Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Share your distcc tips
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kverastin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running distcc on my gentoo box and using a redhat install as one of the nodes and it doesn't seem to use the redhat box all the time... I was just wondering if that was because the redhat box didn't have the libraries that are needed to compile certain parts of the code?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sarnold
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 115
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 3:32 am    Post subject: add distcc to your stage 1 bootstrap Reply with quote

Here's a tip from Gentoo-dev Lisa, on adding distcc to your stage 1 bootstrap install. I'm not quite sure why it isn't there already, but it's pretty easy to add it on your own (as long as you have at least one working gentoo box). Here's how:

step 1) emerge --buildpkg distcc, add /usr/lib/libpopt.so.* to the tarball.

step 2) scp the tarball over to your chroot.

step 3) chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash, env-update and all that. Put distcc in features and set MAKEOPTS.

step 4) unpack tarball to / (i unpacked to /tmp and just mv'd everything, to be safe).

step 5) do a distcc-config --install

step 6) sh /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh

Give it a try and post feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akmolloy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This worked for me to start using DISTCC from bootstrap, and was painless:

1. Right before you run bootstrap.sh (step 11 in the install instructions), do an

Code:
emerge -O distcc


I tried it without the -O, but it wanted to install tons of other packages, even with a USE="-*".

2. Set your MAKEOPTS, DISTCC_HOSTS, and FEATURES flags to the appropriate settings in /etc/make.conf.

3. Run:

Code:
scripts/bootstrap.sh


This worked fine for me, YMMV. I had tried other things from previous threads which involved editing the bootstrap.sh file, but those didn't want to work, so I thought I'd go with simplicity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lisa
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 273
Location: York, UK again! Horray!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:33 pm    Post subject: Re: add distcc to your stage 1 bootstrap Reply with quote

sarnold wrote:
Here's a tip from Gentoo-dev Lisa


See this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=75648
_________________
Distcc guide
Visit my website
I maintain Distcc, Ccache, Memcached, and some others (i think)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kverastin wrote:
I'm running distcc on my gentoo box and using a redhat install as one of the nodes and it doesn't seem to use the redhat box all the time... I was just wondering if that was because the redhat box didn't have the libraries that are needed to compile certain parts of the code?


As long as you only compile fully pre-processed source code, no libraries are needed for the compile stage.

Since distcc only distributes already pre-processed source code, this should not be an issue.

Library symbols are not resolved until the final (local) linking stage, so the remote distcc processes do not have to worry about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kakakoka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 147
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My best distcc tip (I dont have any other):

Whenever an ebuild fail, start troubleshooting by temporarily turning distcc off in your make.conf FEATURES line.
_________________
Aspiring to once become a great geek
---
"Tachikoma": AMD TB 1300 Mhz, ECS-K7S5A (SIS 735), (noname) RADEON 8500, Hercules Gametheater XP, Pinnacle PCTV pro
"Pyonpyon": Athlon 2500+ Barton, MSI K7N2-delta-ISLR (Nforce2), Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum