Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cd burning with scsi emulation doesn't work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2003 10:28 pm    Post subject: cd burning with scsi emulation doesn't work Reply with quote

the actual burning of cd's with k3b doesn't start.

here are some parts of my configuration:

cdrecord --scanbus shows:
Code:
scsibus0:
        0,0,0     0) 'SONY    ' 'CD-RW  CRX140E  ' '1.0s' Removable CD-ROM
        0,1,0     1) 'LITEON  ' 'DVD-ROM LTD122  ' 'IHN9' Removable CD-ROM
...


dmesg | grep hd shows:
Code:
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hdd3 hda=ide-scsi hdb=ide-scsi
ide_setup: hda=ide-scsi
ide_setup: hdb=ide-scsi
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xd800-0xd807, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xd808-0xd80f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA
hda: SONY CD-RW CRX140E, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdb: LITEON DVD-ROM LTD122, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdc: ST340823A, ATA DISK drive
hdd: WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1, ATA DISK drive
hdc: 78165361 sectors (40021 MB) w/1024KiB Cache, CHS=77545/16/63, UDMA(33)
hdd: 234441648 sectors (120034 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=232581/16/63, UDMA(33)


this looks good to me, the k3b setup shows this setup screenshot.

in the setup /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/ is used instead of dev/hda is this correct?

when i want to burn a cd, this screen will stay for ever, the cdr doesn't make a sound at all and even the light of the cdr isn't blinking or anything :(


any ideas what is wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what happen when you type
Code:
$cdrecord -v -dummy -nofix dev=0,0,0 speed=0 <your_file>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yossarian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 117
Location: Austin, Tx.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do have the ide-scsi module loaded right? Also, I don't know if this has anything to do with it but, it says that the max write speed on your cd-rw is set to 0. Also trying using generic-mmc for your driver. I hope this process truly is easier with a 2.6 kernel.
_________________
Peace
Yossarian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CheshireCat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yossarian wrote:
I hope this process truly is easier with a 2.6 kernel.


Very much so. You need a cdrdao and/or cdrtools installation w/ support for the new stuff in the IDE interface, and you don't need to do anything funny with emulation. You use the IDE CDROM driver, use the path to the device, and it "just works".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
what happen when you type
Code:
$cdrecord -v -dummy -nofix dev=0,0,0 speed=0 <your_file>


... the burning starts :D , so what's wrong with my k3b :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool then !

dont forget do use driveropts=burnfree if your burner supports it :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry but my k3b still does NOT work (i configured the parameters in k3b-setup).

Quote:
cool then !

dont forget do use driveropts=burnfree if your burner supports it


where do i configure driveropts=burnfree and what does this mean?


Last edited by dominik on Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:49 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your burner supports burnproof technology then u better be off using command lines like :
Code:
$cdrecord -v -dummy -nofix dev=0,0,0 speed=0 driveropts=burnfree <your_file>

it avoids buffer underrun :P

on ur k3b setup u can see that u didn't enable burnfree.


can u actually get k3b debugging output ?
did u give a try to xcdroast ? what happens?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
did u give a try to xcdroast ? what happens?

xcdroast seems to work. at least my cdr make some sounds. (but i actually i want to use k3b ;-)

Quote:
on ur k3b setup u can see that u didn't enable burnfree.

i activated burnfree but this changes nothing, k3b still does not start :-(

Quote:
can u actually get k3b debugging output ?

how do i get an debugging output? this screen stays forever, if i want to get rid of the screen, i have to kill the process and no error message occurred.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CheshireCat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start it from a terminal so you can see whatever it outputs to stderr and stdout?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is all the output i get
Code:
bash-2.05b# k3b
mcop warning: user defined signal handler found for SIG_PIPE, overriding
QFont::setPointSize: Point size <= 0 (-3)
QFont::setPointSize: Point size <= 0 (-3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just in case it can help setup page 1
setup page 2
setup page 3

it wont be open for real long so let me know once u got it :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thankx, i've got your pictures and will try your configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've compared here your and mine configuration, maybe you'll find the critical difference.
devices: yours mine
programs: yours mine
writing: yours mine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

config sounds good ! just different k3b versions.
could it be due to your k3b version? were there any bug reported?

i use
Code:
 $ k3b -v
Qt: 3.2.2
KDE: 3.1.4
K3b: 0.10.3


maybe an
Code:
$ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge k3b
will help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the execution of
Quote:
Code:
$ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge k3b

ends in a
Code:
make: *** [all] Error 1

!!! ERROR: app-cdr/cdrdao-1.1.7-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 72, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wel u can try k3b-0.10.3 it is still in portage tree and only need >=cdrdao-1.1.5 which compiled fine on my box.
Code:
 emerge /usr/portage/app-cdr/k3b/k3b-0.10.3.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CheshireCat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dominik wrote:
Code:
make: *** [all] Error 1

!!! ERROR: app-cdr/cdrdao-1.1.7-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 72, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

Can you post the other stuff above that? Maybe we can figure out why you can't built cdrdao 1.1.7...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can you post the other stuff above that? Maybe we can figure out why you can't built cdrdao 1.1.7...

here is the std.out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piggie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this same error on compiling cdrdao.
Perhaps its a problem with the version.
I'm restarting from scratch at the moment, so I will see if I can reproduce the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CheshireCat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The part quoted doesn't actually say what went wrong with the compile, so it may be a different error than the one you had. Maybe I should bother some portage devs about getting these messages removed, or revised to indicate that the real error probably occured somewhere above...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:
emerge /usr/portage/app-cdr/k3b/k3b-0.10.3.ebuild

the installation worked and k3b uses now the cdr :D

but another problem appeared, k3b is unable to send cue sheet. here is the screenshot and the log, maybe it's useful .

this happens while burning an iso image or a normal data cd. these cds are of normal size :oops:.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

concerning cdrdao-1.1.7-r3
Quote:
ScsiIf-lib.cc:37:21: xconfig.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:38:22: standard.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:39:24: scg/scgcmd.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:40:28: scg/scsitransp.h: No such file or directory

it seems that some header file are missing :? and they basically should be in the package in the first place .

concerning your error message, it is due to cdrecord, u can give a check to man cdrecord and look for and search for DIAGNOSTICS using
Code:
/DIAGNOSTICS
. it will explain ur error .... but good luck 8O . it is something to see with the field value.
I personnaly use cdrtools 2.01_alpha20 and cdrdao-1.1.7-r1 and everything works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to avoid confusion with different versions i changed my applications to k3b-0.10.3, cdrtools 2.01_alpha20 and cdrdao-1.1.7-r1.

do i have to use some parameters in k3b?
currently no parameters are configured under: k3b -> settings -> configure k3b -> programms -> user parameters

ptitman wrote:
concerning cdrdao-1.1.7-r3
Quote:
ScsiIf-lib.cc:37:21: xconfig.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:38:22: standard.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:39:24: scg/scgcmd.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:40:28: scg/scsitransp.h: No such file or directory

where do i find these error messages?

i tried to get an error message for cdrecord DIANOSTICS and tried burning at the console.
Code:
cdrecord -v -dummy -nofix dev=0,0,0 speed=0 /test.avi

unfortunately i did not get an error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptitman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 242
Location: well!! I don't really know!Anywhere really!

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got those compilation error message from your log . more exactly, this last bit of your output
Code:
Creating dependencies for main.cc
Creating dependencies for ScsiIf-lib.cc
ScsiIf-lib.cc:37:21: xconfig.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:38:22: standard.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:39:24: scg/scgcmd.h: No such file or directory
ScsiIf-lib.cc:40:28: scg/scsitransp.h: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [ScsiIf-lib.d] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/cdrdao-1.1.7-r3/work/cdrdao-1.1.7/dao'
make: *** [all] Error 1

!!! ERROR: app-cdr/cdrdao-1.1.7-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 72, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)



maybe a solution for k3b is do to a brand new setup, some wrong parameters might be passed to cdrecord.
as you can see in your log, the command passed to cdrecord is
Code:
/usr/bin/cdrecord -v gracetime=2 dev=0,0,0 speed=1 -dao driveropts=burnfree -eject -v -dummy -nofix dev=0,0,0 speed=0 -data -tsize=191s -


this is my k3b output
Code:
/usr/bin/cdrecord -v gracetime=2 dev=/dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/cd speed=24 -dao -dummy driveropts=burnfree -eject -overburn -data -tsize=358442s -
which look pretty the same but for the fact that i use ide-cd (dev=/dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/cd) and that i dont have user parameter passed to cdrecord.

another thing i noticed : if u burn through command line , u dont have any CUE sheets sent to cdrecord !, i wonder if those comes from mkisofs?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum