Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I set the screen resolution to 1280x800?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JDMicklos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:20 am    Post subject: How do I set the screen resolution to 1280x800? Reply with quote

I am a 2 month user of gentoo, and a off/on again linux user for over a half year. I just purchased a Dell Inspiron 700m with the centrino package (I know, I know, centrino=M$). I have everything running (including the centrino wireless :D ). The only thing that works, but could be better is the screen resolution, the optimum resolution is 1280 x 800. Would setting this be handled by something in xwindows? How would I acomplish setting the resolution properlly?

THANKS EVERYONE!!
_________________
www.WickedTux.com

while(true==true)
{
try
{
I think, therefore I am; //Descartes (duh-cart)
}
catch(yet my karma ran over my dogma)
{
break;
}
}


-Jonathan Micklos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickvernam
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what all did you do in your /etc/X11/XF86Config file? did you do the automatic one where it builds the config file for you?
I've got a laptop too...here is part of my /etc/X11/XF86Config file that pertains to the resolution...

Code:

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1024x768"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection


I've got 1600x1200 for my monitor, 1400x1050 for the lcd on my laptop, and 1024x768 for the hell of it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JDMicklos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickvernam wrote:
what all did you do in your /etc/X11/XF86Config file? did you do the automatic one where it builds the config file for you?
I've got a laptop too...here is part of my /etc/X11/XF86Config file that pertains to the resolution...

Code:

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1024x768"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection


I've got 1600x1200 for my monitor, 1400x1050 for the lcd on my laptop, and 1024x768 for the hell of it...


The only thing I have in my /etc/X11 folder is:
app-defaults lbxproxy startDM.sh X xorg.conf.example
chooser.sh proxymngr starthere xdm xserver
dm rstart sysconfig xinit xsm
fs serverconfig twm xkb
gdm Sessions wmconfig xloadimagerc

What do I do?

-THANKS!!
_________________
www.WickedTux.com

while(true==true)
{
try
{
I think, therefore I am; //Descartes (duh-cart)
}
catch(yet my karma ran over my dogma)
{
break;
}
}


-Jonathan Micklos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickvernam
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yeah, xorg. forgot to ask...hmmm....id look more man...but i got like 3 hrs of homework...that'll put me till 4:00 AM....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dunster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I just spent some time this evening converting my Toshiba M30 laptop which is also 1280x800 over to Xorg. I was in my xorg.conf file and have it working with the following settings. The file still needs to be cleaned up but this should provide a good base to work from.

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
   Load  "speedo"
   Load  "synaptics"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Keyboard0"
    Driver   "Keyboard"
    Option      "XkbDisable"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Mouse0"
    Driver   "synaptics"
    Option    "Device"          "/dev/input/event0"   
    Option      "Protocol"        "auto-dev"
    Option      "Edges"           "1900 5400 1800 3900"
    Option      "Finger"          "25 30"
    Option      "MaxTapTime"      "180"
    Option      "MaxTapMove"      "220"
    Option      "VertScrollDelta" "100"
    Option      "MinSpeed"        "0.02"
    Option      "MaxSpeed"        "0.18"
    Option      "AccelFactor"     "0.0010"
    #Option     "Repeater"         "/dev/ps2mouse"
    #Option     "SHMConfig"        "on"
    #Option     "Protocol"         "PS/2"
    #Option     "Emulate3Buttons"  "yes"
    #Option    "ZAxisMapping"     "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option    "Device"       "/dev/input/mice"
    Option    "Protocol"          "IMPS/2"
    Option     "Emulate3Buttons"       "yes"
    Option    "ZAxisMapping"       "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   HorizSync    31.5 - 60.0
   VertRefresh  40-90
   UseModes     "16:10"
   DisplaySize  331 206
   Option       "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "DigitalVibrance"       # <i>
        #Option     "NoFlip"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac8Bit"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoLogo"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "UBB"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Stereo"                # <i>
        #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"              # <i>
        #Option     "NvAGP"                 # <i>
        #Option     "IgnoreEDID"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ConnectedMonitor"      # <str>
        #Option     "ConnectedMonitors"     # <str>
        #Option     "TVStandard"            # <str>
        #Option     "TVOutFormat"           # <str>
        #Option     "RenderAccel"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CursorShadow"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CursorShadowAlpha"     # <i>
        #Option     "CursorShadowXOffset"    # <i>
        #Option     "CursorShadowYOffset"    # <i>
        #Option     "UseEdidFreqs"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FlatPanelProperties"    # <str>
        #Option     "TwinView"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TwinViewOrientation"    # <str>
        #Option     "SecondMonitorHorizSync"    # <str>
        #Option     "SecondMonitorVertRefresh"    # <str>
        #Option     "MetaModes"             # <str>
        #Option     "UseInt10Module"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoRenderExtension"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Overlay"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CIOverlay"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ForceEmulatedOverlay"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TransparentIndex"      # <i>
        #Option     "OverlayDefaultVisual"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NvEmulate"             # <i>
        #Option     "NoBandWidthTest"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CustomEDID-CRT-0"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-CRT-1"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-DFP-0"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-DFP-1"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-TV-0"       # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-TV-1"       # <str>
        #Option     "TVOverScan"            # <f>
        #Option     "IgnoreDisplayDevices"    # <str>
        #Option     "MultisampleCompatibility"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "RegistryDwords"        # <str>
        #Option     "NoPowerConnectorCheck"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AllowDFPStereo"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "XvMCUsesTextures"      # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HorizSync"             # <str>
        #Option     "VertRefresh"           # <str>
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "GeForce FX Go5200"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
   Identifier "16:10"
   Modeline   "1280x800" 68.56 1280 1336 1472 1664 800 801 804 824 -HSync +VSync
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   
   Subsection "Display"
       Depth 24
       Modes "1280x800"
   EndSubsection   
   
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lasj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Valby, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check you X log for VBIOS 1280x800 mode because the i810/855 use the bios to set the display.
grep 1280 /var/log/Xorg.0.log
if you not get somthing like:
Quote:
Mode XX (1280x800)
you need to patch the vbios.


For the dell m700 you need to patch the VBIOS See SupIAmMike mails at 1280x768 works with XFree now! at Leog.net

If you can't get the patch program I can mail it to you or I should make an ebuild :).

For DRI/OpenGL on xorg 6.8 you should use the i915 display DRM driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gspr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2002
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have an Intel 855 graphics card?
If so, a program called "855resolution" will probably fix this for you. I've submitted an ebuild - https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66147 - but it's not in portage yet. Read the bug description and the author's site for information.
_________________
"People said I should accept the world. Bullshit! I don't accept the world." -- RMS.
"We are to admit no more causes of natural things than such as are both true and sufficient to explain their appearances." -- Newton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ansur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 84
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance one could get a hw-malfunction when playing with resolutions?

I'm expecting my laptop in about a week and ofcourse I'm planning on installing gentoo on it.
It also has a 1280*800 res, with an ATI Radeon 9700 in it.
Does that ati-programme support these newer resolutions?
_________________
Real programmers don't document. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:21 am    Post subject: Ansur Reply with quote

Ansur,
modern hardware will simple not function in the wrong mode, so dont worry about your hardware(chipset and such) a monitor on the other hand MIGHT f*k up if the wrong settings are used, but again, modern hardware typically takes this into account.

AND, the software drive should not allow modes that are not possible to be tried anyway, and your X server should crash with a "no modes found" or similar error because the driver spits the bad modes back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoo User
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello there!

I'd like to tell you that Dunster's 1280x800 modeline (see above) works perfectly for my 855GM integrated GPU. I got 1280x800 flawlessly!
Thanks a lot, Dunster.

Best wishes

Gentoo User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JDMicklos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago IL

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:11 am    Post subject: THANK YOU!!! Reply with quote

Thank you all very much!!! I got mine to work with that mode line!!!
_________________
www.WickedTux.com

while(true==true)
{
try
{
I think, therefore I am; //Descartes (duh-cart)
}
catch(yet my karma ran over my dogma)
{
break;
}
}


-Jonathan Micklos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trilexx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im wondering you had problems setting your resolution. I got a 1280*800 my own and it worked from the very beginning.

I just changed the xorg.conf and added my resolution. could xorg somehow reject this, or what has been the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wow0609
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I have the 855resolution program installed, and running fine. It works great.

My question is: How do I update my system to auto-launch this program at bootup, for all users...

I launch the program with

./855resolution 52 1280 800

it currently lives in a subdir of /root/ becuase that is the user I used when I compiled/installed it. I think, though, that the install copied it to /usr/bin/

So, what is the proper what to get this executed in my startup scripts? I assume it will use the rc-update command, etc.

Thanks,

W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoo User
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello there!

Quote:
Im wondering you had problems setting your resolution. I got a 1280*800 my own and it worked from the very beginning.

I just changed the xorg.conf and added my resolution. could xorg somehow reject this, or what has been the problem?


I would like to specify. My laptop manual appeared to have very little information about its LCD panel. The only thing I found in the manual was "15.4" TFT, 16:10 " and a bunch of instructions of how to set up the correct resolution under different versions of Windows. So, I was absolutely lost and did not know where I could get the proper modeline to be put in the xorg.conf. Thanks Dunster again! I got it right eventually! As for 855 resolution program, I do not need it since my BIOS needs no correction regarding this issue. If there is a way out in situations like mine, I mean lack of proper data in the manuals, I would be pleased if someone could post the information about the issue for the benefit of the community.

Best wishes

Gentoo User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gspr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2002
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow0609 wrote:
So, I have the 855resolution program installed, and running fine. It works great.

My question is: How do I update my system to auto-launch this program at bootup, for all users...

I launch the program with

./855resolution 52 1280 800

it currently lives in a subdir of /root/ becuase that is the user I used when I compiled/installed it. I think, though, that the install copied it to /usr/bin/

So, what is the proper what to get this executed in my startup scripts? I assume it will use the rc-update command, etc.

Thanks,

W



https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66147 <-- there is my ebuild for 855resolution. It includes an init script and a config file for this.
_________________
"People said I should accept the world. Bullshit! I don't accept the world." -- RMS.
"We are to admit no more causes of natural things than such as are both true and sufficient to explain their appearances." -- Newton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idonda
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gspr wrote:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66147 <-- there is my ebuild for 855resolution. It includes an init script and a config file for this.


How do you install the ebuild in the portage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my xorg.conf, with the modelines which I picked from a Mandrake auto-generated xorg.conf(their installer supports widescreens).
I heavily modified it because it was filled with crap and specific configuration and weird paths for the fonts...

It is set for a 1280x800 Dell Laptop 16:10 screen and I have been using it for something like 6 months, without any problem ever...

Code:
Section "Files"

# you may need to edit the fonts paths because I'm posting from my slackware laptop.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"

#    ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"

EndSection


Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer

EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"


# Set the basic blanking screen saver timeout.

    Option   "blank time"   "10"   # 10 minutes

# Set the DPMS timeouts.  These are set here because they are global
# rather than screen-specific.  These settings alone don't enable DPMS.
# It is enabled per-screen (or per-monitor), and even then only when
# the driver supports it.

    Option   "standby time"   "20"
    Option   "suspend time"   "30"
    Option   "off time"   "60"


EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "keyboard"
    Option   "XkbModel"   "pc105"
    Option   "XkbLayout"   "fr"
    Option      "XkbOptions" ""

EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option   "Device"   "/dev/input/mice"

# On platforms where PnP mouse detection is supported the following
# protocol setting can be used when using a newer PnP mouse:

    Option   "Protocol"   "Auto"


EndSection


Section "Monitor"

   Identifier   "Monitor1"

   ModelName    "WXGA"
   HorizSync 30.0-107.0
   VertRefresh 50.0-185.0
   ModeLine "1280x800"  147.89  1280 1376 1512 1744  800 801 804 848

   Option       "DPMS"

EndSection


Section "Device"

    Identifier "Device1"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "NvAGP" "1"
    Option "Nologo" "true"

EndSection


Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"

   Device     "Device1"

   Monitor    "Monitor1"

   DefaultDepth     24

   SubSection "Display"

      Depth     24

      Modes    "1280x800"

   EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "Screen1"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterX
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 1165

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run the command
gtf 1280 800 60

This will give you the modeline that you need to put in the Monitor section, as Jerem has.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idonda
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MasterX wrote:
Run the command
gtf 1280 800 60

This will give you the modeline that you need to put in the Monitor section, as Jerem has.


not true for all, because i needed to use another one for my packard bell easynote r
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idonda
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gspr wrote:




https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66147 <-- there is my ebuild for 855resolution. It includes an init script and a config file for this.


how do you install this and the init and config files?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterX
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 1165

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

idonda wrote:
MasterX wrote:
Run the command
gtf 1280 800 60

This will give you the modeline that you need to put in the Monitor section, as Jerem has.


not true for all, because i needed to use another one for my packard bell easynote r


I did not say that the Modeline you will get will work for all the monitors. Certainly, you need to run this command on all the systems that you have and use different monitors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, I just got a laptop with an Intel 855GM, and running 'gtf 1280 800 60' and sticking the output line in the Monitor section of the xorg.conf worked great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum