View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:43 pm    Post subject: openmosix from the beginning... Reply with quote

I just finished installing a network of 4 computers which are running Gentoo and the latest openmosix kernel (2 P4s, 2 PIIs). This is my first experience with openmosix and I can't believe I've never used it before. It works like a champ! Compile times of code have greatly decreased..

My question is this: is there a way from, say, stage 1 or 2, to enable openmosix? Perhaps a live CD with mutliple kernel images (including one with the latest OM kernel)? This would have vastly increased my compile times on all the PIIs, I think. Would this be possible to do?

Thanks!
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:44 pm    Post subject: openmosix from the beginning... Reply with quote

I guess I should preview before I submit.. I meant to say this would have vastly DECREASED my compile times on the PIIs. Whoops! :D
m1kee
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried openmosix a while ago, which wasn't compiling. But the idea to have a openmosix kernel available on the install would be interesting :) Especially where one already has a 40+ machine cluster crunching SETI (yes, these things do exsist), it could decrease things quite a bit ;)

And FYI, the Edit button is also such a lovely thing to use :P
dennis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

I am planing to goet my computers running, too. What documentation did you use?

dennis
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:57 pm    Post subject: openMosix briefly... Reply with quote