Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
grub error 17 > solved
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
f1r3l16h+
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:20 am    Post subject: grub error 17 > solved Reply with quote

while trying to boot up from a fresh gentoo install I am getting a grub error of 17 which means:

17 : Cannot mount selected partition
This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB.

But i don't understand why i am getting this message. I setup grub as follows:

root (hd2,1) >> where my boot partition is (ext3)
setup (hd2,1) >> where my boot partition is (ext3)

Hard disk layout:
18.6 scsi > sda > hd2
80gig ide > hdc > hd0
120gig ide > hdd > hd1

When I boot the pc it loads into grub but why doesn't it continue??


Last edited by f1r3l16h+ on Sat Jan 10, 2004 1:14 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you setup the BIOS to boot from the SCSI drive, it will become (hd0) at boot time.

The BIOS also might prevent you from accessing both harddrive controllers at boot time (i.e. if you boot from the SCSI drive, the IDE drives might be "invisible" to the bootloader, and if you boot from an IDE drive, the SCSI drive might become "invisible").
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f1r3l16h+
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i reboot off the live cd and I did:
Code:
mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
grub

After that I:
Code:
root + [tab]

got the following results:
Code:
(fd0): Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x0

Why in the world is it going to the floppy. I try changing it and going back into grub and I get the same results. It's not saving! What is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f1r3l16h+
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem solved, need to do the following from inside grub:
Code:
root (hd2,1)
setup (hd0)


Just wanted to post this for furture reference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm I get the same error (#17) and Im not using a SCSI drive at all. As a matter of fact I just have one normal IDE drive (200G).

My boot partition is on /dev/hda2 and I want the MBR to live at /dev/hda.

Inside grub, I typed:
Code:
root (hd0,1)
setup (hd0)
quit


and of course I have a grub.conf which should be correctly set up. I searched around the web and found that I could try grub-install /dev/hda to create the device.map file, but this did not help.

Anyone have any tips?
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baldzius
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check device.map file content for drive names maybe it assigns to wrong names.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im not by the puter right now, but if I remember correctly the file /boot/grub/device.map contained:
Code:
fd0 /dev/floppy
hd0 /dev/hda


I created it using the comment grub-install /dev/hda when chrooted from the liveCD.

Am I right in assuming that grub shouldnt be run chrooted?
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baldzius
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems that you did everything right. Check your grub.conf or maybe post it as i really don't have any more ideas.
As i understood you haven't got any errors after grub-install or setup command? Only when booting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I cant post my grub.conf right now, since Im not at work anymore, and stupidly enough I turned the box off when I left. But I didnt get any errors during the grub-install nor in the setup phase, I've checked and rechecked my grub.conf, compared it to my other boxes (which have similar configurations) and after pulling out all my hair I still have no idea why I get this Grub Error 17 at boot time.

*waaah* *runs around and yells*
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baldzius
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well , some time ago i also had a problem with grub which i couldn't solve {not like yours}.
So i switched to LILO and everything worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I suppose I could do that. I used lilo for two years before grub, but I've become a grub fan...

It would be a shame to give up now. Ill fiddle around a bit more before giving up :)
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7750
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

12 : Invalid device requested
This error is returned if a device string is recognizable but does not fall under the other device errors.
17 : Cannot mount selected partition
This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB.

f1r3l16h+, can you edit your first posting according to the above? It seems to confuse people.

fimblo, can you post grub.conf and what 'fdisk -l' gives you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ill do that as soon as I get back to work.... which is on monday.

but I will!
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queshaw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: mee too Reply with quote

[Editing to add that, I just installed lilo and I can now boot from the hd. So, I think there might be a bug in grub that got picked up when I did emerge -u system. I read somewhere else that someone thinks grub does not recognize partition type 0xf which is the type of my extended partition... ]



I'm having a similar problem. Everything was working until one of the following:

1. I did emerge -u world
2. After a hd cable failure I used fixboot and fixmbr from winxp.

What I have is:

disk1 with primary partition fat32, extended partition with ntfs and fat32 logical partitions

disk2 with linux ext3fs boot, linux swap and reiserfs root paritions

fdisk output shows:

/dev/hda1:
partition type c
Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2
partition type f
Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5
partition type 7
HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda6
partition type b
Win95 FAT32

and

/dev/hdb1
partition type 83
Linux
/dev/hdb2
partition type 82
Linux swap
/dev/hdb3
partition type 83
Linux

I can mount all of these partitions.

my grub.conf (on /dev/hdb1) looks like

default 0
timeout 3
splashimage=/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainload +1

title=Linux
root (hd1,0)
kernel (hd1,0)/boot/kernel-gaming-2.4.20-r3 root=/dev/hdb3 vga=0xa
initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd-gaming-2.4.20-r3


to install I run grub from the command line.

> find /boot/grub/grub.conf
(hd1,0)

> find /ntldr
(hd0,0)

> geometry (hd0)

partition num 0: fat type c
partition num 4: unknown type 7
partition num 5: fat type b

> geometry (hd1)

partition num 0: linux type 83
partition num 1: unknown type 82
partition num 2: linux type 83

> root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

> setup (hd0)
5 lines indicating success followed by Done

> exit

reboot

Grub Loading stage1.5

Grub loading, please wait...
Error 17

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

k, here goes:
Code:
zipf root # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

                                Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1   *         1      4863  39062016    c  Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2          4864      4887    192780   83  Linux
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3          4888      5009    979965   82  Linux swap
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part4          5010     24321 155123640    5  Extended
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5          5010      5860   6835626   83  Linux
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part6          5861     24321 148287951   83  Linux


and the grub.conf
Code:
zipf root # cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo
  root (hd0,1)
  kernel (hd0,1)/boot/images/20031211_zlib_bzImage root=/dev/hda5


I installed grub with the following commands
Code:
root (hd0,1)
setup (hd0)
quit


Now the interesting thing is that I made a grub boot floppy, booted off it, and If I type
Code:
root (hd0,1)
and hit escape, the floppy grub finds the grub options on the drive and happily continues to boot the computer.

So it seems as if grub just cant mount or read the boot partition (hd0,1).

any ideas?

thanks
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7750
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at what penetrode suggests in this thread. Don't know whether it makes a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stupid, stupid me. A collegue of mine suggested updating the bios. Voila! now it works :)

But along the way I had a little adventure- I suspected that the mbr was messed up, and that grub was installed incorrectly, so I did a
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda count=1 bs=512
to erase the mbr.

What I didnt think about was that this would clear the partition table as well. *woe*. So there I was, with no partition table, and apparently no hope.

But then the same collegue who suggested updating bios found an application called gpart (http://www.stud.uni-hannover.de/user/76201/gpart/), which tries to recover lost partition tables by reading the drive. And wonder of wonders, it worked :)

so now my system is up and running again, hurray!
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrezzerO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran in to this same problem on my gentoo install.

I found the following thread on google:

http://mail.gnu.org/archive/html/bug-grub/2003-10/msg00003.html

that seemed to point to it being a device.map problem.

What I found was that by creating the device.map with
grub-install or grub-install --recheck
commands seemed to create the same file as using
grub --device-map=device.map

BUT

only the device.map created by using the grub --device-map command would allow grub to map to the correct bios drive.

If I can re-create this I'll submit it as a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case, the device.map file, created by grub.install, didnt help at all... but then OTOH all I had was a bios problem :P
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojanu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 361
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When a system has multiple HDDs the /boot partition has to be on the first hard disk that BIOS boots from and preferebly on the first 1024 cylinder (~8.5GB area) some system BIOS cannot reach any further
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TriKster_Abacus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I am having this mysterious grub error 17 problem. I have tried everythig I can think of.. I had the same setup before, but I switched drives.

I am using grub version: GNU GRUB 0.95

On boot up I recieve:

GRUB loading stage 1.5
GRUB loading, please wait...

Error 17

and that is it.. no other error..

grub cli I type:

root (hd2,0)
setup (hd0)
quit

I have 2 ide drives that are now Windows, 2 SATA drives that are now Linux, before it was Linux on 2 ide drives and Windows on 2 SATA drives.

cfdisk shows:

hda1 Boot Primary NTFS [^W] 200038.81

hda2 is just fat32 storage for both Linux and Windows

1st SATA drive: /dev/sda:

sda1 Primary Linux ReiserFS 501.75
sda2 Primary Linux 199545.30

2nd SATA drive: /dev/sdb:

sdb1 Primary Linux 197998.95
sdb2 Primary Linux swap 2048.10

/boot/grub/device.map:

(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/hda
(hd1) /dev/hdb
(hd2) /dev/sda
(hd3) /dev/sdb

fdisk -l:

Disk /dev/hda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 24320 195350368+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/hdb: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 2 24321 195350400 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5 2 24321 195350368+ b W95 FAT32

Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 61 489951 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 62 24321 194868450 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 24072 193358308+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 24073 24321 2000092+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris


grub.conf:

title Gentoo
root (hd2,1)
kernel (hd2,0)/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 elevator=cfq gentoo=nodevfs rootflags=nopseudo rootfstype=reiser4

title UnLinux
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

/etc/fstab:

/dev/sda1 /boot reiser4 noauto,noatime 0 0
/dev/sda2 / reiser4 notail 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /usr/local/games reiser4 defaults 0 0
/dev/sdb2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,user,ro 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrw iso9660 noauto,user,rw 0 0


I havent added the fat32/windows partitions to fstab yet as I am just trying to get my system to boot atm.

Also I have ran grub itself and also:

grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/hda

and:

grub-install --root-directory=/boot hd0

Nothing is working.. I know it is right under my nose..

Plz help

Thank you

Sincerely,

TriKster Abacus
:twisted:
:twisted:
:twisted:
_________________
http://www.linux-militia.net | For Linux gamers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TriKster_Abacus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I have it working..

Seems I didn't take notice that when I installed Windows on my SATA drives that I needed to put a small partition on the ide drives in order for Windows to install.. I thought it was because Windows didn't like it's boot files on a RAID drive..

Well it seems (in my case anyhow) that this Western Digital RAID/SATA controller does not boot on my system.. so installing grub made no differance because it would not boot the system. I know, it sounds confusing as hell.. but I had to make a small /boot partition on an ide drive and *Presto it worked.

So.. if you have a PCI SATA/RAID controller and no matter what you do.. you recieve "Error 17" ... try to put a /boot partition on an ide drive.

Also I tried in my bios to tell the system to boot off of SCSI, but that wasn't happening either. So either way, on this mobo (Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe) I had to use ide. Why you might ask didn't I use the onboard SATA controller? Well for me.. with that SATA controller, I was plagued with tons of lockups and Irq 11 being disabled on bootup.. but the WD card it works great.. I have the Asus bios 1009 installed, and all efforts to install a newer bios where unfruitful to say the least..

Also I must thank the fellas in the #grub channel on irc for pointing me in the right direction.. they were very polite and helpful, and I wouldn't be back home in Linux on my main rig now it it were not for them.

Thank you everyone

Sincerely,

TriKster Abacus
:twisted:
:twisted:
:twisted:
_________________
http://www.linux-militia.net | For Linux gamers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duplicate of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122656
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum