Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde konqueror plugins - flash problems (kde 3.2.1) SOLVED!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:14 am    Post subject: kde konqueror plugins - flash problems (kde 3.2.1) SOLVED! Reply with quote

For those people who have been vexed with the konqueror issue where the plugins sometimes/usualy failed to work ( especialy flash ); this has finaly been fixed in kde 3.2.2 cvs. However I've gotten things to work in gentoo after doing the following:

edit /usr/portage/kde-base/kdelibs/kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild

change from:

Code:

src_unpack() {
    kde_src_unpack
}


to:
Code:

src_unpack() {
    kde_src_unpack
    cd ${S} && aclocal
}


Then download the following patch file, put it anywhere:
http://cvs.mandrakesoft.com/cgi-bin/cvsweb.cgi/~checkout~/SPECS/kdelibs/kdelibs-3.2-fix-x-kde-browserview-plugins-info.patch?rev=1.1&content-type=text/plain

Now, do:
Code:
emerge kdelibs


Watch and wait until you see:
Code:

>>> Unpacking kdelibs-3.2.1.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.2.1/work


As soon as you see:
Code:

>>> Source unpacked.


Quickly do a ctl-z ( control-z ) to pause the process.

Now, cd to /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.2.1/work
and do:
Code:
ln -s kdelibs-3.2.1/ kdelibs-3.2


Ok, now move that *.patch file into this directory.
( pwd = /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.2.1/work )

Type:
Code:
patch -p0 < kdelibs-3.2-fix-x-kde-browserview-plugins-info.patch


FINALLY...

Now you can resume that paused emerge:
Code:
fg


You should restart kde after the emerge has completed.

NOTE: that confusing bit with pausing the emerge is pretty lame - I'm sure there's a better way to do it; hopefully someone can point out the
_correct_ way of doing this.

Also, I wonder if we can get this patch included into the kdelibs-3.2.1 ebuild - otherwise people will continue to suffer from this until kde-3.2.2 is finally released.

For more information on this, see the bug report:
http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=77198


Thanks to all who helped in getting this fixed!


Beers!

Corey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arwen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, nother way to do this:
Code:
cd /usr/portage/kde-base/kdelibs/
ebuild kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild fetch
ebuild kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild unpack
cd /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.2.1/work/kdelibs-3.2.1/
patch -p1 < /path/to/kdelibs-3.2-fix-x-kde-browserview-plugins-info.patch
cd /usr/portage/kde-base/kdelibs/
ebuild kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild compile
ebuild kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild install
ebuild kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild qmerge

_________________
Arwen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool - thanks arwen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlaloctlaloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Europe-In the heart of the Alps

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I get errors when recompiling kdelibs. First something with "wrong version of autoconf", then, when i try to compile again it stops always when it does not find "kjavaapplet.moc". :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you remember to add 'cd ${S} && aclocal' to kdelibs-3.2.1.ebuild?

Code:

src_unpack() {
     kde_src_unpack
     cd ${S} && aclocal
 }


Also, that change will get overwritten the first time you do an 'emerge rsync' - so don't rsync after you made the change until after you're done with a successfull emerge of the kdelibs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also be aware of the fact, that if the emerge gets stopped anytime mid-build - whether it completes, gets interrupted, or fails - you need
to go through the patch process all over again, because the emerge completely overwrites that */work directory. So you need to remember
to do the ctl-z after 'Source unpacked.'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlaloctlaloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Europe-In the heart of the Alps

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your guess was right, Corey, I forgot to change the lines in the ebuild. :oops:
So I changed it and then did as arwen suggested and now those flash issue is solved. First I had thought that someone had gone wrong because i got some compiler warnings at the end of the compile, which looked to me as it had aborted.
Thanks for the feedback and bye,
Valentin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum