Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon DRM can't initialize drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Our house, in the middle of our street

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:28 pm    Post subject: Radeon DRM can't initialize drivers Reply with quote

HELP! No matter how hard I try, I can't get the 3D acceleration of my Radeon 7500 to work:
Code:

localhost / # glxgears
libGL error: InitDriver failed

However there is something in my XFree86.log:

Code:

(WW) RADEON(0): [dri] Some DRI features disabled because of version mismatch.
[dri] radeon.o kernel module version is 1.1.1 but 1.3.1 or later is preferred.
[...]
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] failure adding irq handler, there is a device already using that irq
[drm] falling back to irq-free operation
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] Kernel module too old (1.1) for agp heap manager
(II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled

Could the version problem have anything to do with the error and has anyone out there got any idea how to proceed further? :?

== EDIT ==

Here's the output of glxinfo:
Code:

localhost log # glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
libGL error: InitDriver failed
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
client glx vendor string: SGI
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
GLX extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 4.0.4
OpenGL extensions:
    GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp,
    GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
    GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3,
    GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_blend_color,
    GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
    GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3,
    GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
    GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess


Thanks,
Chris
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post now.


Last edited by cvk on Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsolar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 2764

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you have to emerge xfree-drm.
Beware that with my radeon mobility is the only way to get dri with the new xfree, but when I try to log out occasionally the screen goes black and I have to hard reboot. With the older DRM I don' have this problem (but no DRI).
_________________
I may not agree with what you say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Our house, in the middle of our street

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already upgraded to 4.3 and emerged xfree-drm without any change :(

== EDIT ==

I just installed the DRI drivers from http://dri.sf.net
glxgears is working now... 1387 Frames... finally

Chris
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you explain thoroughly how you get it work ? In particular, do you
compile DRI into the kernel? I have the same card and same problem.
I think I tried everything without success :(
Help would be appreciated.
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stustill
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 333
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the exactly the same error, and I ain't got a fix yet :(

Stu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 305

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried:

Code:
opengl-update xfree


since you upgraded xfree .... I usually need to run it after each xfree compile.

JohnY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 305

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I swapped video cards last night to run some tests with dri and xfree 4.3. Just swapping XF86Config files and changing between a G400 16mb and an original Radeon-(le??) 32mb and dri worked on both - without using the binaries from dri.sourceforge.net - just with xfree 4.3 and xfree-drm.

JohnY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 305

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
(WW) RADEON(0): [dri] Some DRI features disabled because of version mismatch.
[dri] radeon.o kernel module version is 1.1.1 but 1.3.1 or later is preferred.


emerging xfree-drm should have fixed this error, at least it did when I got it.

Code:
II) RADEON(0): [drm] failure adding irq handler, there is a device already using that irq
[drm] falling back to irq-free operation


shutting off unused serial ports and telling the bios to manually update it's resource use in the pci configuration page so that when you boot you get a new 'escd ....updated' or is it 'dmpi ...updated'
fixed this for a G400 16mb and a fic503+ that is filled with cards.

JohnY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Our house, in the middle of our street

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nicoo wrote:
Can you explain thoroughly how you get it work ? In particular, do you
compile DRI into the kernel?


I did install agpart and the Radeon driver as modules and DRI support into the kernel. IIRC I built the kernel with the settings mentioned above, set-up the XF86Config according to the various descriptions found here in the forums, emerged the xfree-drm package and finally installed the DRI-package from Sourceforge. Hope it helps.

Regards,
cvk
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply. The better I have now is 340 FPS and no error in the log ! Unbelievable ! :) Which version of the dri do you fetch at dri.sf.net ? The CVS version ? At this point, I am clueless, no matter what I tried it didn't work.

Nicoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cvk wrote:
and finally installed the DRI-package from Sourceforge


What package? I don't find any downloads on their website (which is maintained). By chance I found mention of a "snapshots" dir with binaries, but those were from October.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jules
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Denton, TX

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've got X 4.3 working on both a radeon 7000 and a radeon 8500.

here's how:
compile your kernel of choice with modular AGPGART, selecting the appropriate chipset (or all of them, if you aren't sure which you have).

DISABLE DRM/DRI in the kernel config, since you'll be using the modules from xfree.

reboot with new kernel

emerge xfree-drm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jules wrote:
DISABLE DRM/DRI in the kernel config, since you'll be using the modules from xfree.


So I disable the option that says "Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 DRI support)" and disable all the "DRM 4.1 drivers"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm assuming then that I'll need to put "agpgart" and "radeon" in my /etc/modules.autoload? I previously had them compiled into my kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jules
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Denton, TX

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So I disable the option that says "Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 DRI support)" and disable all the "DRM 4.1 drivers"?


Yes.

Quote:
I'm assuming then that I'll need to put "agpgart" and "radeon" in my /etc/modules.autoload? I previously had them compiled into my kernel.


I think X handles loading the modules on startup. I've never had to put agpgart or radeon in modules.autoload.

After rebuilding the kernel and emerging xfree-drm, you might want to run XFree86 -configure to generate an XF86Config file with the proper driver settings, then merge/edit those settings into /etc/X11/XF86Config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheZog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 57
Location: Sunny Seattle

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to thank you for the fix.
My old original Radeon 32mb card works so much better now!
And it was so easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zfc-tinkerer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: i worked!!! Reply with quote

you guys are great! this worked, when the docs at sourceforge didn't help, etc. :P Thankyou so much! One step closer to abandoning windows! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eGore911
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

finally ... i got my radeon 9000 mobility working WITH dri! using xfree-drm driver and having ariung 1200-1300 fps in glxgears... thanks for this thread.

and ALWAYS remember not to be so stupid like me.... :lol: you have to compile the radeon dri-driver from kernel AS MODULE, only if it is a module it is replaced when
Code:
emere xfree-drm
is entered. otherwise the xfree-drm module is never used, but the kernel module is.... (stupid me, took me hours to find that mistake)

and if you emerge xfree-drm and having the kernel module installed:
Code:

rmmod radeon
insmod radeon
(not sure if necessary, but afaik i have done so ... otherwise reboot)

maybe i'll give dri.sf.net a try ...maybe more fps :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geta
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jules wrote:

here's how:
- compile your kernel of choice with modular AGPGART, selecting the appropriate chipset (or all of them, if you aren't sure which you have).
- DISABLE DRM/DRI in the kernel config, since you'll be using the modules from xfree.
- reboot with new kernel
- emerge xfree-drm

Thanks @jules: This was the solution for me
I've got: A Radeon Mobility with 32 Megs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum