Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Making a Gentoo Opteron Box
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 5:59 pm    Post subject: Making a Gentoo Opteron Box Reply with quote

Seems there are a few people interested in building an Opteron box to run Gentoo on, and though there are threads that relate to the software side of things there don't seem to be any that relate to the hardware side of things. So, I thought I'd start one here.

There has been some discussion of the topic here.

To recap, I'm personally looking at building a Gentoo box around dual Opterons.

For motherboard, the MSI K8D Master-F looks fairly decent. Up to 333MHz DDR, 4 dimms for one CPU and 2 for the other, 3 64-Bit PCI slots and 2 32-bit. Dual on-board broadcom gigabit ethernet and onboard video.

My personal choice of CPUs are the 240s, mostly because of price. 242s (or 244s!) would be nice, though.

For power supplies, I haven't found anything better than Sparkle, and I will be putting in their 460W as it is the only 24-Pin I can seem to find. (The MSI motherboard takes a 24 pin power supply).

2 Items I'm still researching / thinking about:

RAM. How much, speed, and configuration. The Opterons are dual-channel per CPU, from what I can find out, so I would need two sticks per CPU. Also, there doesn't seem to be a 'Front Side Bus', but from what I can find out, one should use PC2700? (DDR333). Maybe someone else will be able to shed some light on this.

Hard Drives. I'm going to be putting in a RAID, and 1/0 is my preference. I'm trying to decide between a 4 drive SATA RAID with Western Digital Raptor 10k RPM 36GB, or a 4 drive IDE RAID with Western Digital Caviar SE 7200RPM 40GB. Of course the Raptors are faster but are they worth it over the Caviars? Also, I'm looking into controllers for the drives. I only want true-hardware controllers, so either the Escalade (4-port SATA or 4-PORT IDE) or the Adaptec (4-port SATA or 4-Port IDE). Any suggestions/comments on the controllers?

Please post any comments/suggestions, and if you are thinking about or in the process of putting together a Gentoo Opteron box, what sort of hardware decisions you made and why.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moled
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 635

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the amd site:


Quote:
With the memory controller integrated onto the AMD Opteron processor, the front side bus (interface to memory) runs at the speed of the processor


4 raptors would give you 220mb/sec which is just insane currently heh :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello hello :)

ok... if each cpu is dual channel, then yeah you will need 2X ram for each cpu, but I don't know how to confirm this.

what does the MSI mainboard manual say ?
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markkuk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Making a Gentoo Opteron Box Reply with quote

darrylbleau wrote:

RAM. How much, speed, and configuration. The Opterons are dual-channel per CPU, from what I can find out, so I would need two sticks per CPU. Also, there doesn't seem to be a 'Front Side Bus', but from what I can find out, one should use PC2700? (DDR333). Maybe someone else will be able to shed some light on this.
You must use registered ECC RAM, the maximum speed is DDR333.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hadn't mentioned this specifically but yes, I was planning on ECC Registered RAM. I don't think you can use any other kind with this motherboard/cpu combo? It's a good idea to run ECC REG on any server, anyway.

Each CPU runs it's own dual-channel RAM, correct? (Each CPU has a built in memory controller?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know if the Escalade SATA RAID controllers support command queueing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does IDE itself even support command queueing ?

I didn't think it did... but maybe that's a new thing SATA does.. ?
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahh yes.. as I thought, command queueing is now (edit - sorry I mistyped as "not" lol) a technology INCORPORATED into SATA

so parallel ide will NOT support command queueing

sata does support command queueing

whether the controller includes it or not requires further research :D
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.pcextreme.net/si3112.php

review here claims to support command queueing on the silicon image 3112 controller..

if this thing can, I'm sure a US$500 hardware controller will.

but I have submitted a question to 3ware to ask them.

I doubt they will reply, but I thought it was worth a try.

will let you know if I get a reply.

Cheers!
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WELL I am quite impressed.


3Ware got back to me within 24 hours.

Here is the guy's email

Quote:
Chris, we support command queueing on both parallel and serial
controllers. Regards,

David Graas
3ware Inside Sales Manager
650-269-2972


So there you are.

They got my vote :)
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow that's pretty sweet. I ordered a 8506-4LP kit yesterday, should have it tommorow, and the rest of the gear Thursday. I'll have benchmarks for you soon :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

groovy :D

so did u go raptors or caviar in the end?
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh.

Went with 4 WD Raptors.

Power hungry, here, we are. Going to RAID 10 them. (Or 1/0 or 1-0 or however you'd like to say it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

raid 10 ;)
cool.. so you should have the speed of 2 raptors in raid 0

let me know when you have some benchies ;)
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firaX
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 175
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol oh well i still wonder what you re gonna use that for :-)
but i guess its all about having it eh :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the fact that you get a 5 yr warranty with raptor hdd's as opposed to only 1 yr with the caviar makes them better value for money I think :D
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firaX: It's about having it first, finding uses for it second :)

Really, this server is going to handle a lot of different things, each service uses DB access. Small reads, so the transfer rate really isn't important, but the latency should be decent.

The server this is replacing has a raid 0 SCSI with two 10k maxtor atlases and it's noticeable during peak times that access to services is slower. Most of what's going on are small disk reads.

Not that it really matters, mind you, do you really care if it takes .1 second or .8 seconds to open your webmail? But we're hardware junkies and the 10k raptors look like fun to play with. :)

As for speed, we should have the read speed of 4 raptors and the write speed of 2. That's what RAID 10 is about, high performance and decent redundancy. Can't wait to see what this escalade controller does. Command queueing is just gravy :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got a quote yeserday for the controller, US$310 so that should be good :)

won't need it for a month or so yet tho... maybe I'll buy it myself ;)
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darrylbleau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we got our stuff today, and are in the process of struggling through a Gentoo install. I've started a thread on an opteron install process, hopefully we'll be able to get at least sort of 64-bit running soon :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

COOL! :!:
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swiss.Mage
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2003
Posts: 49
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm looking to buy a similar server in the next weeks ...

What about the Promise Fasttrak SX4 controller ?

And just a question about the disks ... I plan to use 4 WD Raptors but in a Raid-5 configuration ... Why use Raid-1 or Raid-10 ?
_________________
EPFL
http://www.epfl.ch
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xUltra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Palatine, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 12:19 am    Post subject: Opteron :o Reply with quote

I'm also looking into buying a Opteron server within the next few weeks... here's what I came up with:

Tyan S2880UGNR (Built in U320 SCSI)
Dual Opteron 240's
2GB PC2100 ECC Reg. Micron RAM (512x4)
Fujitsu 36GB 15K RPM Ultra160 SCSI Drive

I'm trying to stick in a 1U Rackmount... Datacenter rackspace is expensive... I've found some barbones for the Dual Opteron in a 1U solution- could cooling be a problem for it?

I'm thinking a 350W power supply will do as well....?

Also... can the servers take advantage of 64bit technology anymore?

When will 1.4 release Opteron optimized binaries be available?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JATMAN
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 85
Location: Delaware, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 3:23 pm    Post subject: AMD-64 Gentoo Updates? Reply with quote

I am also setting up a dual Opteron server.

Hardware:
Tyan S2880GNR (no SCSI)
Dual 240s
1GB PC2700 ECC Reg. Samsung RAM (512x2)
1 - Maxtor 80GB ATA133 drive
2 - Seagate 80GB SATA drives (using on-board Promise PDC20378 controller)

Made a couple of attempts at installing the experimental AMD-64 Live CD. Have abandoned this it is currently too incomplete and fragile for my needs and skill level. Am now setting up using 32 bit x86 Live CD. Purpose of the machine is as an Oracle 9.2 server for development work. Was hoping to use this machine to play with Oracle's 64 bit developer release...

I too am very interested in the status of the AMD-64 Gentoo development. Anyone know if an "improved" experimental release is planned anytime soon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has this thread died? I notice no new posts since October.

So how are people's plans coming along? I ask because in the last two weeks I've managed to acquire a Tyan S2885 m/b (Thunder K8W), two Opteron 248's, two gigs of Corsair TwinX low-latency registered RAM (4x512MB), a PC Power & Cooling Turbo 510AG power supply, and a 3Ware 8506-4LP SATA-Raid card. I'm still waiting on the case I ordered (spl case to accommodate the ext ATX sys board). I'm going to wait on the SATA hard drives and use Maxtor 20GB ata-133 IDE drives with SATA adaptors for awhile. When I can afford them, I'll get the WD 73GB 10K Raptors because they do support command queuing and have even faster access times than the 36gig Raptors.

So I have a vested interest in learning of your trials, tribulations, and successes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scottsadlo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 2:22 am    Post subject: Making a Gentoo Opteron Box Reply with quote

i too am making trying to put gentoo on a Tyan s2885 k8w. I am using a single Western Digital Raptor 10k RPM 36GB drive. Booted the AMD64 basic LiveCD via USB cd drive. Got to the section
"Detecting USB" (which i assume it finished doing) and then the screen refused to change.
Not sure what the issue is. First time with Gentoo.
I tried a bunch of different boot options (nousb, doataraid, etc).

ANy thoughts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum