Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Menus at Gentoo Linux wiki not working [FIXED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dcljr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 139
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:53 am    Post subject: Menus at Gentoo Linux wiki not working [FIXED] Reply with quote

Is anyone else seeing what I am at the Gentoo Linux wiki <https://wiki.gentoo.org/> this evening?

None of the drop-down menus are working (Tools, User, more…), so I cannot navigate to the login page. (I was not logged in automatically when visiting the site.)

I did successfully login after going to the login page "manually", by typing the page name "Special:Login" into the URL. After logging in, I still can't get any of the drop-down menus to work. (Firefox 52.4.0 ESR for Linux — on Gentoo, of course :).

What's going on?


Last edited by dcljr on Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I confirm the problem. It seems that Gentoo has several infrastructure problems for some time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22176
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same proble with ff-57.
Open a new bug
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5879

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a Javascript-only mess. Given it's based on standard MediaWiki software, they had to have gone out of their way to make it worse...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We can contact them directly: #infra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 634
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/642718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 502 (Bad Gateway): load.php

Quote:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/load.php?debug=false&lang=en&modules=startup&only=scripts&skin=tyrian

I had this error message some time ago.

[Moderator edit: changed color #ffd700 to #ff0000 because the garish yellow was hard to read on the standard forum background. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14064

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly, I never noticed this problem, because the stylesheets are fetched off assets.gentoo.org, which Policeman disallowed, so the menus are just a bulleted list down the side for me. It's ugly, but oddly more usable than the script+style enabled version. After enabling the stylesheets from assets.gentoo.org, I confirm the menus to be broken. The CSS hides them by default, but seems not to have a :hover rule to show them when hovering. It would have been better to implement that with a single rule to hide when :not(:hover).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcljr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 139
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed following bug report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14064

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Fixed" seems to be a relative concept. ;) The menus are still broken unless cross-domain resource embeds and cross-domain Javascript are allowed. Per Ant P.'s comment, that seems to be an intentional design flaw, rather than an implementation flaw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum