Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome on G5 <ppc64>
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RAD709
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Lexington, Ky

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Gnome on G5 <ppc64> Reply with quote

Cool! I have read many places online about getting gnome working on the G5, and success has been acheived by a few @.@ I found the bugzilla post on it but I couldn't decode what it means, I was wondering if anybody could tell me things like what variables to switch (how) and what to emerge in what order based on the bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=57658
or based on your own genius in dealing with the 64-bit environment.
soon of course gnome will be marked stable but there hasn't been a new post on tgalls blog in a couple of weeks, thanks for the support!!!!
<tgalls blog - http://gentoo-ppc64.blogspot.com/ >
_________________
Mathematicians are a device for turning coffee into theorems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reported the said bug, here is what I did. Be warned though that this happened some time ago so I am not sure how things are right now; and I can only hope that I did not miss any step.

Prerequisites:
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=G5 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe"
CHOST="powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu"

Procedure:

  1. I patched the mozilla ebuild as per bug 54843 and emerged mozilla. It won't work (this plus dvdrip are the biggest items on my wish/to do list), but the libraries are needed (and will work) for other things.
  2. I started to emerge GNOME with ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ppc". It choked at epiphany.
  3. I emerged epiphany with ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ~ppc".
  4. I repeated step 2, it choked again at glut (it might not for you as per some more recent report).
  5. I convinced uname -m and arch to lie and report ppc, emerged glut, restored the original uname and arch.
  6. Again step 2, which choked at gnome-cups-manager.
  7. Emerged gnome-cups-manager with ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ~ppc".
  8. Final repeat of step 2 brought up GNOME in its full glory. I hope this happens for you too. :)

_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAD709
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Lexington, Ky

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hahaha you're actually the guy i was referenceing when saying peeps online have it working, I didn't uderstand how to get uname -m to report ppc, and as for accept keywords is that just a matter of typing
Code:
 emerge ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ppc" whatever.ebuild
or what,<i feel like a noob asking that question cause I already know that is not right> though it would be very nice to know that you can just ask it to accept other keywords, instead of patching 20 ebuilds via nano...not that i spent 45 mins doing that last night trying to get gnome up....
_________________
Mathematicians are a device for turning coffee into theorems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
RAD709 wrote:
I didn't uderstand how to get uname -m to report ppc,

See the second message of this thread.
Quote:
and as for accept keywords is that just a matter of typing
Code:
 emerge ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ppc" whatever.ebuild

Yep, exactly like this, or rather:
Code:
 ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ppc" emerge whatever

Not the cleanest thing to do mind you, but one does get tired of having to type in all those entries in package.keywords...
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAD709
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Lexington, Ky

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, I have tried a couple different things, but I just can't figure out how to patch the mozilla ebuild. I downloaded the two patches and saved em as /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.7.ppc64.patch and mozilla-1.7.ebuild.ppc64.patch but which ebuild and what is the correct wordege to patch? i tried right before the keywords line in mozilla-1.7.2.ebuild
Code:
 epatch /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.7.ppc64.patch
but this brought about a very odd error...I don't have the exact wording, sry. thanks!
_________________
Mathematicians are a device for turning coffee into theorems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Call the ebuild patch mozilla-1.7.ebuild.ppc64.patch and the other one (for the actual sources) mozilla-1.7.ppc64.patch (the latter is mandatory). Copy mozilla-1.7.ppc64.patch into /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/files/ and mozilla-1.7.ebuild.ppc64.patch into /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/. Do then
Code:
patch -p0 < mozilla-1.7.ebuild.ppc64.patch

Given the change in keywords the last chunk will fail, but don't wory too much, do
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc64 ~ppc" emerge mozilla

and you should be in business.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum