Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moz Firefox 0.9 (all versions) general discussion thread.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:14 pm    Post subject: Moz Firefox 0.9 (all versions) general discussion thread. Reply with quote

http://developers.slashdot.org/developers/04/06/09/1718224.shtml?tid=126&tid=154&tid=185&tid=95

...so where's my ebuild :?: :oops:


EDIT: Changed title. Original was "Moz Firefox 0.9 RC 1 is out!" --pjp
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

submit one

[rant] next person who demands and ebuild will be shot on sight. [/rant]

i am pretty sure you were kidding but this is one of the most annoying things about some people in the gentoo community.

[edit] i can't spell [/edit]


Last edited by allucid on Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:51 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aethyr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1085
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using it already, I made 3 tweaks:

1) Download and Install Qute: http://quadrone.org/graphics
2) Right click on the button toolbar and click Customize, then check the "Small Icons" checkbox
3) Change the following items in classic.jar/skin/classic/browser/browser.css
Code:
.toolbarbutton-1, .toolbarbutton-menubutton-button { padding: 3px; }

.toolbarbutton-1[checked="true"], .toolbarbutton-1[open="true"], .toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[checked="true"], .toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[open="true"] { padding: 4px 2px 2px 4px !important; }


Much better! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superjaded
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, only heard about the release of 0.9RC a few hours ago and I'm already tired of people complaining about the less-than-stellar new default theme. -_-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok a few notes here.
I had some problems with launching urls as it seems they've changed some things.

I linked /usr/bin/firefox > /opt/firefox/firefox
I replaced the .9rc /opt/firefox/firefox with one from this bug:
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=177996#c79
and all is working fine.
You can comment out line 188 and uncomment line 189 if you want urls to open in a new tab instead of a new window.

This is with firefox-bin but I imagine it's the same with the compiled version.

Info found here.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=83322
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=83011

Oh another thing, the profile directory is now under ~/.mozilla/firefox/ instead of ~/.phoenix/ . On first launch it copies your old bookmarks, history, etc over to the new location.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timmfin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 336
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you guys install manually, do a ebuild rename, or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried renaming the ebuild, but portage says it's an "unsubscribable object".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed manually since I use the pre-built version anyway. I renamed /opt/firefox for a backup for now.

I'm not sure what changed but the menu fonts match thunderbird again. They were just slightly bigger but now everything is a little smaller and match. Also the page fonts are different looking/size again but problably match what they should look like.
Here's a screencap of the forums index page and my font settings.
http://firephoto.spymac.net/firefoxfonts.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just replaced /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox with it and I can say a few things from using it.

1) Loads up much faster[took 4s and now takes about 1s] and it's binary VS the other one which I compiled so....
2) Pages load faster

Version 0.9-rc1 is already looking like something that can totally bury IE. Version 0.9 will definitely be something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superjaded
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
Version 0.9-rc1 is already looking like something that can totally bury IE. Version 0.9 will definitely be something else.


Heh, that wasn't the case for the last.. well since its first release? ;)
I really don't think the quality of the software is what's keeping IE in domination. It's the simple fact that people don't see any real reason to change from the browser than their OS comes from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to mention that during a "save" or "open" operation the "go up a level" and "go to home" and "create new directory" buttons don't have icons. Incomplete theme?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_strange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 480
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

firephoto wrote:
I forgot to mention that during a "save" or "open" operation the "go up a level" and "go to home" and "create new directory" buttons don't have icons. Incomplete theme?


Maybe the themes haven't yet caught up with the new release.
_________________
shine on,

dr_strange

Set the Controls for the Heart of Gentoo
http://magenta.linuxforum.hu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superjaded
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading some of the posts on MozillaZine and /., the change to the new theme seems to have been rather abrupt and Winstripe is "highly unfinished" at best at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krdp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dowloaded the tar.gz lastnight and I must say things are look pretty good. I know the new theme is not done yet, the only thing I dislike about it so far are the size of the icons. But I know that can be config, also I hardly use mozilla's or firefox defaults themes anyway. All in all this is shaping up to be a good release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syzar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fell in love with new theme and extension managers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barcodez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just used the binary installer and installed it for the time being in a subdirectory of my home directory. Once some clever sod makes an ebuild I'll delete it and repoint my desktop icons.

This is the best release yet - high praise indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlward4th
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:29 am    Post subject: Firefox 0.9 rc1 from source!!! Reply with quote

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert, just somehow figured this out.

I just couldn't wait... I wanted a source build of Firefox 0.9 rc1 now... So here are some not-so verbose instructions.

If you don't have a PORTAGE_OVERLAY you should probably create one. I won't go into detail. If you don't know, search the forums or google.

Copy the mozilla-firefox-0.8-r3.ebuild to mozilla-firefox-0.9_rc1.ebuild in the correct overlay dir. Edit the ebuild and comment out the patches since they won't work with this release.

Get the correct source from Mozilla's cvs (since as of now there isn't a source distribution of 0.9 rc1 yet).
I did this:
Code:
export CVSROOT=":pserver:anonymous@cvs-mirror.mozilla.org:/cvsroot"
cvs login
cvs co -r FIREFOX_0_9_RC1 mozilla

Create your firefox-source-0.9_rc1.tar.bz2 file of the mozilla dir.
Copy it to /usr/portage/distfiles
Create the digests.
Update / Install firefox 0.9 rc1 via emerge or ebuild
Try to start it.
I had problems starting it the first time I think because it wanted to create some files / dirs in /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox
So, I did a "sudo su - root" then ran "firefox" and it came up. :)
I then closed it and exited my root shell and ran "firefox" as me and it worked.

BTW: I have been calling it rc1 because that is how cvs is labeled despite mozilla.org just calling it "rc".

Have fun and if you have questions I will try to answer them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Match
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 117
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Syzar"]I fell in love with new theme[/quote]

So did I. I'm surprised no-one seems to think it's an improvement. Unfinished, sure, but it's not a final release :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UclaBob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

D'oh....I've been emerging KDE 3.2.3 for the last couple of hours.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

superjaded wrote:
Heh, only heard about the release of 0.9RC a few hours ago and I'm already tired of people complaining about the less-than-stellar new default theme. -_-

UGLY UGLY!

Even Qute is different from the theme, the house changed. And why did they move the menus around now? I've gotten used to Tools > blah and now they moved it back to Edit
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the new theme too but it's missing some parts for me. No icons on the open/save window buttons for new folder, up a folder, etc.

I installed the Plastikfox Crystal SVG theme and now things look more like the rest of my desktop.
http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=11442

Not sure if this link is the most updated but it's what I installed from and it says version 1.1
http://www.texturizer.net/firefox/themes/#Plastikfox%20Crystal%20SVG

Qute was ok but I don't think it was the best theme either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

superjaded wrote:
Pwnz3r wrote:
Version 0.9-rc1 is already looking like something that can totally bury IE. Version 0.9 will definitely be something else.


Heh, that wasn't the case for the last.. well since its first release? ;)
I really don't think the quality of the software is what's keeping IE in domination. It's the simple fact that people don't see any real reason to change from the browser than their OS comes from.


I think it has to do with the un-seemless integration. Such as clicking an MP3 by default wants to save to disk in Firefox for windows. It should automatically try to import all the mime info from IE, or at least ask you.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superjaded
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stonent wrote:
superjaded wrote:
Heh, only heard about the release of 0.9RC a few hours ago and I'm already tired of people complaining about the less-than-stellar new default theme. -_-

UGLY UGLY!

I don't know, I think Winstripe 0.1 looks a whole lot better than Qute 0.1 looked. But at the same time, the only other thing I can say is "...". :)

Quote:
I've gotten used to Tools > blah and now they moved it back to Edit


More HIGification I can only assume. I think it's still in the same location in Windows and Mac, just like the "OK" and "Cancel" buttons are in the "traditional" order in the Windows build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fanatic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Stocktown

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone wanna post a screenshot of the new Firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lowspirit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Northern Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The compile tip posted above worked fine for me.
(see my sig desktop screenshot if you wanna see it in action, it should be on it)

Things I've noticed :

* Speed increase, nothing big but it's snappier, changes mentioned in it the changelog confirms this.
* GTK2, menus use GTK2 instead of XUL style, makes it alittle nicer.
* UI, alot of dialogs have been cleaned up, nice touch.
* HTML, some sites work better now, like Gamespot for example.
* Size, not as drastic size reduction as on Windows, but it's been trimmed for sure.
* Paths, finally last traces of the phoenix era is removed.
* My adblock is not working with 0.9 anymore.
* BUT here is a fixed one : http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=457

All in all, nice.
_________________
Gentoo | AMD X2 3800+ 2GB RAM | Kernel 2.6.30 . ReiserFS . CFQ . GCC4.3.3 | Firefox 3.5 | Gnome 2.26 w/ Compiz-Fusion
"Penguins are the only fish that can fly"


Last edited by Lowspirit on Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 1 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum