Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Blank GUI tabs?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NewtonTwo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:16 am    Post subject: Blank GUI tabs? Reply with quote

I am unable to view tabs within gui windows in any of my apps. For example xmms loads fine, runs fine, however when I attempt to access the 'Preferences', all the tabbed windows are blank, no text, checkboxes, text fields, etc.

I loaded another gui app and found the same. I have no gui options removed in my USE flags (i.e. no -kde -qt -gnome or -gtk). I've searched extensively for an answer, but only found that I can't even clearly define a proper question to get to the answer. My nearest guess is I have yet to compile some necessary gui libraries.

I am using fluxbox wm and 2.6.3 kernel. Any help is greatly appreciated, even if it helps me more clearly define a proper question to seach.

Thanks,
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stgreek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Guildford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with Gnome 2.6. Anyone got any ideas?
_________________
The day Microsoft makes something that doesn't suck is probably the day that they start making vacuum cleaners
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewtonTwo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 2:36 am    Post subject: Re: Blank GUI tabs? Reply with quote

I now believe that the problem lies in these apps not having gtk+2 support yet. I have just recently built gentoo and emerged gtk+ 2.2.

According to the gtk+ site, 1.2 and 2 can be simutaneously installed, I am installing gtk+ 1.2 right now to see if that in fact fixes the problem.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewtonTwo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Re: Blank GUI tabs? Reply with quote

No luck with that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Heffaklumpen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Osby, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=152765

Perhaps there are some clues there. I don't know how to fix it. Since I have the same problem with the UT2004 installation I really want to have it fixed
_________________
"I'm sorry Dave, I cannot let you do that"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewtonTwo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 1:37 am    Post subject: Re: Blank GUI tabs? [solved] Reply with quote

Solved! Much thanks Heffaklumpen for pointing that thread out, I searched and searched but never saw that one.

As far as how I fixed it. As I posted above, I installed gtk+ 1.2, but that hadn't fixed it. I only mention it as the possibilty remains that that along with this next bit was the answer.

I found this unrelated post
http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/freebsd-questions/2003-July/013413.html
and gave the section on creating/modifying my .gtkrc file to add a default font which then worked like a charm.

So in summary I ensured I had gtk+ 1.2 installed then added this section to my ~/.gtkrc file (which I had to create)

Code:

    style "default" {
        font = "-*-helvetica-medium-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-iso8859-15"
    }


Hope this proves useful, thanks for the link again. Let me know if I can offer anymmore help.

Brian



Heffaklumpen wrote:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=152765

Perhaps there are some clues there. I don't know how to fix it. Since I have the same problem with the UT2004 installation I really want to have it fixed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goalie31
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem here.

Glad to hear you could solve it. Unfortunately, emerging gtk 1.2 and adding these lines to my .gtkrc doesn't help :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goalie31
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad to say that it's solved for me, too:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=157032
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Heffaklumpen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Osby, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOHO!

Thanks for the solution NewtonTwo.
_________________
"I'm sorry Dave, I cannot let you do that"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pointyswords
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay i was able to get a solution by following these steps (with inspiration from above) edit: and by 'above' i am referring to the previous posts, not to any sort of divine influence ;)

1. made sure i had the latest gtk+ 2.x via emerge

2. installed gtk 1.2.9 from source at http://www.gtk.org/

i specifically chose 1.2.9 since if you read the README it installs itself in a specific way to be compatible with gtk+ 2 installations (so that they can co-exist i guess).

I chose to install it from source by hand rather than using emerge because i never want this particular gtk to be upgraded or removed by emerge


3. installed glib 1.2.9 from source by hand at http://www.gtk.org/

I chose 1.2.9 for the same reason as gtk+ 1.2.9

4. followed the instructions above about adding fonts entries to the .gtkrc file (though im not sure if this is necessary).

5. restart gnome/X11


again, i wanted to keep the older gtk OUT of portage/emerge so that there's no chance of it getting upgraded/removed/whatever and that i can upgrade and emerge gtk+ 2 independently of gtk+ 1

that should do it! let me know if you see any problems with those steps.
_________________
To iterate is human.
To recurse, divine.
-Peter Deutsch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would let portage handle it. you can lock a package into place if you really want (packages.mask) you can also specify specfic use flags for certain packages...which is what i think gtk1 is having issues with. i don't see any benefits of building it by hand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pointyswords
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

allucid wrote:
i would let portage handle it. you can lock a package into place if you really want (packages.mask) you can also specify specfic use flags for certain packages...which is what i think gtk1 is having issues with. i don't see any benefits of building it by hand.
yes, but i also want gtk+ 2 to be upgraded normally and independently of gtk+ 1.2.9... im pretty sure that gentoo portage system views gtk+ 2 and gtk+ 1.2.9 has different versions of the same package... wouldn't gentoo portage try to resolve the older packages and upgrade them?
_________________
To iterate is human.
To recurse, divine.
-Peter Deutsch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was put "=x11-libs/gtk+-1.2.10-r10" in packages.mask and gtk+2 was still able to update. so i guess it works fine. gtk 1.2.10 works for me now, i just had to remove the -msse2 CFLAG when i compiled it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum