Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NVidia 53.41 HowTo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 12:05 pm    Post subject: NVidia 53.41 HowTo Reply with quote

If you haven't noticed: At
http://www.pny.com/support/drivers/?prod=quadro
you can get a newer nvidia binary driver which seems to be more stable under 2.6.x kernel.

Here is a short how-to make your own ebuilds for it (pretty straight-forward):

Unzip above archive and copy the "bla.run.txt" file to your distfiles folder and rename to "bla.run".
copy media-video/nvidia* to your local portage overlay
copy the 5336-r1 ebuilds over to 5341 (you know what I mean...)
in the nvidia-kernel case:
get into the files subdir and copy over the 1.0.5336 dir to 1.0.5341, get into this subdir and rename that patch.

That should be it. Then you can cleanly emerge both nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx when you are on ~x86.

Will test whether the driver is also more stable then older one, if framebuffer is activated...ususually I got the badness in bla message after some time...

BTW, something else I seem to have found out - must test further whether I found the bugger:

If you have a nforce2 mobo, you could probably lower your CPU temp, by NOT using nvidia agp, but agpgart and CPU Disconnect on. In case of APIC (not ACPI, but ACPI does no harm), deactivate the nforce2 quirk (or use athtool to put disconnect back on), if the quirk is included in the kernel, like in the 2.6.5_rc2-love3 kernel I use, and use Ross' tack patches or C1halt (less cool than the tack patch) patches to get APIC stable again. (If you don't use APIC, it is stable an cool.)

I know have idle temps of about 45°C (or downto 42°C) while typing this post with Athlon XP @ 2.2GHz. Whith "broken" C1 halt, idle temp is around 49-52°C...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NumaSan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Question is how relevant it is, since PNY states it's "QuadroFX 3000G only"
_________________
--- checking for native Win32 platform... no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version
NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-5341  Fri Feb 13 13:49:23 PST 2004
GCC version:  gcc-Version 3.3.3 20040217 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.3, propolice-3.3-7)
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0
Model:           GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X
IRQ:             11
Video BIOS:      04.28.20.21.00
Card Type:       AGP
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status:          Enabled
Driver:          AGPGART
AGP Rate:        8x
Fast Writes:     Enabled
SBA:             Enabled
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I probably should have posted this to the forums earlier, but I made an ebuild a couple days ago. It'll handle downloading the zip and stuff. http://floam.ascorbic.com/gentoo/nvidia-5341.tar.bz2
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, this driver seems really to be more stable. I activated framebuffer and bootsplash and so far no lock-up yet. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IntergalacticWalrus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 513
Location: Montreal QC (Canada)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
BTW, this driver seems really to be more stable. I activated framebuffer and bootsplash and so far no lock-up yet. :)


framebuffer?? riva or vesa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vesa, one shouldn't use riva.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

minion.de now has a patch for 53.41 for use with kernels with regparm enabled. I haven't tested it though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

floam wrote:
I probably should have posted this to the forums earlier, but I made an ebuild a couple days ago. It'll handle downloading the zip and stuff. http://floam.ascorbic.com/gentoo/nvidia-5341.tar.bz2


I am emerging your ebuild right now over ssh. I will let you know tonight how it turned out. (kernel 53.41 , glx 53.41-r1)

**the emerge succeded**
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it is slow at work so I have been playing with X over ssh :P, not the prettiest of ways to do it but it does give me a log.

I was doing cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status , that was giving me disabled. I even tried to run startx and get in another ssh terminal and try it there, and it still said disabled.

I was going through the xf86 logs and noticed it was trying to load nvagp (I had nvagp "1" in my config) and it woudl fail. I switch it to "2" and it seems to of loaded just fine. So apperently my GeForceFX5700, Nforce2 chipst, NvAGP and the driver 53.41 don't like each other.

But everything else seemed to work okay. I will compare it with my old scores of glxgears when I get home.

/*edit*/
Code:
m2imirtg@insanity > cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status:          Enabled
Driver:          AGPGART (inactive)
AGP Rate:        8x
Fast Writes:     Disabled
SBA:             Enabled


Do I want to enable Fast Wrties?
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IntergalacticWalrus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 513
Location: Montreal QC (Canada)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Insanity5902 wrote:
Do I want to enable Fast Wrties?


Well you should at least try it. On some systems it can create instability, but there's a significant boost of performance if enabled. Check for an "AGP Fast Write" option in your BIOS setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not only do you have to enable it in the BIOS but you hve to uncomment a line in /etc/modules.d/nvidia :P
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NumaSan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
Code:

$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version
NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-5341  Fri Feb 13 13:49:23 PST 2004
GCC version:  gcc-Version 3.3.3 20040217 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.3, propolice-3.3-7)
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0
Model:           GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X
IRQ:             11
Video BIOS:      04.28.20.21.00
Card Type:       AGP
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status:          Enabled
Driver:          AGPGART
AGP Rate:        8x
Fast Writes:     Enabled
SBA:             Enabled

Yeah ok, makes sense since it's a Unified Driver Architecture - just thought that maybe this version only activates/improves some of the FX3000G features, but the better stability sounds nice - even though I haven't had stability problems with nVidias's drivers in a loong time (using 5336 on a GeForce256DDR, kernel 2.6.4)
_________________
--- checking for native Win32 platform... no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no lock-up. Before I got a ock-up with vesa-framebuffer enabled within a few hours. So I am happy. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I played with it a lot last night and testing it out using glx gears.

In full screen (1280x768x24) w/ 5341 and w/o fast write I got about 110 fps
In full screen (1280x768x24) w/ 5341 and w/ fast write I got about 110 fps

I need to run it with 16 bit color b/c that is what I testing glxgeers with 5336-r1, I will do that tonight, but the results for the 16 bit color was ...

In full screen (1280x768x16) w/ 5336-r1 and w/o fast write I got about 170 fps


This is all with a FX5200. But one problem I was having is my screen would flash every so often like it was turning off. Since I updated to 5341 and enabled fast writes, no flashes. Last night I was on my comptuer from about 6:30-10:30 and it didn't flash once. That is very good b/c that was beginning to get very very annoying.

So even if performance dropped. I am still keeping the drivers just b/c of that stability issue I have with my dell monitor.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, just as if I asked for it: I got the infamous badness in pci-search bla error "locking up" my system. At least this driver version seems to be much better. So I disabled frambuffer again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried adding pci=noacpi in your grub.conf

If you are lilo then I don't know what the command is. From what I understood this is suppose to help with some lockups?!?
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I could try if disabling ACPI helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azlan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 381
Location: Seattle WA USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried this just for the heck of it but I still have a problem that started last night :

X was telling me that the version # of the nvidia module I was loading is 4088 (I think) and then telling me it was supposed to be 5XXX, (the correct #).

Of course I reinstalled the nvidia-kernel, same, same. Then tried this kernel module, same, same.

Of course I even tried unloading and reloading the module by hand with, --force-modversion, and still I get the error.

I am now using nv. any Ideas????
_________________
there is no crazy, only violet and non violet..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

make sure you do both nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx

What I do when I am upgrading my nvidia drivers. I will do a rmmod nvidia then a emerge -C nvidia-kernel nvidia-glx, then I will emerge the version I want.

I haven't had any problems doing it this way.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moloch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 293
Location: Albuquerque, NM, US

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lately I've had to delete /lib/modules/<current kernel>/video/* when installing the nvidia driver over the same kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can anyone tell me if this is worth it...

and one huge question i have got: how come nvidia.com doesent list the driver?

thanks!
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't know why nvidia doesn't list the driver.

But I think it is a bit slower but a lot more stable.

My dell monitor used to flash, since I have had 5341 in it hasn't flashed once. So unless you are a intense gamer, I would say it is worth it
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Insanity5902 wrote:
don't know why nvidia doesn't list the driver.
It's not official, it's vendor-leaked.
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay I guess I bragged too much about my monitor not flashing b/c I havn't been home 30 minutes and has already flashed about 5 times. :(
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum