Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
error: "can't locate module iso_8859" when mounti
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 6:58 pm    Post subject: error: "can't locate module iso_8859" when mounti Reply with quote

Situation:

I want to mount all my fat32 partitions.

To do this, I created the following fstab:

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hdb8 /boot ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hdb10 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hdb9 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1 iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
#/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hda4 /mnt/hda4 vfat defaults 0 1
/dev/hda5 /mnt/hda5 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hda7 /mnt/hda7 vfat defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdb1 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hdb2 /mnt/hdb2 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hdb3 /mnt/hdb3 vfat defaults 0 1
#/dev/hdb4 /mnt/hdb4 vfat defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb5 /mnt/hdb5 vfat defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb6 /mnt/hdb6 vfat defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb7 /mnt/hdb7 vfat defaults 0 1



Gosh I hope that formats out correctly.


Anyway, just by having that fstab file, and doing nothing else, all of my fat32 paritions mount just fine, and I can read and write to them without any problems, and share them over the network.

But now when I boot, I get something like 10 messages saying something
similar to the error in my subject line. This worries me. Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong -- or maybe I should just ignore the error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1145
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try copying your fstab from an editor and pasting it using the code button above

Code:
# Copyright 1999-2002 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License, v2 or later
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.7 2002/05/12 21:48:18 azarah Exp $

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>             <mountpoint>    <type>     <opts>            <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     vfat            noauto,user                 0 0
/dev/sda1      /boot      ext3      noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/md0      /      ext3      noatime             0 1
/dev/sdb1      none      swap      sw             0 0
/dev/sdc1               none            swap            sw                          0 0
/dev/sdd1               /mnt/flash      vfat            noauto,users,ro              0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,users,ro               0 0
/dev/sr0                /mnt/cdrw       iso9660         noauto,user,exec,async      0 0
proc         /proc      proc      defaults          0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
#  memory if not populated with files)

#tmpfs         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults         0 0



this should work and maybe be easier for someone to see a problem of your fstab syntax thats creating the error messeges.

also dont the error messeges at boot make a referance to specific lines that are bad in fstab....might also include that information which you can get using 'dmesg | less'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, thank you, the problem is now solved. All I did is make my vfat entries look like your flash entry, i.e.: I changed "0 1" in all my lines to "0 0" and changed the word "default" to "noauto,users,ro"


I don't have any more errors showing at startup now. I was worried that eventually my filesystem would somehow get corrupted, though I have no idea if that is true. I suppose one of these days I'll figure out just what all of those options mean...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I take it back, that's not the problem. When I went to see if my partitions were actually mounted, they were not. So then I looked into just what the heck the options meant and found out that noauto means that a partition won't mount at boot time. So when I switched it back to "defaults", I have the error again, even when I leave it set to "0 0"

The first "0" is just for using "dump," which I do not (or else I would set it to 1), and the second 0 means don't do an integrity check, while "1" means do an integrity check.

So I'm stumped. They way I have my lines, it shouldn't give me any error.

I wrote down the exact error this time:


"modprobe: modprobe: can't locate module iso-8859"


Now it seems to me that I'm probably missing something that I should have checked before I compiled the kernel.... oh hang on....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, that wasn't it. I didn't see any option to add iso-8859 support to the kernel. I already have vfat(win95) support checked off in the kernel, as well as msdos support. I guess I'll keep digging through google... <sigh>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20093

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In kernel config, go to File Systems -> Native Language Support -> and look for NLS ISO 8859-1 (Latin 1; Western European Languages). That fixed the problem for me. I'm guessing you'd be able to select one of the non 'Western European Languages' as well.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, more digging:

it seems that i'm supposed to enable nls somehow in the kernel, even though it is supposedly enabled by default. I checked off the "iso-8859-1" (western/latin) option under NLS and I'm recompiling now. Hopefully that will work... Hmmm. 4pm. Time for breakfast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, that didn't work either.

The 8859 error went away, now I have this:


"modprobe: modprobe: can't locate module nls_cp437"


aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20093

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look for it in the same section.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
io333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2002 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you were correct! thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20093

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2002 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem, happened to me too.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LugnutsForBrains
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Mesa, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this error ISO8859 error too.

Setting up nvidia and alsa was a little painful for me and now that I have them working, I don't want to rebuild my kernel unless the lack of the module causes problems.

If there are problems that this causes, I don't see them yet...

Is this just a nuisance message or is it important enough to rebuild the kernel?

I appreciate any feedback.
_________________
Is the sky really falling???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bumping this thread, because I have the same error. It is really neccesary to recompile the kernel or can I just stick with the messages during bootup?
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhaamu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 253
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jay wrote:
Bumping this thread, because I have the same error. It is really neccesary to recompile the kernel or can I just stick with the messages during bootup?


You can compile them as modules... So you only have to compile the modules again:

Code:
make modules modules_install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackBart
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just ignore it, it hasn't harmed me yet, i'll probably build it in next time i recompile my kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ventricle
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 305
Location: UK/Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fantastic post! I'll hopefully be able to fix this problem with my boot up also.
Perhaps it might be useful to add something like this to the install documentation?
_________________
[LRU]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bugs006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm    Post subject: Maybe this helps Reply with quote

Using kernel gaming-sources:

I choose the following NLS (into kernel not as modules):

Codepage 437 (United States, Canada)
NLS ISO 8859-15 (Latin9; Western European Languages with Euro)
NLS ISO 8859-1 (Latin 1; Western European Languages)

and not the problems have gone; btw i also selected at the top a different nls 8859-1 --> used 8859-15.

Hope this helps (yes it doesnt do harm i think, but its damn annpying getting those error reports when booting up)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bugs006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm    Post subject: Maybe this helps Reply with quote

Using kernel gaming-sources:

I choose the following NLS (into kernel not as modules):

Codepage 437 (United States, Canada)
NLS ISO 8859-15 (Latin9; Western European Languages with Euro)
NLS ISO 8859-1 (Latin 1; Western European Languages)

and now bootup problems have gone; btw i also selected at the top a different nls 8859-1 --> used 8859-15.

Hope this helps (yes it doesnt do harm i think, but its damn annoying getting those error reports when booting up)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum