Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE/Qt upgrading problems/issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MBCook
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 136
Location: Insanity, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd. I suppose you could inject one, compile the other, then compile the first. But that might not work. I would suggest injecting the kde thing so you can compile Qt, then do the kde thing once Qt is done.

Not sure it will work though.
_________________
-- Michael

Read an intelligent book like "The New Thought Police" or "The War Against Boys", and learn the TRUTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SwedishElk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 79
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting this when I try to upgrade KDE.

Code:

gcc -O2 -DLINUX -Dlinux -D__KERNEL__ -DMODULE  -nostdinc -iwithprefix include -I/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper/include -I. -I/usr/src/linux/include -I/usr/src/linux/include/asm/mach-default -DSVGALIB_HELPER_MAJOR=209 -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modversions.h -M *.c > .depend
gcc -O2 -DLINUX -Dlinux -D__KERNEL__ -DMODULE  -nostdinc -iwithprefix include -I/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper/include -I. -I/usr/src/linux/include -I/usr/src/linux/include/asm/mach-default -DSVGALIB_HELPER_MAJOR=209 -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modversions.h   -c -o main.o main.c
In file included from main.c:24:
kernel26compat.h:17: redefinition of `irqreturn_t'
/usr/src/linux/include/linux/interrupt.h:16: `irqreturn_t' previously declared here
make: *** [main.o] Error 1
make: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper'

!!! ERROR: media-libs/svgalib-1.9.17-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 52, Exitcode 2
!!! Failed to build kernel module!

_________________
To learn but not think is pointless, to think but not learn is deangerus.
(Kung Fu Tse, Kina)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caleb
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 404

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Re: So how do I update kdelib anyway? Reply with quote

ajackson wrote:
When I try to emerge kdelibs, it is blocked by qt. If I try to emerge qt, it is blocked by kdelibs. What's the recommended course of action?


Did you read my post at the top of this thread?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajackson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, Tx

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:32 pm    Post subject: Re: So how do I update kdelib anyway? Reply with quote

caleb wrote:
ajackson wrote:
When I try to emerge kdelibs, it is blocked by qt. If I try to emerge qt, it is blocked by kdelibs. What's the recommended course of action?


Did you read my post at the top of this thread?


Yes, and I tried
emerge update kdelibs
which was blocked. But re-reading it, I see you didn't say update. I guess I don't understand the difference between update and just plain emerge...
_________________
Alan Jackson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasonMouse
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 146
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: So how do I update kdelib anyway? Reply with quote

ajackson wrote:
When I try to emerge kdelibs, it is blocked by qt. If I try to emerge qt, it is blocked by kdelibs. What's the recommended course of action?


What worked for me was to unmerge the installed version of QT then emerge the new one (3.2.3-r1) then emerge KDE (3.1.5). Or at least it's working for now as KDE didn't list any blockers at that point and is compiling as I type.

Update: Everything compiled cleanly. Now running KDE 3.1.5


Last edited by MasonMouse on Tue Jan 20, 2004 4:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stolz
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 3028
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

frankOnPPC wrote:

I got
hecking if Qt compiles without flags... no
checking if STL implementation is SGI like... no
checking if STL implementation is HP like... no
configure: error: "no known STL type found - did you forget to install libstdc++-devel ?"

!!! ERROR: kde-base/arts-1.1.5 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 117, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure


I'm having same problem with arts-3.1.5, after emergeing qt-3.2.3-r1

MBCook wrote:
I would suggest trying two things first.

1. Logout all the way and then back in (I'm not talking about opening a new XTerm or something) or...
2. Run "ldconfig" as root

If those don't fix it, I would try re-emergeing STL and then try again, that will almost certainly fix it.


1. and 2. do not work for me :(.
I would re-emerge STL but... can't find it in portage :? !!

Can someone help me please?

Thanks in advice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beholders_Eye
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 4:41 am    Post subject: STL??? Reply with quote

I'm with the same problem over here. An "emerge -u world" is stuck at arts updating...
But upon arts-1.1.5 updating the ./configure keeps complaining of this "STL", I've even tried the "STLport" ebuild, and tried to remerge glibc too. What's going on?

I'm trying with the "-D" flag now, I'll tell if it works...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feardapenguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 414
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

miknight wrote:
When I try to emerge kdelibs 3.1.5 (with arts 1.1.5), arts fails the ./configure stage:

Code:
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1.0) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!


However, I do have qt installed:

Has anyone else had this problem?

I have exactly the same error when emerging arts.

Code:
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for libz... -lz
checking for libpng... -lpng -lz -lm
checking for libjpeg6b... no
checking for libjpeg... -ljpeg
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1.0) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!
 
!!! ERROR: kde-base/arts-1.1.5 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 117, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure

Any solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbunder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

little update:
my 'emerge -e world' has compiled arts successfully. so, assuming everything else compiles, an 'emerge -e world' does the trick. 'emerge -e system' then 'emerge arts' would probably work as well. and it'd be a lot faster. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Target
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update to what? I don't see any previous posts from you in this thread. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbunder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Target wrote:
Update to what? I don't see any previous posts from you in this thread. :P


oops. :) i'm following several threads on this matter. got a bit lost. here:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=119139&highlight=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krigare
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 92
Location: ::1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

feardapenguin wrote:
miknight wrote:
When I try to emerge kdelibs 3.1.5 (with arts 1.1.5), arts fails the ./configure stage:

Code:
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1.0) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!


However, I do have qt installed:

Has anyone else had this problem?

I have exactly the same error when emerging arts.

Code:
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for libz... -lz
checking for libpng... -lpng -lz -lm
checking for libjpeg6b... no
checking for libjpeg... -ljpeg
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1.0) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!
 
!!! ERROR: kde-base/arts-1.1.5 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 117, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure

Any solution?


Gah.. This.. was.. bad news for me too :(
_________________
Together we are strong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stolz
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 3028
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge gcc


solved my problem:
Quote:
configure: error: "no known STL type found - did you forget to install libstdc++-devel ?"

!!! ERROR: kde-base/arts-1.1.5 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 117, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure


Thanks a lot :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caleb
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 404

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ALL:

If you're are getting a failing message about the STL, you probably have a bad version of GCC installed. Re-emerge gcc and that should fix the problem.

If you are getting a failing message about not having Qt installed, and you DO have Qt installed, then you have an opengl/nvidia problem. If you're using the nvidia drivers, you need to carefully read the documentation about how to make them work.

Both of the above problems are NOT KDE problems; they're local to your system and the result of a simple misconfiguration.

Hope that's helpful.

Caleb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krigare
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 92
Location: ::1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

caleb wrote:
ALL:

If you're are getting a failing message about the STL, you probably have a bad version of GCC installed. Re-emerge gcc and that should fix the problem.

If you are getting a failing message about not having Qt installed, and you DO have Qt installed, then you have an opengl/nvidia problem. If you're using the nvidia drivers, you need to carefully read the documentation about how to make them work.

Both of the above problems are NOT KDE problems; they're local to your system and the result of a simple misconfiguration.

Hope that's helpful.

Caleb

I'm still getting the STL-error.. However, I've heard this 'bad version of gcc' before.. I do already have the latest version, so whats is the technically problem? I'm really curious, since this information might help me to solve my machines problem..

Code:

*  sys-devel/gcc
      Latest version available: 3.2.3-r3
      Latest version installed: 3.2.3-r3
      Size of downloaded files: 20,716 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.gnu.org/software/gcc/gcc.html
      Description: The GNU Compiler Collection. Includes C/C++ and java compilers

_________________
Together we are strong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caleb
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 404

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the technical problems lies if you've updated glibc AFTER updating gcc. Re-emerging gcc, even if it's to the same version, should fix the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hohlecow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Scottsdale, Beverly Hills of the Southwest

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SwedishElk wrote:
Getting this when I try to upgrade KDE.

Code:

gcc -O2 -DLINUX -Dlinux -D__KERNEL__ -DMODULE  -nostdinc -iwithprefix include -I/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper/include -I. -I/usr/src/linux/include -I/usr/src/linux/include/asm/mach-default -DSVGALIB_HELPER_MAJOR=209 -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modversions.h -M *.c > .depend
gcc -O2 -DLINUX -Dlinux -D__KERNEL__ -DMODULE  -nostdinc -iwithprefix include -I/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper/include -I. -I/usr/src/linux/include -I/usr/src/linux/include/asm/mach-default -DSVGALIB_HELPER_MAJOR=209 -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modversions.h   -c -o main.o main.c
In file included from main.c:24:
kernel26compat.h:17: redefinition of `irqreturn_t'
/usr/src/linux/include/linux/interrupt.h:16: `irqreturn_t' previously declared here
make: *** [main.o] Error 1
make: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/svgalib-1.9.17-r3/work/svgalib-1.9.17/kernel/svgalib_helper'

!!! ERROR: media-libs/svgalib-1.9.17-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 52, Exitcode 2
!!! Failed to build kernel module!


i'm using the 2.6.0-mm1 kernel on x86 and i got past this problem this morning. it's looking for /usr/src/linux/include/asm, but there is not /usr/src/linux/include/asm (at least not in the source tree i got), so i made a symlink to the asm directory for my architecture:
Code:

# cd /usr/src/linux/include
# ln -s asm-i386 asm


hope that helps!
_________________
...dig me
but don't
bury me...

http://hohle.net/potd.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krigare
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 92
Location: ::1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

caleb wrote:
I believe the technical problems lies if you've updated glibc AFTER updating gcc. Re-emerging gcc, even if it's to the same version, should fix the problem.

I reinstalled glibc and then reinstalled gcc, that fixed it..
_________________
Together we are strong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbunder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried simply remerging gcc yesterday and it didn't take care of it. remerged everything and it all seems to be working now. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feardapenguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 414
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just re-emerging gcc didn't work here. I also had to re-install qt. Arts is a happy camper now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duozmo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Ketchum, ID

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: ...me too! Reply with quote

reemerging gcc solved it for me as well. note gcc recompile crashed at various spots until i lowered optimizations to march pentium/O1, so try that if you're having trouble.

(i also emerged lib-compat as someone suggested earlier, don't know if that made any difference)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightrav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i've read through this thread and I remerged glibc-2.3.2-r9, I remerged lib-compat-1.3, remerged gcc-3.2.3-r3, remerged qt-3.2.3-r1, and emerged STLport-4.5.3-r2 (all without error) and I get the following when doing 'emerge -u world' (arts is the firsr package) or 'emerge -u arts'

checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1.0) (library qt-mt) not found.
Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!

!!! ERROR: kde-base/arts-1.1.5 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 117, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure

So, I have no idea how to proceed. Does anybody have any other suggestions?

For reference:

/usr/qt/3/lib has libqt-mt:

libqt-mt.so
libqt-mt.so.3
libqt-mt.so.3.2
libqt-mt.so.3.2.3

I'm also using default USE settings in /etc/make.profiles/make.defaults.

Thanks for any help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caleb
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 404

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's more than likely an opengl error caused with the nvidia drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightrav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed your earlier post about that possiblity. I've been using the NVIDIA drives package from nvidia.com, and as far as X goes, when I start X, I get the NVIDIA splash screen and everything seems well. I've also reinstalled NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run.

Is there some additional configuration I need in /etc/X11/XF86Config other than adding 'Driver "nvidia"' and 'Load "glx"' and ensuring that "dri" and "core" do not exist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbunder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightrav wrote:
I noticed your earlier post about that possiblity. I've been using the NVIDIA drives package from nvidia.com, and as far as X goes, when I start X, I get the NVIDIA splash screen and everything seems well. I've also reinstalled NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run.

Is there some additional configuration I need in /etc/X11/XF86Config other than adding 'Driver "nvidia"' and 'Load "glx"' and ensuring that "dri" and "core" do not exist?


emerge nvidia-glx and nvidia-kernel. your x configuration is correct, just as long as the nvidia kernel module is loaded. if you're using hotplugging it should autoload when you start x. otherwise put 'nvidia' on its own line in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.x and it should start upon reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum