Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
total AGP memory
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:25 am    Post subject: total AGP memory Reply with quote

Hey Penguins!

How does one convince agpgart/fglrx to recognize more (or the correct amount of) memory on a graphics card?

I reverted from ATI 3.9.x drivers to 3.2.8. Everything works (X, *glxgears -- good fps), but a new message troubles me:
Code:

/var/log/kern.log:Jun  7 17:04:54 localhost kernel: [fglrx:firegl_agp_lock_pages] *ERROR* agp_allocate_memory_phys_list failed


So I checked to see how much memory the kernel allocated AGP and found only 16M of my 64M Radeon card :( Snipit from kern.log:
Code:

Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 431 MBytes.
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 3.2.8 [Sep 21 2003] on minor 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] AGP detected, AgpState   = 0x1f000217 (hardware caps of chipset)
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: agpgart: Found an AGP 2.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] AGP enabled,  AgpCommand = 0x1f000314 (selected caps)

Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  AGP = 54800384
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   AGP = 54800384
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  LFB = 40951808
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   LFB = 40951808
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  Inv = 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   Inv = 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total Inv = 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total TIM = 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total FB  = 0
Jun  7 17:03:34 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total AGP = 16384 <--


A few days ago, I fixed the known MTTR allocation failure:
Code:

Jun  5 07:30:30 localhost kernel: mtrr: 0xe8000000,0x4000000 overlaps existing 0xe8000000,0x1000000
Jun  5 07:30:30 localhost kernel: [fglrx:firegl_addmap] *ERROR* mtrr allocation failed (-22)


with a simple script posted on https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=120178&highlight=fglrx+freeze. I assiged 64M to the graphics card and nothing complained. Is there some similar fix for the total AGP memory? like a module parameter to agpgart? I will the VideoRam XF86Config option, but this appears to be something X is given, not something it can configure.:idea: I recall, in the dark ages of 2.2.x, a value one passed to the kernel :?:


vap0rtranz

BTW, here is opengl correctly identifying the card:
Code:

patrick root # fglrxinfo
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: MOBILITY FIRE GL 9000 DDR Pentium 4 (SSE2)
OpenGL version string: 1.3 (X4.3.0-3.2.8)

_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somewehere in your bios setup (assuming you are using a PC) is a setting called "AGP aperture size". What does it read? Set it to the amount of video ram in your card.

peace
_________________
"Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user-friendly. It only happens to be picky on its friends."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b0fh_

I never changed that setting, but checked it as a good 'duh' fix. BIOS reports "Video RAM: 64M". I did discover, however, that Dell posted an update to the Inspiron 600m BIOS last week. Their fixes do not appear to fix video/memory problems, but will avoid flashing things until necessary.

Besides, I would expect MTRR to barf if I asked it to allocate more memory than BIOS reported. Here was my fix:
Code:

patrick root # cat /etc/conf.d/mtrr
#!/bin/bash
echo "disable=2" >| /proc/mtrr
echo "base=0xe8000000 size=0x4000000 type=write-combining" > /proc/mtrr


with good results for register 2:

Code:
patrick root # cat /proc/mtrr
reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
reg01: base=0xfeda0000 (4077MB), size= 128KB: write-through, count=1
reg02: base=0xe8000000 (3712MB), size=  64MB: write-combining, count=2  <---
reg03: base=0xf0000000 (3840MB), size=  64MB: write-combining, count=1

If MTRR gave 64M, why didn't the kernel do the same for AGP? :?
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ouch, laptop...
laptops usually don't let you adjust the "agp aperture size" in the bios (did you check it? aperture size is not related to the video memory size)
But I am talking about PCs with AGP slots here... they usually have this setting under the 'advanced' bios tab. The 'aperture size' aka 'agp memory' is exactly what the agpgart driver manages. It doesn't need to be the same as the display adapter's memory, but values range from 4 to 256 megs in recent mobos.

And I don't think the mtrr is related to this, as for the above reasoning... If you happen to get your hands on a modern PC, with an 'open' bios, like AMI or Award, enter the setup and see the thing for yourself ;-).

For example, when my laptop boots:
--SNIP--
Jun 5 11:58:46 cate Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
Jun 5 11:58:46 cate agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
Jun 5 11:58:46 cate agpgart: Detected Intel i845 chipset
Jun 5 11:58:46 cate agpgart: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0x60000000
--SNIP
but my mobility radeon is only 32 megs... compaq's bios is fucked up and doesn't even let me fix this. bleh. At least they are on the upper side error, so not much of a performance hit.
On my desktop, OTOH, the bios setting matches exactly the memory on the geforce, 128 megs...

peace.
_________________
"Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user-friendly. It only happens to be picky on its friends."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b0fh_

Quote:
If you happen to get your hands on a modern PC, with an 'open' bios, like AMI or Award, enter the setup and see the thing for yourself .


Perhaps ... but that sounds enigmatic. 8O Your post did prompt me to double-check the AGP module. I found agpgart detecting a 64M aperture:
Code:

Jun  8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
Jun  8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
Jun  8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: Detected an Intel 855PM Chipset.
Jun  8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
Jun  8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xf0000000


The kernel's ERROR messages (posted above) are complaining about allocating memory -- when fglrx loads. Can one configure fglrx?

vap0rtranz
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then your aperture is corretly set... probably a bug/weirdness in the fgrlx thing. Sorry can't help ya with that since that driver doesn't even support my ATI card (mobility 7500). Way to go, ATI ;-)

peace.
_________________
"Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user-friendly. It only happens to be picky on its friends."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

www.gentoo.it hosts something about my problem, but I cannot decipher whether I recompile the kernel or compile ati-drivers. I asked the Italian forum if someone can help me finish tranlating:

http://www.gentoo.it/tips/ATI-Driver.html.

Moderators: I dislike double-posting just as much as you! :wink: My Italian post, https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1225725#1225725, is merely to help translate a Gentoo doc. Let me know if there is a better way to share docs in different languages.

vap0rtranz
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r3pek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b0fh_ wrote:
The 'aperture size' aka 'agp memory'


really BIG wrong information!!!
aperture size it's NOT agp memory!

aperture size is the amount of system memory that the video card can allocate as if is was video memory. so if you put a large amount of aperture size, very system memory will be used for the video card will it could be used for the system itself...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

r3pek wrote:
b0fh_ wrote:
The 'aperture size' aka 'agp memory'


really BIG wrong information!!!
aperture size it's NOT agp memory!

aperture size is the amount of system memory that the video card can allocate as if is was video memory. so if you put a large amount of aperture size, very system memory will be used for the video card will it could be used for the system itself...


aw dude, read carefully... 'agp aperture' aka 'agp memory', not 'agp aperture' aka 'video card memory'... big difference... And no, the memory is not 'stolen' from the system's ram... it is just an amount of the video card memory 'mapped' as if it were system memory, I think. I like to set the aperture to the total video card RAM, but it can be bigger or smaller. I think using the same sizes may achieve optimal performance, but if anyone can say otherwise, feel free to share your insights ;-)

peace.
_________________
"Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user-friendly. It only happens to be picky on its friends."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
b0fh_wrote: ... I think ...


Although dated, I found John Carmack's explanation of how glx uses AGP to be fairly definitive. The original agpgart developer, Jeff Hartmann, appears to have fallen off the planet. Hopefully I can resolve the error without 'em. :roll:

How involved is intel_agp in allocating video memory? Although every doc tells me to compile it as a module, I cannot find intel_agp in any logfile despite loading after agpgart.

Code:
patrick root # modinfo intel_agp
author:         Dave Jones <davej@codemonkey.org.uk>
license:        GPL and additional rights
vermagic:       2.6.5-gentoo-r1 preempt PENTIUMM gcc-3.3
depends:        agpgart
alias:          pci:v00008086d*sv*sd*bc06sc00i00*

patrick root # lsmod
...
fglrx                 202884  8
intel_agp              16156  1
agpgart                28392  2 intel_agp
...



vap0rtranz
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r3pek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b0fh_ wrote:
r3pek wrote:
b0fh_ wrote:
The 'aperture size' aka 'agp memory'


really BIG wrong information!!!
aperture size it's NOT agp memory!

aperture size is the amount of system memory that the video card can allocate as if is was video memory. so if you put a large amount of aperture size, very system memory will be used for the video card will it could be used for the system itself...


aw dude, read carefully... 'agp aperture' aka 'agp memory', not 'agp aperture' aka 'video card memory'... big difference... And no, the memory is not 'stolen' from the system's ram... it is just an amount of the video card memory 'mapped' as if it were system memory, I think. I like to set the aperture to the total video card RAM, but it can be bigger or smaller. I think using the same sizes may achieve optimal performance, but if anyone can say otherwise, feel free to share your insights ;-)

peace.


take a look at this explanation:

How big should I set AGP Aperture size in my BIOS?

First of all, AGP Aperture memory will not be used until your video card's on-board memory is running low. That means it will usually not impact your gaming performance because developers are trying hard to not exceed the on-board memory limits.
The bigger your video memory, the smaller your Aperture Size could be. However with later games requiring more and more texture memory a good number seems to be 128MB Aperture Size for all cards with 64 MB to 256 MB Video RAM.
Setting the Aperture Size to HUGE values will not increase performance because this merely sets the maximum amount of physical memory that can be used. It only makes the GART Table bigger because every 4K page has its own entry, no matter if allocated or not.
Setting the Aperture Size to too small values could result in running out of available texture memory especially on a low-mem video card. It is also possible that developers make use of the GART's features by creating textures as 'non-local'.

(in http://www.ocfaq.com/article.php/overclocking/vidcard/43)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
r3pek wrote: However with later games requiring more and more texture memory a good number seems to be 128MB Aperture Size for all cards with 64 MB to 256 MB Video RAM.


Precisely the reason I posted. It would be awesome to let Windoz die-hards play 3D games on my Linux laptop when we happen to bump into one another at the local wireless cafe! :P Intense gamers notice textures, reflections on starships, and other insane things that keep them on XP.

On your note of aperture size, it does not appear fglrx knows about the larger size the pci bus sees:
Code:

patrick root # lspci -v
...
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
        Flags: bus master, 66Mhz, fast devsel, latency 32
        Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=32
        I/O behind bridge: 0000c000-0000cfff
        Memory behind bridge: fc000000-fdffffff
        Prefetchable memory behind bridge: e8000000-efffffff
...
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9] (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: Dell Computer Corporation: Unknown device 011e
        Flags: bus master, VGA palette snoop, stepping, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 255, IRQ 11
        Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]  <---
        I/O ports at c000 [size=256]
        Memory at fcff0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [58] AGP version 2.0
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
...


Compare 128M to the 64M aperture size I posted above:

Quote:
vap0rtranz_wrote: I found agpgart detecting a 64M aperture:
Code:

Jun 8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
Jun 8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
Jun 8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: Detected an Intel 855PM Chipset.
Jun 8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
Jun 8 14:42:30 localhost kernel: agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xf0000000


I do not believe it utopic to expect my video card module can access a larger aperture. lspci is probably reporting this size as described in Intel's spec, where the i855PM's can (somehow :!: ) be set as high as 256M.

Where is fglrx getting is aperture information?

vap0rtranz

PS: Much thanks to the Italian forum for reminding me to remerge ati-drivers after kernel compiles! Doing so fixes the "*ERROR* agp_allocate_memory_phys_list failed" message. Globalization has benefits! 8O

VideoRam option warned me that X already knew about the 64M, and it being 64-bit DDR. At least fglrx knows how much memory is local to my radeon card.

Code:
patrick root # less /var/log/XFree86.0.log
...
(II) Loading sub module "int10"
(II) LoadModule: "int10"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libint10.a
(II) Module int10: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
        compiled for 4.3.0.1, module version = 1.0.0
        ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6
(II) fglrx(0): initializing int10
(II) fglrx(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
(**) fglrx(0): Option "mtrr" "off"
(--) fglrx(0): Chipset: "ATI RV250 Lf (M9)" (Chipset = 0x4c66)
(--) fglrx(0): (PciSubVendor = 0x1028, PciSubDevice = 0x011e)
(--) fglrx(0): board vendor info: third party grafics adapter - NOT original ATI(--) fglrx(0): Linear framebuffer (phys) at 0xe8000000
(--) fglrx(0): MMIO registers at 0xfcff0000
(--) fglrx(0): ChipExtRevID = 0x01
(--) fglrx(0): ChipIntRevID = 0x00
(II) fglrx(0): Video RAM override, using 65536 kB instead of 65536 kB  <---
(**) fglrx(0): VideoRAM: 65536 kByte (64-bit DDR SDRAM)
(WW) fglrx(0): board is an unknown third party board, chipset is supported
...

_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

r3pek, vap0r,

Thanks for the links/information... I tought the videocard would not use mobo's memory, but that is wrong... according to carmack's article, it always use some, and probably can use up to the total agp aperture size, but this seems pretty unlikely with modern cards that have gobs of RAM and thus can keep tons of textures and frames in their own memory ;-)

r3pek, note that the aperture will not necessarly 'eat' your mobo's memory, it is up to the GL driver to allocate it, and most drivers will prefer to use the video card's memory since it's a lot faster. Thank god, or else I would be screwed with my laptop, half of its memory would be used by agp since there seems no way to change the aperture size from 256M (maybe compile agpgart as module and use some parameter, will investigate further).

vap0r,

Code:
(II) fglrx(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
(**) fglrx(0): Option "mtrr" "off"   <---
(--) fglrx(0): Chipset: "ATI RV250 Lf (M9)" (Chipset = 0x4c66)


does that realy mean that MTRRs are turned off? If I remember correctly, memory xfers go like turtles without mtrr...

peace.
_________________
"Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user-friendly. It only happens to be picky on its friends."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
b0fh_ wrote:
does that realy mean that MTRRs are turned off?


I wondered the same thing. According to the comment added by fglrxconfig to my XF86Config, it doesn't:

Code:

...
# === misc DRI settings ===
Option "mtrr" "off" # disable DRI mtrr mapper, driver has its own code for mtrr
...


The comment makes sense because I do not compile DRI into the kernel. Whether the ATI developers' MTRR mapper grabs correct aperture and memory sizes -- that is my next question.

vap0rtranz
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a great topic - i've been having the same problems with my radeon 9600 pro 128mb AGP card.

My xorg error log is here: http://blindspy.homelinux.org:8080/~blindspy/xorg.log
and my xorg.conf is here: http://blindspy.homelinux.org:8080/~blindspy/xorg.conf

dmesg:
Code:
fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 431 MBytes.
[fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 3.9.0 [May 11 2004] on minor 0
mtrr: 0xc0000000,0x8000000 overlaps existing 0xc0000000,0x400000                <== Concern
[fglrx:firegl_addmap] *ERROR* mtrr allocation failed (-22)                        <== Concern
[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 431 MBytes.
[fglrx] AGP detected, AgpState   = 0x1f000a0b (hardware caps of chipset)
agpgart: Found an AGP 3.5 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode
[fglrx] AGP enabled,  AgpCommand = 0x1f000302 (selected caps)
[fglrx] free  AGP = 121909248
[fglrx] max   AGP = 121909248
[fglrx] free  LFB = 116391936
[fglrx] max   LFB = 116391936
[fglrx] free  Inv = 0
[fglrx] max   Inv = 0
[fglrx] total Inv = 0
[fglrx] total TIM = 0
[fglrx] total FB  = 0
[fglrx] total AGP = 32768


Look at the 2 lines I marked. I have no idea what they mean but i've found something on the guide i used to set up my ATI card:
http://odin.prohosting.com/wedge01/gentoo-radeon-faq.html#4_mtrroverlap
and this tells a lot ("It's just users who've enabled vesa framebuffer who have this problem."):
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=33736241
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg:
Code:
mtrr: 0xc0000000,0x8000000 overlaps existing 0xc0000000,0x400000

[root@OptimusPrime]:~# cat /proc/mtrr
reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
reg01: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 128MB: write-combining, count=2
reg02: base=0xc0000000 (3072MB), size=   4MB: write-combining, count=2
reg04: base=0xc0400000 (3076MB), size=   2MB: write-combining, count=1
reg05: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 128MB: write-combining, count=1


script:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
 
echo "disable=3" >| /proc/mtrr
echo "base=0xc0000000 size=0x8000000 type=write-combining" > /proc/mtrr


after running the script im still getting overlap and allocation errors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
BlindSpy wrote:
after running the script im still getting overlap and allocation errors?


It appears the script allocates memory to a register that DNE (DoesNotExist)! 8O dmesg skips register 3, so it seems abscent from your system although present in the ATI examples. According to your xorg.log, local video memory is allocated through register 2. (Notice the hex address listed above in #echo /proc/mtrr compared to this snippit from xorg.log)

Code:
(--) PCI:*(1:0:0) ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] rev 0, Mem @ 0xc0000000/28, 0xe8020000/16, I/O @ 0xc000/8


But, your script changes register 3.

Code:
echo "disable=3" >| /proc/mtrr


Edit your script to read "disable=2" and rerun the script.

vap0rtranz
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah thanks a lot :D
_________________
Symlinks to:
xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:29 am    Post subject: ati 8.12.10 driver improves memory Reply with quote

Just wanted to document that the April 4th drivers (8.12.10) change memory usage for FireGL cards. Free AGP memory decreases while total AGP memory increases. :roll:

Code:
Apr 15 19:56:46 localhost kernel: fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 -
 ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
Apr 15 19:56:46 localhost kernel: [fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked
dma buffers: 431 MBytes.
Apr 15 19:56:46 localhost kernel: [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 8.12.10 [Apr  4
2005] on minor 0
....
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] AGP detected, AgpState   = 0x1f000217
(hardware caps of chipset)
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: agpgart: Found an AGP 2.0 compliant device at
0000:00:00.0.
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0
 into 4x mode
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0
 into 4x mode
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] AGP enabled,  AgpCommand = 0x1f000314
(selected caps)
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  AGP = 121909248  <---------------+
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   AGP = 121909248
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  LFB = 47165440
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   LFB = 47165440
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] free  Inv = 0
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] max   Inv = 0
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total Inv = 0
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total TIM = 0
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total FB  = 0
Apr 15 19:57:07 localhost kernel: [fglrx] total AGP = 32768  <---------------+

_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:41 am    Post subject: mtrr changes Reply with quote

Oh! And my mtrr registers changed. reg03 increased by 64M, explaining the AGP aperture increase in my previous post. Odd!

Code:
patrick linux # cat /proc/mtrr
reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
reg01: base=0xfeda0000 (4077MB), size= 128KB: write-through, count=1
reg02: base=0xe8000000 (3712MB), size=  64MB: write-combining, count=2
reg03: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 128MB: write-combining, count=1  <------------------+

_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lucky B
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw for laptops with IGP Radeons what the BIOS thing does is change how much system memory gets reserved for the video card, in this case it IS stolen from your system. It usually has nada to do with AGP apperture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vap0rtranz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 123
Location: USA, Earth, Sol, Milk Way, ...

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:36 pm    Post subject: dell agp bios Reply with quote

Well, that doesn't matter for my Dell laptop. Even after updating to the most recent BIOS (A14), users cannot change the AGP size.
_________________
"Here on the moon, our weekends are so advanced, they encompass the entire week." ~ Ignignokt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum