Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo very slow
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 1:47 pm    Post subject: Gentoo very slow Reply with quote

I'm running Gentoo Linux with a 2.6.5 kernel, KDE3.2.2. The trouble is it's very slow, and unresponsive.

I timed some application load times:

44 seconds to load a local HTML file in Firefox
4 seconds to launch a Konsole
27 seconds to launch modprobe.conf in Kwrite
3.5 seconds to launch Konqueror file browser after clicking "Home" on the taskbar.

These times are much slower than their equivalents in Knoppix. It takes "only" 28 seconds to launch the same HTML file in Mozilla (which I thought should be slower than Firefox).

I know Knoppix runs from a RAM disk (which should be faster), but everything has to be decompressed from a CD (which should be a lot slower).

I tried installing the love patch for the kernel, but this made no noticable difference (though I didn't time anything).

I've searched this and many other forums for performance tips, but haven't been able to make any improvements.

Some brief system details:
AMD K6-II 500MHz
256MB RAM
512MB Swap
ReiserFS on root partition
I have DMA enabled on the HD
Voodoo3 graphics card

I installed Gentoo as Stage 3, and have only installed Firefox, and xine-ui as extra applications after the KDE installation.

One thing I have noticed in KDE System Guard is that there are 4 entries for firefox-bin in the process table. Can't understand why it would need this.

I can olny think its something to do with how I've set things up or faulty settings when compliling. I did compile the kernel and KDE myself. My make.conf file looks like this.

CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i386-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="-gtk -gnome qt kde dvd alsa cdr"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.mirror.sdv.fr http://ftp.gentoo.skynet.be/pub/gentoo/ ftp://mirrors.sec.informatik.tu-darmstadt.de/gentoo/ http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/"

And my make.defaults file:

GRP_STAGE23_USE="ipv6 pam tcpd readline nls ssl gpm perl python berkdb acl ncurses"

USE="x86 oss apm arts avi berkdb crypt cups encode foomaticdb gdbm gif gpm gtk gtk2 imlib
jpeg kde gnome libg++ libwww mad mikmod motif mpeg ncurses nls oggvorbis
opengl pam pdflib png python qt quicktime readline sdl slang spell ssl
svga tcpd truetype X xml2 xmms xv zlib"

ARCH="x86"
COMPILER="gcc3"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"

Any help speeding things up would be great.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dpst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 22
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try changing your CHOST to:
Code:
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

And then recompile KDE.
But this is just shot in the dark.
_________________
Veritas, Aequitas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az_zel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I notice some of the things that you mention are network related. I recently had the same problem and was able to fix it by commenting out the first line in /etc/resolv.conf. It seems (for some obscure reason) that there might be a problem with the name servers. Try it and see what happens. Disabling ipv6 (if you have it on) might be another reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, thanks for the tips.

It took 68 (sixty-eight) hours to complie KDE. Not very keen to do it again, but if you really think it'll help...I'll give it a try if I can't get it improved any other way.

I don't think I have ipv6.
Code:
test-f /proc/net/if_inet6


gave no response.

I only have one entry in reslov.conf commenting it out hasn't helped.

BTW: I also notice that if I move a konqueror window around over a firefox window, it produces hundreds of "ghost" images that only disappear a couple of seconds after stopping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mopmop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 71
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skip kde all together and swtich to fluxbox, that could save you alot of memory and cpu. And recompile with the above CHOST setting. (or i586 ?) and perhaps -march=k6 in USE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mopmop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 71
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fluxbox was just an example btw, my point was that KDE and GNOME are really heavy, but IceVM and fluxbox for instance are lightweight wm's. And yes recompiling does help. I did it on my 300Mhz box and it speeded up things noticably. (Spent 6 DAYS on "emerge -e world")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure it said somewhere not to put -march=k6. Can't remember if it was the Gentoo manual or in a config file itself, which I why I never did that. Is it actually OK to do then?

If I do re-compile, should I put i586 or i686 in CHOST?

I take the point about fluxbox etc, but I really wanted to keep KDE though. I really like the look of it, and when I get everything setup, I'd like to try and get the kids using it rather than M$-Windows, so what it looks like is very important...and it runs (almost) fast enough in Knoppix. That's the strange thing really. I thought creating a premanent, optimised solution would be faster than Knoppix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mopmop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 71
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know, there was something about not putting march=k6 in some file, and at first i had the "gentler" version, dont rembember exactly which.

You might want to read this thread, where I got the advice about putting march=k6
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=177296&highlight=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that link's very interesting...

It does say in make.conf.example

Quote:
K6 markings are deceptive. Avoid setting -march for them. See bug #24379.


I take it your pc didn't explode or anything by setting them :wink:

I guess I'm going to have to do a lot of research about USE settings and stuff. I think I'd have to jump off a cliff if I did a re-compile then discovered another setting to speed things up.

BTW, how much faster was Mozilla at loading after your re-compile?

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update - looking through the Gentoo installation handbook, it says:

Quote:
Warning: Although it might be tempting for non-stage1 users, they should not change the CHOST setting in make.conf. Doing so might render their system unusable. Again: only change this variable if you use a stage1 installation.


Now I really am confused. I installed Gentoo from stage 3. Is it really OK to change CHOST?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobhesketh wrote:
Update - looking through the Gentoo installation handbook, it says:

Quote:
Warning: Although it might be tempting for non-stage1 users, they should not change the CHOST setting in make.conf. Doing so might render their system unusable. Again: only change this variable if you use a stage1 installation.


Now I really am confused. I installed Gentoo from stage 3. Is it really OK to change CHOST?


I'm not sure about this one, but I think it would only be ok if you did an emerge -e world immediately afterwards.

I've also heard that KDE can be very unresponsive if your /etc/hosts is empty... might be worth a look?
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.


Last edited by Maedhros on Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarcho
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 2970
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 4 PC's here with Gentoo. I did one Stage1 Install and 3 Stage3 installs.
I changed the CHOST at every install (Stage1: Athlon 3200 XP, Stage3: Pentium 3 Notebook, Athlon 2000 XP, Duron 800)
I encountered no problems (but did never a emerge -e world...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/hosts contains:

127.0.0.1 localhost

everything else is commented out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariux2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does hdparm /dev/hdX tell you?
Where X is a, b, c or d, depending on where your harddrive is placed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hdparm is one of the first things I checked. FWIW, output is:

multcount = 16 (on)
IO_support = 1 (32-bit)
unmaskirq = 1 (on)
using_dma = 1 (on)
keepsettings = 0 (off)
readonly = 0 (off)
readahead = 256 (on)
geometry = 39703/16/63, sectors = 40020624, start = 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raoulduke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobhesketh wrote:
/etc/hosts contains:

127.0.0.1 localhost

everything else is commented out.


That's your problem, add your IP and hostname to it and you're set I suppose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My IP? I thought 127.0.0.1 was my IP

I'm on a LAN of 1 pc & one broadband router. The router gives me an IP of 168.0.0.2. Is that what you mean?

My host name is "endor". So from this, would I add:

168.0.0.2 endor

?Not sure if I'm reading this right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, that sounds right. Everybody's IP address is 127.0.0.1, but to connect to other computers (or rather, for others to connect to you) you need an external IP, so it is perfectly possible to have more than one IP address. My router/firewall has three - 127.0.0.1, 192.168.66.3 for the local network, and 192.168.49.1 for its other network card.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobhesketh wrote:
My IP? I thought 127.0.0.1 was my IP

I'm on a LAN of 1 pc & one broadband router. The router gives me an IP of 168.0.0.2. Is that what you mean?

My host name is "endor". So from this, would I add:

168.0.0.2 endor

?Not sure if I'm reading this right.


Yes, that is correct. There have been some other people who have trouble with a slow KDE, which is solved by adding their name to /etc/hosts.

127.0.0.1 is called a "loopback" - that's a fancy way of saying the local host. KDE looks for the hostname in /etc/hosts (in your case, "endor"). Since it can't find it, it is very slow. You could also just change /etc/hosts from
Code:
127.0.0.1     localhost
to
Code:
127.0.0.1     localhost endor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobhesketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YIPPEEE...

Set hosts file to read

127.0.0.1 localhost endor

What a difference :D

modprobe.conf now loads KWrite in 6 seconds (from 27seconds)
and that html file loads in Firefox in 13 seconds (from 44 seconds)

Most other apps seem a lot more responsive too.

I never would have believed that would make such a difference. (Hmmm, whether to run a re-compile as well...)

Thanks for the help

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aethyr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1085
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wondering why people seem to keep running into this problem recently. I noticed that the new installation guide has no information regarding this, while the old one said:

"Note: If you are on a DHCP network, it might be helpful to set localhost to your machine's actual hostname. This will help GNOME and many other programs in name resolution."

http://web.archive.org/web/20030602200935/www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml

[edit] Filing a bug report now.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=53188
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum