Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
system hangs during boot when using ALSA
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sharky44
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2002
Posts: 48
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:41 pm    Post subject: system hangs during boot when using ALSA Reply with quote

Hi. I've recently installed Gentoo on my IBM Thinkpad A22m.

I followed the instructions on the Desktop Configuration guide for setting up ALSA. Everything seemed to go fine.

I had to recompile the kernel since I had compiled in support for my sound card initially, but I took that out, and now it's just soundcore support. Ok.

I emerged alsa-driver, configured /etc/modules.autoload and /etc/modules.d/aliases for my sound card. It's a Cirrus Logic CS4614, so I used the cs46xx drivers. Ok.

I rebooted so all that would take effect. Ok. Worked fine.

Then I emerged alsa-utilities, un-muted the volume, etc.

THEN -- "rc-update add alsasound boot"

Now, when I reboot, it freezes at this point:
* Initialising ALSA.... [ok]
* Starting sound driver: cs46xx

HANGS!

The only way I know how to get my computer to boot again was to boot from Install CD, mount my harddrive and go: "rc-update del alsasound boot"

Then it boots OK. Alsa seems to work OK once I unmute the volume after each reboot (How would you know if it's really working?) Because I also noticed an oddity:

# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
* ALSA driver is already running.
# /etc/init.d/alsasound status
* status: stopped
# /etc/init.d/alsasound stop
* ERROR: "alsasound" has not yet been started.
# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
* ALSA driver is already running.
# /etc/init.d/alsasound status
* status: stopped

I can recreate this anytime.

What would be causing the system to hang at boot? Obviously ALSA, but why? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help! I searched google & forums.gentoo.org for quite a while with no luck, so please point me to another forum if this issue has been addressed already, and if that is the case, I apologize for wasting valuable forum space :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moving to Hardware forum...
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w00kie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 18
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same thing with the intel8x0 driver
have you found a solution???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kybber
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 228
Location: Trondheim, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My laptop occasionally hangs during boot at the same point. But that's only like every 4 or 5 times. My soundcard is a Maestro 3. The solution for me is simply to hit the powerbutton to reboot. It is still annoying so I'd be interested in a solution too, if you find one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pludo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My laptop does that all the time now, too... with the intel8x0 driver. Any idea how to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w00kie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 18
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now I'm running without alsasound in my boot runlevel and my sound modules in modules.autoload
oddly enough, ALSA works just fine even though it was never started
I just have to do an alsactl restore to get my volume back to my preferred settings

[edit]
nope, in fact alsactl restore hangs my machine :roll:
I've got to restore my sound levels by hand
[/edit]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1378
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, since none of you specify, whether you are aware that you need to refer to the ALSA drivers (modules) as snd-(insert_module_name_here).

So for the intel8x0 module it becomes snd-intel8x0

for the cs46xx module it becomes snd-cs46xx. This should also be used when referring to the card in the /etc/modules.d/aliases.

It would appear that some of you must have the correct driver given you (w00kie) hear sounds, however others may not know this little gotcha of ALSA.

Hope that helps someone, anyone.

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w00kie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 18
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes
I do use snd_intel8x0 and have the 8 aliases in my /etc/modules.d/aliases

btw, my kernel is compiled with soundcore as a module and no other drivers
my modules.autoload looks like this (only showing you the sound related modules)
Code:
soundcore
snd-intel8x0
snd-pcm-oss
snd-mixer-oss

I didn't modify my /etc/modules.d/alsa file though
maybe I should try that...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuna
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 485
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem here.. manuallly loaded all the drives as told in the dektop guide worked pretty well. After first boot it hangs again exactly here..

* Starting sound driver: Ali5451

so.. as you can see.. different driver as the other people here (snd_ali5451)
but again.. a laptop...
either were all doing the same mistake here.. or we have a serious bug.
would be nice if someone could look into that.

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w00kie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 18
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on a laptop too
DELL Inspiron 8200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ledents
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got the same problem also but I am NOT running on a portable
(although I did buildin APM support into the kernel. don't know if it has to do with that?).
My sound card is also a cs46xx and I did some investigation and found
that the '/etc/init.d/alsasound start' was hanging on 'alsactl'.
I don't know how to fix it but whenever calling:
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state restore
the machine will hang.
By the way this problem is also mentioned on another forum.
(no fix available their neither!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbrese
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 126
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 3:51 pm    Post subject: hack Reply with quote

I just had the same problem my hack to fix it was to edit /etc/init.d/alsasound and comment out the part where it tries to reload the mixer setting and then I added the 2 amixer unmute commands from the desktop config guide.

It seems to be working good now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ealfert
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 86
Location: Weston, FL, US

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbrese...thanks for the workaround! I'm going to give more detail to your solution for the benefit of other newbies like me that need everything spelled out.

I just tried getting my sound to work on an ibm thinkpad t22 with snd-cs46xx driver and everything worked until i rebooted...then the system hanged at the same spot as y'all.

I WAS FORCED TO USE W2KPRO to search this forumn for an answer.

I booted the gentoo install cd and mounted the root partition...
edited /etc/init.d/alsasound
jumped to line 85 and commented it out...then inserted the following..
Code:

#        $alsactl -f $asoundcfg restore
# next section is a work around to enable sound
        eerror "Sound Level Restorer disable because of system hang problem!"
        amixer set Master 100 unmute
        amixer set PCM 100 unmute
# end of workaround


then i rebooted (THE SYSTEM DIDN"T HANG) and logged into KDE and I HEAR SOUND!

Since i'm on a laptop, i have volume control through the keyboard and don't need to have the os remember the volume settings... the hardware takes care of that.... i actually like to have the os set the volume to 100% and i can then raise/lower using the volume buttons on the keyboard.

Again... cbrese, thanks for the tip!
_________________
Edward Alfert
RootMode, LLC
http://www.rootmode.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1z
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had the same problem
too bad i did not wait until i read this ;>
atm i'm reinstalling gentoo :lol: :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptheborg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 67
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My laptop config suffered from a similar problem. Besides the hang problem during booting, amixer didn't work. It gives an Assertion in simple.c and simply Aborts, so unmuting the channels manually during booting was no solution for me.
At this point ALSA was getting really on my nerves, but I didn't give up ;)
Then suddenly I got the idea to check the portage dir of alsa and discovered that I had installed 0.9.0-rc2 but there was a 0.9.0-rc1-r7 too. So I tried that ebuild script and it worked right from the start. NO hanging problems and amixer worked also as it should.

So I don't know for sure but I guess rc2 has still some bugs....???
_________________
Cheers

.NET is like a pet store written with gotos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ealfert
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 86
Location: Weston, FL, US

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just checked /var/tmp/portage and i only have alsa-driver-0.9.0_rc2 not rc7

doing a emerge -s alsa only shows rc2

next time an update world upgrades alsa, i'll uncomment the workaround and see if the system still hangs on boot.
_________________
Edward Alfert
RootMode, LLC
http://www.rootmode.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptheborg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 67
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, it's getting stranger every second... :S
Anyway, I'm very sure that the rc1-r7 is still there, even the 0.5XX ebuild script resides in that dir.

Have you tried an emerge rsync followed by an emerge clean ??
_________________
Cheers

.NET is like a pet store written with gotos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ealfert
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 86
Location: Weston, FL, US

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i took your suggestion and did an emerge rsync then an emerge clean....and then my heart stopped...i say a HUGE list of packages that were being removed...for a second there i thought it was wiping out my entire harddrive...

after it finished...i did a man emerge and read up on the clean argument.... i'm glad it only removes packages that are no longer needed...i hope it doesn't make mistakes and this is true...

then i did an emerge -s alsa.... and once again...i only see rc2 only....

no problem here .... the workaround is working.... i'll just wait for the next official update to alsa and then remove the workaround... if it works....great... if not, i'll just install the workaround again...
_________________
Edward Alfert
RootMode, LLC
http://www.rootmode.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptheborg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 67
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gheh, oh....ehm, sorry for that. But AFAIK emerge clean only removes not used outdated packages from the portage tree. Note: Remember to backup any modifications you've made to the portage tree by yourself....cause these will be gone...

But still very weird no alsa-driver-0.9.0-rc1-r7 shows up in your portage tree....very very weird, but maybe the rc1-r7 ebuild script is removed from the portage in an portage tree updated that occured last night. This would explain why I'm still having that script in the portage, simply because I have emerged that version.
_________________
Cheers

.NET is like a pet store written with gotos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sharky44
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2002
Posts: 48
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2002 6:48 pm    Post subject: No more hanging... Reply with quote

I tried the workaround suggested by cbrese, and thanks to ealfert for clarification. Anyway, alsa loads fine on boot! Yaay!

It seems to me that enough people have had difficulties that this situation might be worth a mention in the Gentoo Documentation?

BTW, I am using alsa-driver 0.9.0-rc2; I did not try 0.9.0-rc1-r7 as ptheborg suggested. The fact that 0.9.0-rc2 has a couple issues like this might be worth mentioning in the Gentoo docs as well.

Anyway, thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptheborg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 67
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why upgrading to a later version that is broken.......??? 8)
_________________
Cheers

.NET is like a pet store written with gotos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1378
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just gave myself this problem. I had been using my onboard sound (snd-intel8x0) and finally bought a card. So I changed my config to use the snd-cs46xx for my new PCI card. Everything was fine until I rebooted. It appears (thanks to cbrese's clue) that the problem for me was that the /etc/init.d/alsasound was loading the old values for my onboard sound and trying to get them to work for my new card. I looked into the /etc/init.d/alsasound file and found that the file it was referencing was /etc/asound.state -- I also noticed that it checks to see if this file exists. So I just deleted the /etc/asound.state and reboot. Then everything was FINE! Thanks cbrese!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amanset
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ealfert wrote:

I booted the gentoo install cd and mounted the root partition...
edited /etc/init.d/alsasound
jumped to line 85 and commented it out...then inserted the following..
Code:

#        $alsactl -f $asoundcfg restore
# next section is a work around to enable sound
        eerror "Sound Level Restorer disable because of system hang problem!"
        amixer set Master 100 unmute
        amixer set PCM 100 unmute
# end of workaround



I have been having MAJOR problems with my Santa Cruz. I tried the kernel drivers and they didn't work and no-one seemed to be able to help:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=21333

I then tried to use the ALSA drivers and I got the error discussed here.

I then had to boot using the CD and edit /etc/init.d/alsasound but now I get an error on booting saying that there are syntax errors in the file and it will nto be executed!

Here's the bit in alsasound that I edited:

Code:

  #
  # restore driver settings
  #
  if [ -d /proc/asound ]; then
    if [ ! -r $asoundcfg ]; then
      ewarn "No mixer config in $asoundcfg, you have to unmute your card!"
    else
      if [ -x $alsactl ]; then
        # $alsactl -f $asoundcfg restore
        amixer set Master 100 unmute
        amixer set PCM 100 unmute
      else
        eerror -e "ERROR: alsactl not found!"
      fi
    fi
  fi
  #


Can anyone please help out as I have run out of ideas. Amixer is installed and works from the command line, so I don't think that is the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amanset
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorted out my problem, some corruption in the file at the beginning.

The sound still doesn't work though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1378
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonezTheGoon wrote:
I just gave myself this problem. I had been using my onboard sound (snd-intel8x0) and finally bought a card. So I changed my config to use the snd-cs46xx for my new PCI card. Everything was fine until I rebooted. It appears (thanks to cbrese's clue) that the problem for me was that the /etc/init.d/alsasound was loading the old values for my onboard sound and trying to get them to work for my new card. I looked into the /etc/init.d/alsasound file and found that the file it was referencing was /etc/asound.state -- I also noticed that it checks to see if this file exists. So I just deleted the /etc/asound.state and reboot. Then everything was FINE! Thanks cbrese!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon


False alarm. Mine was still barely functional after making the changes I had outlined above. Some apps worked while others didn't. I finally decided it was time for a fresh build anyway and I am in the process of bringing my system back to life starting from a stage1 build. I hope someone finds a more "comprehensive" fix for this in case I run into it again. But this time I ran away from it with my tail between my legs!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum