Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vmware 2.6.0-test11 - UPDATE WORKING -
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xcable
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 424
Location: College Station, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 2:35 am    Post subject: vmware 2.6.0-test11 - UPDATE WORKING - Reply with quote

Anyone got vmware working under 2.6.0-test11?

I get errors.

Update - Working
Got it working! I used a patch set called vmware-any-any-update45. It's a has some scripts, a c file, tar files etc.. You can get it at :
http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/

Download it, untar it, cd to the new created folder, su to root, type "./runme.pl", and choose yes to run vmware-config.pl. And launch vmware. It works on my system using 2.6.0-test11.

End Update

heath holcomb


Last edited by xcable on Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:26 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blmartin777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 646
Location: Not Quite Sure

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't even get it to install. It tells me that it was not configured right and to run vmware-config.pl, and when I do that it says it build everything it needs for the 2.6 kernel. It does that over and over. Have you tried plex86? does it even work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klarnox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2003
Posts: 350
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem with the error relating to the vmware-config.pl file is a lock file in the same directory (don't remember what it's called off hand) that doesn't get removed. If you manually delete the lock file you should be ready to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does work. I have been using vmware build 4460 and test11 kernel since it came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wierd, the upgrade works but the fresh install borks for me ...
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amgnet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blmartin777 wrote:
I can't even get it to install. It tells me that it was not configured right and to run vmware-config.pl, and when I do that it says it build everything it needs for the 2.6 kernel. It does that over and over. Have you tried plex86? does it even work?


I got the same symptoms too and I can't get it to work. Can anybody please help ?

10x!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amgnet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally it worked. With help from gentoo mailing lists!

After merge vm-workstation the file /etc/vmware/not_configured should be erased. After that it will work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reducer2001
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:31 am    Post subject: Still have a few problems with VMWare Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip to that patch. I still get an error. Using mm-sources-test10...

Thanks for any help!

Code:
Extracting the sources of the vmnet module.
 
Building the vmnet module.
 
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config2/vmnet-only'
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test10-mm1'
  CHK     include/linux/version.h
*** Warning: Overriding SUBDIRS on the command line can cause
***          inconsistencies
  CHK     include/asm-i386/asm_offsets.h
  Building modules, stage 2.
/usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test10-mm1/scripts/Makefile.modpost:17: *** Uh-oh, you have stale module entries. You messed with SUBDIRS,
/usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test10-mm1/scripts/Makefile.modpost:18: do not complain if something goes wrong.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test10-mm1'
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config2/vmnet-only'
Unable to make a vmnet module that can be loaded in the running kernel:
Error inserting '/tmp/vmware-config2/vmnet.o': -1 File exists
There is probably a slight difference in the kernel configuration between the
set of C header files you specified and your running kernel.  You may want to
rebuild a kernel based on that directory, or specify another directory.
 
For more information on how to troubleshoot module-related problems, please
visit our Web site at "http://www.vmware.com/download/modules/modules.html" and
"http://www.vmware.com/support/reference/linux/prebuilt_modules_linux.html".
 
Execution aborted.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xcable
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 424
Location: College Station, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:12 pm    Post subject: maybe upgrade to 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

Don't know about your error. You might try using 2.6.0-test11, that's what I'm running.


heath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reducer2001
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, it was my dumb mistake. I still had vmnet module running from a previous install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gmcle454
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 173
Location: U.S. - Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: Re: vmware 2.6.0-test11 - UPDATE WORKING - Reply with quote

xcable wrote:
Got it working! I used a patch set called vmware-any-any-update45. It's a has some scripts, a c file, tar files etc.. You can get it at :
http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/

Download it, untar it, cd to the new created folder, su to root, type "./runme.pl", and choose yes to run vmware-config.pl. And launch vmware. It works on my system using 2.6.0-test11.


Thanks a bunch! VMWare has had me baffled for a few days now!
_________________
Ged tha mi bochd tha mi uasal; buidheachas do Dhia is ann de chlann 'Ill Eathain mi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum