Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
start/stop services with dhcpcd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another valgrind -v dhcpcd -dB with wext disabled.
The interface seems to be up but dhcpcd will not get started
Quote:
$ ifconfig -v wlp8s0
wlp8s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether xxxxxxxxxx txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UP means the admin (you) or an administrative program (dhcpcd) has marked the interface as UP.
If the RUNNING flag is there too then it can be used, otherwise there is a problem with the link such as no carrier.

Check the status of wpa_supplicant like so

Code:
wpa_cli status

_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
$ wpa_cli status
Selected interface 'wlp8s0'
wpa_state=DISCONNECTED
address=xxxxxxxxxx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There we go, you need to fix wpa_supplicant connecting.
dhcpcd cannot do this for you :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for advice. How could I analyse in order to get a useful error message?

wpa_supplicant is compiled like:
Quote:
* Found these USE flags for net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-2.0-r2:
U I
- - ap : Add support for access point mode
- - dbus : Enable dbus support for anything that needs it (gpsd, gnomemeeting, etc)
- - eap-sim : Add support for EAP-SIM authentication algorithm
- - fasteap : Add support for FAST-EAP authentication algorithm
- - gnutls : Add support for net-libs/gnutls (TLS 1.0 and SSL 3.0 support)
- - p2p : Add support for Wi-Fi Direct mode
+ + qt4 : Add support for the Qt GUI/Application Toolkit version 4.x
+ + readline : Enable support for libreadline, a GNU line-editing library that almost everyone wants
- - smartcard : Add support for smartcards
+ + ssl : Add support for Secure Socket Layer connections
- - wimax : Add support for Wimax EAP-PEER authentication algorithm
+ + wps : Add support for Wi-Fi Protected Setup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run wpa_cli in a terminal to see why it's not connecting.

My guess is the wpa_supplicant.conf isn't configured correctly - maybe an invalid key.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Continied in the new topic wpa_supplicant trouble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
No, it's another problem.
Code:
$ su -c "ifconfig wlp8s0 up"
Password:
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill

$ /usr/sbin/rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes

And the button stopped working. I have to check what's wrong here.
Simple reason, worth to notice. This laptop (Compaq nc 6320) has a physical rfkill button with blue LED, but also it receives "Hard blocked: yes" when the ethernet is plugged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum