavePage"/>

      <menuitem id="menu_preferences"
                        label="&preferencesCmd.label;"
                        accesskey="&preferencesCmd.accesskey;"
         oncommand="openPreferences();"/>
   <menuitem label="&downloads.label;" accesskey="&downloads.accesskey;"
      key="key_openDownloads" command="Tools:Downloads"/>

   <menuitem label="&extensions.label;" accesskey="&extensions.accesskey;"
                        command="Tools:Extensions"/>
              <menuitem label="&themes.label;" accesskey="&themes.accesskey;"
            command="Tools:Themes"/>

         </menupopup>
         </menu>
      </menubar>


The Bookmarks menu doesnt work properly (at least, it didn't for me)

And I've noticed some of my extensions arent working, nor are my Back/Forward/Stop buttons. Gonna take a bit of effort to get it working nicely I think.

Now that I think about it, maybe if you leave the File/Edit/etc menus in browser.xul and then just hide them in userChrome.css with display: none !important; then stuff might not break, since the menus are essentially still there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So basically just make everything one large menu and then hide it with css. I noticed when looking through the DOM inspector that each entry had functions in them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anfpunk wrote:
So basically just make everything one large menu and then hide it with css. I noticed when looking through the DOM inspector that each entry had functions in them.


Just leave everything in <menubar ...> ... </menubar>, and just add your "new" menu at the end. (ie. just before </menubar>)

Then you just go like this in userChrome.css
Code:

menu[label="File"], menu[label="Go"], menu[label="Help"] {
   display: none !important;
}

etc.. for all the menus except your new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now please be quiet and stop distracting me, I really *must* do some work, or my head is going to be on the chopping block. I'll be around later to help you out :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, okay, I couldn't help myself.

I've got everything working now, here it is.

Here is browser.jar

You put this file in /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/chrome/
BUT, PLEASE backup your browser.jar first.

I know it works in Windows, I dont have access to Linux at work so if it doesnt work, sorry you'll have to wait till I get home :(

Now, this goes in <profiledir>/userChrome.css
Code:
menu[label="File"], menu[label="Edit"], menu[label="View"],
menu[label="Go"], menu[label="Tools"],  menu[label="Help"],
menu[label="Bookmarks"] {
   display: none !important;
}


Start up Firefox, enjoy your new menu!

Happy hacking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone else would like me to make them a menu, or wants me to try and screw with anything else, just ask :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum