Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
module-init-tools-3.0_pre6, 7, 8, and 9 are buggy SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: module-init-tools-3.0_pre6, 7, 8, and 9 are buggy SOLVED Reply with quote

mod edit -- stuck -- pilla

I updated my packages today (on a kernel 2.6 machine) and ran into two problems:

1. At the boot stage, while executing the init script, after "Calculating module dependencies"
I now get a series of FATAL ERRORS, saying "module not found" or something similar.
I dunno how to parse exact errors here, since it doesn't show up as part of dmesg, only init script phase.

2. Alsa sound is also effected and has stopped working. more on https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=128693

I'd advise people to take intense care in updating their packages this time, certainly don't do a blind "emerge -UD world"

Shane


Last edited by punter on Sun Feb 22, 2004 12:37 pm; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Errors are more, but this was as far as I could scroll up and copy with my mouse:

Code:
FATAL: Module st not found.
FATAL: Module ide_probe_mod not found.
FATAL: Module ide_tape not found.
FATAL: Module off not found.
FATAL: Module st not found.
FATAL: Module ide_probe_mod not found.
FATAL: Module ide_tape not found.
FATAL: Module off not found.
FATAL: Module sd_mod not found.
FATAL: Module st not found.
[ ok ] * Using /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 as config:
 *   Loading module ide-scsi...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module sg...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module sr_mod...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module i2c-core...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module i2c-viapro...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module i2c_isa...
 *   [ ok ] *   Loading module w83781d...
 *   [ ok ] * Autoloaded 7 module(s)
  * Checking all filesystems...
  * [ ok ] * Mounting local filesystems...
  * [ ok ] * Activating (possibly) more swap...
  * [ ok ] * Caching service dependencies...
  * [ ok ] * Setting system clock to hardware clock [UTC]...
  * [ ok ] * Configuring kernel parameters...
  * [ ok ] * Updating environment...
  * [ ok ] * Cleaning /var/lock, /var/run...
  * [ ok ] * Cleaning /tmp directory...
  * [ ok ] * Loading ALSA drivers...
   * Using ALSA OSS emulation
    * Loading: snd-mixer-oss
     * Loading: snd-pcm-oss
      * Loading: snd-seq-oss
      WARNING: Error inserting snd_seq
      (/lib/modules/2.6.2-rc1/kernel/sound/core/seq/snd-seq.ko): Unknown
      symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
      WARNING: Error inserting snd_seq_midi_event
      (/lib/modules/2.6.2-rc1/kernel/sound/core/seq/snd-seq-midi-event.ko):
      Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
      FATAL: Error inserting snd_seq_oss
      (/lib/modules/2.6.2-rc1/kernel/sound/core/seq/oss/snd-seq-oss.ko):
      Unknown symbol in module,
      or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
       * Loading: snd_emu10k1
       WARNING: Error inserting snd_rawmidi
       (/lib/modules/2.6.2-rc1/kernel/sound/core/snd-rawmidi.ko): Unknown
       symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
       FATAL: Error inserting snd_emu10k1
       (/lib/modules/2.6.2-rc1/kernel/sound/pci/emu10k1/snd-emu10k1.ko):
       Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
        * Running card-dependent scripts
         * Restoring Mixer Levels
         * [ ok ] * Setting user font...
         * [ ok ] * Loading key mappings...
         * [ ok ]


The first FATALs are after "Calculating module dependencies", and ALSA related errors are further down.

Anyone, any idea ? what packages could have modified the init script to cause this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kirja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 116
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just did an emerge -u system on my iBook using ~ppc. On boot I now have four or five error messages like 'FATAL: cannot find module off'.

Anyone care to enlighten us...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same problem. It looks like the error is in the latest module-init-tools (at least that's the only kernel related package that I installed yesterday).

I think it has problems with module autoloading since my alsa module snd-ymfpci required to load modules snd_hwdep, snd_opl3_lib and snd_mpu401_uart, I loaded them by hands and then I got snd-ymfpci to load.

Previous versions automatically loaded those modules just fine. But the latest version sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.0_pre6 doesn't. I'll try to downgrade back to pre5 version and see if this fixes the problem.

EDIT: confirmed, module-init-tools-3.0_pre5 work as they used to, versions pre6 and pre7 don't work.
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.


Last edited by Zoltan on Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good man.
I thought it was pam, was on my way to module-init-tools
but well spotted ;)

will change title to reflect the problem

SOLUTION: downgrade to module-init-tools-3.0pre5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here on amd64... Someone make this sticky!
_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got the same error msg:(
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kote
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im about to try myself but has anyone fixed this problem by going back in versions? if so what version works for you?

also the new version 3.0_pre7 is giving me the same problems

update... going back to pre5 fixes the problem, heres the bugzilla link: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39397
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wangxiaohu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

modprobe snd_mpu401_uart
modprobe snd_ac97_codec

then
modprobe snd_your_soundcard_type

works again.

Need to add above two modules into modules.autoload.d/kernel2.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wangxiaohu wrote:
modprobe snd_mpu401_uart
modprobe snd_ac97_codec

then
modprobe snd_your_soundcard_type

works again.

Need to add above two modules into modules.autoload.d/kernel2.6


As I mentioned in my post, the problem is not just the sound.
other FATAL messages come up as well.
I don't think there's any point to work around it, just wait until it's fixed.

LATEST: pre6 and pre7 are both BUGGY
SOlUTION: downgrade to pre5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NoiZe_DJ
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 134
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Problem is that the system doesn't boot completly. After "Setting user font" it doesn't do anything, just blinking cursor. I even don't get the login prompt.
After booting with the LiveCD I downgraded to pre5, but that also didn't help me. I don't know what I can do. Before a few days before I updated the system everything worked.
_________________
> Live Your Life > Just Go BZRK > Think 4 Yourself > Fight The System

Windows XP hat mehr Bugs als Klendathu...

<Herbie`work> yu ar lahfing abaut mei inglisch skills ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NoiZe_DJ wrote:
My Problem is that the system doesn't boot completly. After "Setting user font" it doesn't do anything, just blinking cursor. I even don't get the login prompt.
After booting with the LiveCD I downgraded to pre5, but that also didn't help me. I don't know what I can do. Before a few days before I updated the system everything worked.


Well, I don't think your problem is related to this bug.
But it is certainly related to something on init scripts.
I suggest manually checking the fonts init script, or even if possible remove it temporarily see if it works.
I'd suggest posting a new topic with title similar to "fonts init script hangs" to get attention of some font experts !
But for first step, I'd suggest removing "setting fonts" from init script, see if that at least allows you to boot fully into the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChazeFroy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kote wrote:
im about to try myself but has anyone fixed this problem by going back in versions? if so what version works for you?


I downgraded to 3.0_pre5 and it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem. Had to downgrade to pre5 to fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can someone also post the temporary fix in the bugzilla.
I've lost my username and password for that :(

some people seem to still wonder what the solution is, lets put it in big
Downgrading to pre5 fixes the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robmoss
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 2634
Location: Jesus College, Oxford

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a solution:

I'm using the vanilla-prepatch-sources-2.4.25-pre7 and module-init-tools-3.0_pre6. I only use modules for ALSA and for my NVIDIA graphics card, and I have no such problems. So the alternative solution is, don't use modules unless you actually have some need to do so. Who cares if my kernel won't boot off a floppy?!?!
_________________
Reality is for those who can't face Science Fiction.

emerge -U will kill your Gentoo
ecatmur, Lord of Portage Bash Scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NoiZe_DJ wrote:
My Problem is that the system doesn't boot completly. After "Setting user font" it doesn't do anything, just blinking cursor. I even don't get the login prompt.
After booting with the LiveCD I downgraded to pre5, but that also didn't help me. I don't know what I can do. Before a few days before I updated the system everything worked.


This should solve your problem:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=798709#798709

I've had reports that it doesn't completely solve the problem for everyone. It did for me.
_________________
Ignorance should be painful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yamakawa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>> robmoss2k

Perhaps the difference is whether or not you use 2.4 kernel.
I suppose the other guys including me use 2.6 kernel instead.

Anyway, it seems there is no trouble except for the error messages.
Alsa modules are loaded correctly after booting regardless of the error.


Last edited by yamakawa on Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozbird
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: module-init-tools and 2.4 kernel. Reply with quote

robmoss2k wrote:
I have a solution:

I'm using the vanilla-prepatch-sources-2.4.25-pre7 and module-init-tools-3.0_pre6.


With the 2.4 kernels, module-init-tools uses the old modutils behaviour, so you probably won't see the same problem.

Reverting to module-init-tools-3.0_pre5 (gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.1-r1) fixed the problems for me. I also had to revert to grub-0.93.20030118 today because 0.93.20031222 lacks some important patches. Oh well, I guess they don't call ~x86 "unstable" for nothing. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revertex
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here, after upgrade module-init-tools, i have no sound anymore.
Annoying bug.
:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1776
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A bug was filed https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39397 on the 25th, so hopefully this will get fixed soon.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tsuru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 99
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to ask the obvious of everyone but I haven't seen it mentioned so far in the reports... Did you all remember to run 'modules-update' ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tsuru wrote:
I hate to ask the obvious of everyone but I haven't seen it mentioned so far in the reports... Did you all remember to run 'modules-update' ?


I think i did it because of the alsa thing, but not the modules no !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tsuru wrote:
I hate to ask the obvious of everyone but I haven't seen it mentioned so far in the reports... Did you all remember to run 'modules-update' ?


And will that work? I don't feel like trying it out and having it not work because my volume gets reset when the alsa modules can't load.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boris64
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 1770
Location: vechelde / peine

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I hate to ask the obvious of everyone but I haven't seen it mentioned so far in the reports... Did you all remember to run 'modules-update' ?

yeah, but no change ;(
well, these "FATAL: Module st not found"-related errors don't look so good, but
as far as i don't restart very often, it doesn't seem to hurt me.
everythings runs fine as always.
_________________
boris64.net 200x / visit my desktop / try these tiny kernel patches ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum