Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mozilla 1.5 won't let me enter text in password fields
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
agaffney
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 104
Location: St. Charles, MO

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 1:17 am    Post subject: mozilla 1.5 won't let me enter text in password fields Reply with quote

I've tried a few different times now to emerge Mozilla 1.5. It compiles and installs without a problem. The problem comes when I'm using the web browser. If I go to a page that has a password input files, such as any Yahoo! login page, i can't enter any text into that field. It did this to me for every site I went to. I do not have this problem with Mozilla 1.4-r4. Below shows the USE flags I use. I've also tried emerging with USE="gtk2" but that Mozilla didn't even start. My CFLAGS are "-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mmmx -m3dnow". I'm running ~x86. I've filed a bug report (31441) but didn't get anywhere with it. Has anyone else run into this or know what is going on?

upstairs root # emerge -upv mozilla

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild U ] net-www/mozilla-1.5 [1.4-r4] +java +crypt -ipv6 -gtk2 +ssl -ldap -gnome -debug -mozcalendar -mozaccess -mozxmlterm -moznoirc -moznomail +moznocompose -moznoxft
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meowsqueak
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1549
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What window manager are you using? There's a known issue with some wm's where text input fails completely, but it's not specific to password fields - are you still able to type in other fields, or is all keyboard input broken?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agaffney
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 104
Location: St. Charles, MO

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using fluxbox. It is only password input fields that are broken. I can enter text into any other text field.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agaffney
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 104
Location: St. Charles, MO

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is quite odd. I just built 1.5 again for the hell of it. I did something different this time, though. I did 'emerge -B mozilla' and then 'emerge /usr/portage/packages/All/mozilla-1.5-tbz2'. Now everything works as it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meowsqueak
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1549
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is odd - perhaps you should update your bug report with this new info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum